Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
32 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 40 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ps 102 The Bayview 4

Posted October 01, 2015
- a parent
P.S.102 is a great school, love the parent coordinator, she cares about the students, and does everything she can to help. Teachers are great and the principal cares.

Ps 102 The Bayview 5

Posted May 15, 2015
- a parent
Wonderful! My daughter is graduating this year. Happy memories I will always have if this school. Wonderful hands on principal and staff. My children were always treated well. Top notch special education department and very secure school. I miss everyone terribly. Even Pat the crossing guard and Brenda and Allan the security guards. Can't say enough about this school. Great programs and projects fun stuff and wonderful enrichment. Teachers full of love and kindness. Even the maintenance guys! Thank you to all of you!


Ps 102 The Bayview 3

Posted December 08, 2014
- a community member
Staff very mean and they have to work on communicating skills and teachers are very stricked or very loose

Ps 102 The Bayview 5

Posted September 18, 2014
- a parent
My daughter is in the 3rd grade now and so far she has had 4 amazing teachers. We just met her 3rd grade teacher and feel confident that she is going to do a great job with our daughter this year. Due to the large number of children attending the school, the class sizes are ridiculously large (32 in her class this year). But somehow the teachers make it work. The school has a great parent coordinator and PTA members that really care.

Ps 102 The Bayview 5

Posted February 27, 2014
- a parent
My both daughters went to P.S. 102 (older has graduated-went to PA, younger is in 4th grade-in Delta), so I'm connected to the school for the last 8+ years. I have a very positive experience with the school overall and particulary with the teachers my girls had. Also, there is a number afterschool activities, which are great!


Ps 102 The Bayview 3

Posted August 23, 2013
- a parent
the regular teachers in this school are ok in keeping students in pace. What I need from the school is if they can provide the information in what they are going to teach in the school year and what the student should learn for the year. The heartshare teachers, actually they are not teachers, are not quite good in helping the students to study. We understand they are not professional, but they should do better and nicer to the students.

Ps 102 The Bayview 1

Posted June 06, 2013
- a parent
Unfortunately, the new principal has such a negative effect on the school that they're even having a difficult time finding a custodial engineer! My daughter complains about the gnats flying around the room, the smell in the building, and the garbage that's not swept off the floors! The PTA is counting down the days 'til summer because even they can't stand to be around this new Principal. She's a very phony person...I do not envy the teachers that work for her.

Ps 102 The Bayview 4

Posted June 04, 2013
- a parent
There's a lot of good feeling in this school. The new principal is wonderful. It is maybe a tad competitive, a bit overly structured, a bit too traditional but it is a huge school and it needs to be well run and it is. The staff is very caring. My daughter has been very happy.


Ps 102 The Bayview 1

Posted June 03, 2013
- a teacher
The teachers are great but the new principal has KILLED morale! Staff, parents, and students have all been miserable since she took over this year. So SAD!

Ps 102 The Bayview 1

Posted April 07, 2013
- a parent
I have no idea why this school gets high marks. There is a very particular group of parents that PS102 works for, but very many for whom it doesn't. There is a growing group of parents of special education students who have a particularly hard time--though even the general ed and honors classes are lacking. There are a few truly golden teachers, but overall, this school feels like nothing has changed in education since the 1970s. The approach is anything but forward thinking, and the staff and administration do not reflect the diversity of the student population at all (and it shows in the "us vs. them" attitude. Sorry, but after 2+ years I'd rather leave the neighborhood than continue sending my kids here. The experience is killing everything that they (and I) loved about education.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ps 102 The Bayview
211 72nd Street, Brooklyn, NY  11209
(718) 748-7404
Last modified Ps 102 The Bayview is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ps 102 The Bayview Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 40 reviews. Top