Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ps 107 John W Kimball

Public | K-5 & ungraded | 555 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 2, 2014

Love this school. The quality of the teachers; the leadership that the teachers, staff, and the principal bring to the school; the involvement of the parents; and knowledge and fun the kids bring home from school. This school is absolutely amazing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

When your kid loves going to school everyday, you know the school is doing something right. The teachers are wonderful and is apparent they love their job and the children they educate. The principal and vice principal are highly visible and encourage suggestions to help better the school. The parent involvement is outstanding. Many wonderful programs and activities have been made possible by the parents and community. We love this school! We take pride in being part of it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2013

We have been at 107 for 5 years now and couldn't be happier. While the schools curriculum is strictly traditional core stuff, every effort is made to personalize my child's educational experience. Parent involvement is extremely high and the PTA is strong both by involvement and financially. And while we dearly miss Ms. Holton the new principal seems engaged and able to deal with the challenges inherent in running an urban school within the limits imposed by NYCDOE, et al. Some years ago, and under the leadership of Cynthia Holton, 107 used to be called the little engine that could...No more the little engine as the school is at max capacity - relative to the neighboring schools 107 remains smallish at around 500 kids. 107 has earned its reputation as a solid institution of elementary learning. Keep up the good work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2013

We couldn't be happier with PS 107. Honestly, the school community is incredible, meaning the collaborative network of teachers, administration, staff, students, parents and neighbors. Just walking the kids to school in the mornings, it has such a great feel. Our kids have both thrived here. Parent involvement is not only encouraged but is somewhat required, which is probably why the community is as tightly-knit as it is. The principal is about to start her third year, and has really shifted a lot of attention toward math (which tends to suffer in public schools because so much energy is given to reading/writing). If you don't live IN the zone for this school, don't even apply for it: the school is overcrowded and the principal does not admit students who are not in the zone, even if they have siblings in the school already. The lunches are NOT the horrible cheese sticks/cheeseburgers/french fries fare, but are amazing. My kids have roasted chicken and chic peas on Tuesdays, for example. The website is great, I check it regularly. It will be sad someday to no longer be a part of this special place. Downside: HUGE class sizes (but good luck getting away from that in NY)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2012

As a parent of 2 children attending PS107, I have been pleased with the quality of the curriculum, generally open dialogue between the school administration and parents and the focus to improve the childrens' learning experience. Following the change in leadership last year, I would say the transition has been seamless and the selection process which involved the PTA was a key driver in finding the right people. Teacher quality has been satisfactory although I would say is inconsistent across grade levels. I think the caliber of the 1st grade teachers and curriculum can be improved after witnessing my eldest child complete 2nd grade. But overall, I think the parent involvement and collaboration is ultimately what gives PS107 the high marks I have ascribed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2011

My son was new to the school last year for the 2nd grade, he loves the school. The PTA can be a bit much but they do a lot for the school, they seem to control the administration. I still feel even with that issue its a wonderful school where I have seen my son grow intellectually, something I think we wouldn't had gotten at his last school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2011

Those considering sending their children to PS107 should be aware that all grades will be facing very large class sizes in the coming years. There are already 30 children in third grade classes this year and next year, this will happen to first grade due to the addition of another Kindergarten class this year. Since a lot of young families have moved into this school zone in recent years, the trend is expected to worsen with waitlists for zoned children and more crowded classrooms. The DOE s priority seems to be to get the kids into their zoned school regardless of class size or facilities. They will ask the principal to give up the science lab, computer room and possibly the lovely new art/library space to create more classrooms. This would be such a shame and a devastating loss, given all the efforts put in by parents and the outgoing administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2011

This school is run by the parents (and trust me when I say, they aren't the kind and accepting folks you would want directing your child's development). Everybody knows everyone's business and they aren't afraid to share it over coffee. I wish it could always be a "good" thing that parents are involved. The parents at PS 107 are often controlling, over-bearing, elitist and intolerant (at least those that have enough time on their hands to live in the school as they seem to do). I understand that the administration will be completely new in 2011--I hope it has the ability to embrace the qualities of leadership and common sense that have been so very absent in the the past. If your child has any kind of special needs at all--please consider any other school. The Special Education Department is hopeless when it comes to knowing what to do to help any child in need. My son's IEP contained so many errors and PS 107 made their best effort to make me feel like it was either something they could not fix (spelling) or my fault (wanting his accommodations clearly stated on the IEP). This is just unacceptable. Obviously everyone will have a different experience. Good luck.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2011

