Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ps Is 104 The Fort Hamilton School

Public | K-8 | 1207 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

37 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 28, 2008

I am just as pleased with 1st grade as I was with Kindergarten - the teachers have been fantastic and the children are challenged and getting a wonderful education. We couldn't be more pleased! We hear mixed reviews about 6th grade and up... but 100% good reviews up through 5th grade. I'd highly recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2008

My child attends 104 and we love the teachers. I fully agree with the parent who wrote about the lack of morning supervision. My child has attended 104 for the last three years and I don't like there is no supervision on the outside grounds in the morning. It's not so much about other people, but the older kids have no respect when Ms. Dibella isn't around. When they get out of hand I remind them I will have no problem going straight to Ms. Dibella about their behavior.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2007

I am a student at ps/is 104 I attend the 8th grade, this school is terrible. Especially the fighting I am afraid to walk fro class to class i have to worry. I would never reccomend this place!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 22, 2007

my son attends this school...WOW...teachers, principals everyone to the luch ladies are caring warm and truly care about each child there...what a great find this school was...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2007

My child attends the 3rd grade and has progressed nicely. He has been fortunate to have great teachers. Ms. DiBella is always very involved and very personable. One of my concerns though, is that there isn't much security on the school grounds during the morning hours. I feel there should be more supervision in the school yard during the morning hours and after dismissal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2006

The math program is not so advanced. Maybe it will be better in a middle school grades. Too much declaration about a safety and discipline but this is a good point. Class and school equipment are in a bad condition, especially PCs. Teachers are no so active as it could be. They average advanced students over another students. There are no any competetion and challenging program and activity at the school. So, this is just a typical Brooklyn school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2006

Overall, my family has had a positive experience in PS 104. The magnet program has provided many new opportunities for the kids, including lower cost class trips and other activities. The teachers, in my experience, are competent and caring. A couple of negatives - extra-curricular activities are non-existent and the PTA is not as strong as it could (or should) be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2006

P.S. 104 has high expectation for our children. The academics and extracurricular activities start at kindergarden. My child is learning alot but I see the signs of being overwhelm and stress already. Overall, I would highly recommend the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2006

Good school esp due to its location, in the safe heart of Bay Ridge. However, not the best one in the area, PS 185 wud be a better choice. So if moving to Bay Ridge, haev a look at both the schools. 4th Ave is the water shed line.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2006

Both my children are attendig P.S. 104.This is a school where the children come first. Each child is encouraged to do their personal best without being labeled as the smart or dumb kids. The teachers are highly skilled and work hard to bring out the best in each child. The principal Mrs DiBella, is kind and knows each child by name. She is a great example of a leader. My Children spoke no English when they came to this school. Now they are both fluent in reading writing and speaking. P.S.104 has extra classes after school to help Non english and childreen doing poorly in school. This is a Great school. I didnt move my family to staten Island so they can continue attending P.S.104.Thank you P.S 104 for bringing out the best in my children and giving them the encouragement and confidence they need to go out into the world!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2005

The value of the academic program depends on the teacher; some are good, some are not. Very overcrowded. Parent involvement minimal, given the number of students there. The principal is easy to talk to and smart, but problems with violent students are not easily resolved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2004

The principal of this school is wonderful.She has empathy, and is very kind too children and parents. Her proffesionalism is beyond excellent. The Teachers that I have met have been wonderful in teaching my daughter. We always have open communication and problem solve efficently. In regards to the office staff, that is not plesant. I have experienced alot of lack of communication skills and hostile body language. Parents should be treated with a little more respect. The security in this school is great. The grounds and inside of school are imaculate. The after school activities should be offered to all children not just the children below average! Overall this is a good school, although the number of children is increasing and the classes are becoming over crowded.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

I myself went to P.S. 104 when Dr. Moore was Principal and the school was excellent. He ran the school like he was in control. There was never any problems and the teacher quality was better. He made sure of that. When he left the school started to go down. I see a big difference with my own children. Teacher's don't have the same quality as before. There is little or no h.w. or they get silly unnecessary projects to do especially during vacation time. They have no time to do nothing but work. As a parent I can't plan anything. Each day is taken with work. That the teachers don't see. Some of them don't have children, maybe then they will understand. I hope this changes!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2004

Education is what you make it. Like any school at PS104 there are great educators and than those for whom teaching is just a job. Fortunately, they are mostly the former. The principal is outstanding. She is dedicated, creative and cares for the students better than some of their parents. She is supported by a staff that gives freely of their time after school. Likewise the PTA supports the school. The physical plant is well maintained. There are very few serious discipline problems or for that matter of any kind. If you can get your child into this K-8 school you won't be disappointed. I have two girls in the Delta Program here which is excellent and am active in the PTA and SLT. Education is what you make it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2004

When my daughter was in the younger years at PS104 the school was great, with the old principal, however when he left and the new principal came, the entire school went downhill. They want to discipline kids for all the worng reasons, and when sometihng serious happens they try to cover it up. Many teachers there are very strange. Some throw rocks during class and walk around barefoot, while others bang on band stands and make fun of children telling them they smell, and wear the same clothes everyday. The assistant principal takes kids out of class to get him his coffee, and donuts and do his work for him.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2003

My daughter was a 2000 graduate, and she made it to stuyvesant, thanks to the dedicated and caring teachers, thanks to the principal who assumed responsibility in all aspects. Now I see it in my son who attends the same schoolis as an 8th grader, the quality of teaching has tremendously decreased... No homework assigned by teacher, easy going teacher attitude towards their students, teacher who want to flunk your kid because your kid corrected the teacher, or is talkative in class... I know for a fact that many parents are not thrilled.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

my daughter left this school in 2000 - and the principals have changed...so all I can say is when the principal was there, he ran his school like a tight ship....and I liked that because the children had respect for their school....
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

103 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
69%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

107 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

131 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
69%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

135 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
79%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

143 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

140 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
33%

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
72%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

142 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

159 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
33%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
64%
Math

The state average for Math was 38% in 2014.

162 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

143 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
68%
Math

The state average for Math was 33% in 2014.

150 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 36% in 2014.

141 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
32%

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
62%
Math

The state average for Math was 22% in 2014.

142 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

148 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "A" for the elementary and middle school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 1 51% 48%
Hispanic 1 27% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 17% 9%
Black 2 4% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 1%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 19%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 167%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 3%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 45%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 1388 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.4
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.2
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.5
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Students

This school

 
8.2
 

City average

 
7.8
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.2
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.9
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.3
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Students

This school

 
7.7
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.8
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.5
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.7
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Students

This school

 
8.7
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.1
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents93498%
Students39092%
Teachers6489%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. MARIE DIBELLA

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9115 5th Ave
Brooklyn, NY 11209
Website: Click here
Phone: (718) 836-4630

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


St Patrick School
Brooklyn, NY


Visitation Academy
Brooklyn, NY



Adelphi Academy
Brooklyn, NY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT