Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Brooklyn, NY
Students enrolled: 843

4 stars
Based on 27 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


38 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


P.S. 101 the Verrazano 5

Posted June 11, 2014
- a parent
My child went here for 2years and loved it. We move a lot and this school is leaps and bounds better than any other school she's attended. The teacher here are inspiring and dedicated to the students. They not only teach the standard lessons, they teach them things they can use in the real world. They have unique activities the kids get to do,like ballroom dancing or field trips to Philadelphia. The staff is excellent. It has a great safe, secured environment. It's in a beautiful old school with a winding staircase inside that has classroom pictures of the original students that went there. It's in the best neighborhood in Queens. There parents at this school that can afford to send their kids to a private school but send them here instead because the school is just that good.

P.S. 101 the Verrazano 5

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
P.S 101 is a fantastic school. The teachers are wonderful, caring and loving. The school does alot of events during the school year for families. Its a beautiful school and highly recommended for a parent that is looking for a school for their child.


P.S. 101 the Verrazano 5

Posted October 24, 2013
- a parent
Good school nice teachers and programs. Informative and resourceful. Fun school events and activities the kids love it.

P.S. 101 the Verrazano 5

Posted October 24, 2013
- a parent
PS101 is a great school and top rated for academy achievements that teachers and principals all work hard for. It provides very good programs and advanced technology teachings and learnings. It has a safe learning environment in a good neighborhood. My son loves this school - one of the primary reasons I chose to stay for his choice.

P.S. 101 the Verrazano 5

Posted October 24, 2013
- a parent
Great community nice staff and school who set clear goals and requirements to both students and parents to meet the CORE-standards. Focusing on academy achievements and encouragements makes PS101 a top rated successful school.


P.S. 101 the Verrazano 4

Posted October 24, 2013
- a parent
possible for them teach kids not to fight, not just sending paper work for parents to sign for kids behavioral?

P.S. 101 the Verrazano 5

Posted August 01, 2013
- a parent
PS101 is the best school in the community - great staff, nice study environment, Model Technology and teachings. My nephew also graduated here with a strong academic background now on the principal's honor list as top student at his current school. One of the many good reasons I select PS101. Parent -D

P.S. 101 the Verrazano 5

Posted February 26, 2012
- a community member
I am a former student who attended P.S 101K from 1986-1991. This school gave me a strong educational foundation in the arts, technology, sciences, and social skills that has been unparalleled throughout my educational career. I often draw upon the skills learned here in my early childhood even as an adult. I often wish I lived in the zoned area so that my children may attend. Also the schools in this area are the most ethnically diverse of New York City elementary schools. Thanks for all the wonderful memories.


P.S. 101 the Verrazano 4

Posted January 27, 2012
- a parent
why this school has a big amount of comments and rating only from May 2010?:/ anyway, i like the school, has good environment and teachers.

P.S. 101 the Verrazano 0
no rating

Posted May 21, 2010
- a parent
P.S. 101 has the best teachers, my sons likes to go school.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

P.S. 101 the Verrazano
2360 Benson Avenue, Brooklyn, NY  11214
(718) 372-0221
Last modified P.S. 101 the Verrazano is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
P.S. 101 the Verrazano Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 38 reviews. Top