Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
51 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 59 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ps Is 104 The Fort Hamilton School 5

Posted May 26, 2016
- a parent
This schools is best school located in a safe place the teachers are excellent they're working honestly and have a high ability teaching such as Mrs. Csorba . Ms.pizzo. Mrs. Kotsis .Mrs.pavlakos. Mrs.lynch .and Ms.Nedeau . The school has security officials are working very hard to guard school And the school is clean and organized.I like the school principal they care about the student and provide them This school is best schools at all.

Ps Is 104 The Fort Hamilton School 5

Posted May 30, 2015
- a parent
Excellent school. The teachers, especially Mrs. Silverman and the principal, are passionate and care about the school and their students. The school environment is safe and orderly which provides the students the best place to grow and develop. The teachers cirriculum are challenging and thoughtful which prepare the students for the competitive world which lies ahead.


Ps Is 104 The Fort Hamilton School 1

Posted August 17, 2014
- a community member
School is great with teachers who listen. Principal is a great listener and knows where the short comings are, especially when it comes to the PTA. Lazy, lazy, lazy is all I can say about them. Very catty and only care about their egos and their bulliyness instead of actually trying to fundraiser for the school itself. Petty women with a lack of everything.

Ps Is 104 The Fort Hamilton School 5

Posted June 22, 2014
- a community member
Ok first off, this is coming from a PS/IS 104 graduate (class of 2009). From PreK - 5 grade, I attended Poly Prep, a highly acclaimed private school. Due to exterior issues, my family and I decided it would be best if I transferred to public school for the remainder of my middle school career. This school is what you make of it and the quality of your child's education depends on their motivation and desire to succeed. I studied for my exams, read the textbooks, and felt academically challenged and enriched. To be honest, I had a more positive experience here than I did in my private school. I was prepared to enter an academically challenging high school (Brooklyn Tech). However, my best fried from 104 ended up going to Fort Hamilton and dropping out/never graduating. We had the same teachers and same classes, so clearly it depends on the student, not the school. I graduated salutatorian of the 104 class, and hope to come visit soon. 5/5 for me.

Ps Is 104 The Fort Hamilton School 5

Posted May 08, 2014
- a parent
I have 2 children in this school ,one is in the 7th grade and one is in the 5th grade. Both my children are doing very well, both academically and socially. I cannot say enough about everyone in the school. From the principal, vice principles, faculty, and staff to the security guards, and janitors everyone is wonderful.The teachers always make themselves available to both students and parents if there are any issues that need to be addressed. When both my children developed medical conditions and needed special arrangements to be made for them there was no hesitation from anyone. Whatever needed to be done was done and like I said both kids are doing great. I could not ask for a better school for my children and would recommend and support it. always


Ps Is 104 The Fort Hamilton School 3

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
My daughter is in the G&T Kindergarten class this year and so far she loves the class, is very challenged but also very interested and learning a lot. The teacher is great and the assistant principal and office staff have been very responsive and helpful when necessary. My only criticism, thus far, is that the school does not involve the parents as much as they should nor encourage or create opportunities for the parents to meet each other. That has created a somewhat alienating experience and you have to really go out of your way to meet the parents of the kids.

Ps Is 104 The Fort Hamilton School 5

Posted October 28, 2013
- a parent
My son is in G&T Kindergarten class and he has gym daily..Is learning sign language and Spanish. They allow time for play and creativeness There are fun activities to participate in like the halloween pumpkin patch where he is allowed to still dress up for halloween..the book fair so far there has been two class trips planned the school keeps us very informed with everything going on in the school with phone messages and letters home Every day my son is excited to go to school he loves all the friends he has made so far I am extremely pleased with the education enrichment and drive of his teacher Ms Nadeau I honestly could not be happier with a program or with a teacher. She truly has made the Public Elementary School experience very pleasing.

Ps Is 104 The Fort Hamilton School 5

Posted October 13, 2013
- a parent
I am sure that any parent reading the comment where the parent said the staff had the nerve to ask for id to sign her child out, realizes the importance of safety for our children and the need for parents to respect that particularly in today's society. It seems that some parents simply expect schools to do what they feel is in the best interest of their child not all children. I attend PTA meetings and never see more than a handful of parents attending. I guess it is easier to write anonymous posts rather than get involved.


Ps Is 104 The Fort Hamilton School 1

Posted June 22, 2013
- a parent
Horrible experience. We were lucky enough to randomly get the best teacher ever in Kidergarten (by her own effort!!), but the school's crew is mediocre, groce and very unhelpfull. They seem to work on turning every little thing very difficult for everybody. They treat you like they are robots, following rules, and that they are not happy working there. That does not work when you are dealing with kids and so many unexpected things going on, they should be more humanized. They had the gut to even ask me for ID when my daughter was sick in the nursery, knowing me from everyday, and refuse to release me my sick child. A cold environment, lots of bullying, mediocre education, no outside area and 30 minutes of film daily for the kids while they should be learning. Lots of lower level learning kids mixed in the classes randomly without any care, turn the learning slower and less efficient than you should expect if you have a smart kid. And they dont care, they just keep going to get their paycheck.

Ps Is 104 The Fort Hamilton School 4

Posted May 11, 2013
- a parent
What bullying? I have 2 children at the school - 1st & 5th - and I have never had ANY issues or heard talk of bullying. I wish the budget was bigger because they have cut down on some important areas (art & music) but overall we are very happy.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ps Is 104 The Fort Hamilton School
9115 5th Avenue, Brooklyn, NY  11209
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 59 reviews. (718) 836-4630
Last modified Ps Is 104 The Fort Hamilton School is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top