Great teachers, incredible administration and very high parent involvement make this in my opinion one of the best schools in Brooklyn. My son had attend another PS in Brooklyn and this school is light years ahead the school he came from. I know of parents who have taken their kids out of private school to send them to PS 107. Kudos to the teachers and the PTA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2011

P.S. 107 is located in a nice, residential area of Park Slope that is very children friendly. The school allows students to learn at different speeds and to excel in different areas, from academics, to music, to sports. The playgrounds in the school courtyards are ample by New York standards and allows the kids to get exercise while having fun running around with their peers. It has been written that the human brain can absorb more information after a good workout than not having worked out.. Keep that in mind when assessing which public schools your child should attend.


Posted May 26, 2011

My son is a second grader at 107, he has had 2 great teachers out of 3 which is a good ratio. The PTA is one of the strongest I've seen. The principal is good, accessible, authentic but leaving. Their after school program has wonderful programming such as cooking, caporeria, rugby and chess. The community is not that welcoming, a little closed until they get to know you. My biggest critique is that you would never know that this school is in NYC no doubt in brooklyn. The diversity racially, economically, even working parents v.s. nonworking is minimal at best, and it doesn't seem that it is an issue for the school at large.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2010

Great principal and great teachers who really care about their students and take time listen to parents and students alike. Excellent after school program. Parent involvement is extremely high. My son loves going to school every day. I couldn't ask for more than that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2009

after attending 1 private and 2 other nyc public schools, ps 107 wins hands down!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2009

Having experienced a few other public schools with my son, now a 3rd grader, I can truly appreciate just how fantastic 107 is. Everybody at this school takes pride in their involvement From the principal to the lovely ladies in the lunchroom. The kids are hungry, the teachers fantastic and the PTA great. I'm a non-joiner and I've found myself willingly involved in everything from building an edible garden to helping teach the math superstars program. KUDOS PS 107.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2008

Having just surpassed top area schools in both NYC test scores and school rating this award winning school has made lightning speed improvements to shoot to the top of the heap. The after school program is impressive as is the extra weekend activities focusing on architecture and math.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2007

PS 107 exceeds our expectations. The positive energy of the enthusiastic teachers and administrative staff is palatable. The afterschool enrichment program is wonderful. My son is challenged both academically and socially.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2007

I have be very disappointed with this school. I have two children in 107 and I find the teachers and administration only care about the students that are failing courses and not at all about the children that are doing well and need extra time and programs. The communication between teacher and parents are minimal. Most of the homework is geared towards prepping them for the statewide tests and not towards their potential as a student.The two positives are the PTA and I really liked the building itself, it is very bright and pretty.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2003

Very dynamic principal and actively involved PTA. Great expectations for this school in the very near future. Will have access to great funding very soon and the political establishment is behind what we're doing here! PTA working fast and furiously to enhance after school enrichment. Class sizes coming down and teacher development is top notch for a public school. Many kids have transferred here from private schools in the area. We are a magnet school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2003

This school is making consistent, measurable improvements to curricula, strategic planning (comprehensive education plan), and parent involvement. Students, by and large, receive solid instruction from teaching staff that has above average teaching experience and skill. For the past 3 years, technology and math (especially creative problem solving) has been of particular focus. The student body appears to be highly inquisitive, respectful, and is reflective of the surrounding neighborhood.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

90 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

91 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

85 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

85 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

76 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

76 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "A" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 2 72% 48%
Hispanic 1 15% 23%
Black 2 8% 19%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 5% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 1% 1%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 11%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 211%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 3%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 31%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 467 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
9.0
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.8
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.3
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.9
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.3
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.8
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.0
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.7
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.3
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents43787%
Teachers3081%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1301 8th Ave
Brooklyn, NY 11215
Phone: (718) 499-2054

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Ps 39 Henry Bristow
Brooklyn, NY


Ps 295
Brooklyn, NY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT