Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ps 114 Ryder Elementary School

Public | PK-5 & ungraded | 665 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 20, 2013

I was a bit apprehensive about sending my child to this school but I am glad that I did. So far this is his second year there and all is well. The principal is excellent; always trying to get the parents involved in the school and child's education. The teachers are well trained and communicate with the parents often. There are progress reports monthly so there is no way you as a parent would not know how your child is doing when the report card comes. When most NYC schools ignored the new common core standards; last fall the Principal Smith implemented these standards at PS 114. The students were more prepared than most for the new exams this past spring. This school is truly again the pride of Canarsie.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2013

I am very proud of Principal Smith and the great job he is doing to make the school a better place for students and teachers. The great effort they have made to ensure the performance of the students are up to standard.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2013

The school has improved in many aspects appearance(interior) more assemblies, teachers care more and the people working within the school do care about the students.One MAJOR FAULT I FIND IN THE SCHOOL is that there is no handicap entry; therefore mothers with strollers(like myself) had to leave their babies outside (RAIN OR SHINE) BECAUSE THEY DO NOT ALLOW K-2 grade to come out to parents or even make an exception for those particuar individuals. I woud usualy have to ask strangers to watch my babies or if i caught the security guard outside i would ask her to lend and eye out for me. THIS MUST BE WORKED ON.Luckily y child is entering the 3rd grade but i am concerned for other parents that wil end up in y predicament.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2013

Every one want to blame the principal & the teachers for their children lack of this or that how about you as a parent or grandparent take an active role in your children education. The teachers could only do what the school board allow them to do. How about checking on your area representative and letting him or her know what the school needs. My child attended the chartered school next door and what they did was called parents for everything a child did or didn't do. I have no problem with communication with teachers or principal because I reach out to them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2013

Please DON"T send your child to this school. I was forced to have my son here because it was our "ZONE" school. Some staff members are very pleasant especially the Principal, however the majority of teachers and security just don't care about the success and safety of the children. On several occasions because of unforeseen emergencies where I could not get to my child on time he was left in the park because once a child is dismissed they CANNOT be let back into the building. Canarsie is not a bad neighborhood but anything could happen at anytime. Also, the amount of books I have to buy to make up for the little to no homework every night. Of course you will find a handful of caring Human Beings within those walls but not enough are Teachers or Security. Overall I see the Principal trying to make a change, but he can't be the only one willing to make the change. PLEASE send your child somewhere else.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 13, 2012

We've been hearing great things about Ravens School, 1102 East 92nd. Found out they just implemented technology classes and Montessori for the nursery school and pre-k. The new staff and leadership is definately needed for Canarsie.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2012

Good Education, finding ideas, good selection, quality, performance, encrease, very informative, looking for more information
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2011

great school i love when its time to leave they go home as they come out and all wear uniform and those kids must have a good score like a 4


Posted February 8, 2011

I'm disappointed in this school. When i pick up my daughter i notice there was a cut right under her eyes,and i ask her what happen she told me that she doesn't want to go school anymore. I find out she has bully and the staff member or teacher did nothing. I'm also disappointed at the homework she been getting book in a bag where the child had to color 3 little rectangle. What are they learning how to color....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2011

I've read the reviews you have posted, and after reading don't have a great deal of confidence about a recent incident has been handled regarding my grandson, my grand son was hit in the head with a bowling pin after winning a competition, I seriously question how this situation was handled, next stop district office.


Posted December 3, 2008

This school is out of order i dont blame the teachers or students i blame the principal. i have my 3 kids who attend there, my son is in kindergarten since september to now all he been gettin is book in a bag...it's like they dont teach them anything anymore...my son dont learn what he suppose to be learning like the kids in other schools...i spend extra time with him doing extra work with spelling words, sentences, etc. my daughters are in 4th n 5th they doing good, making progress..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2008

This is my child's second year at Ryder Elementary and, she is currently in her Kindergarden year. She is highly enthusiastic about the atmosphere which keeps my totally preoccupied knowing that she is in a safe and nurturing environment. I cannot say that I have any negative responses thus far to the school except, the fact that I do not feel that they enforce the uniform(ed) dress code enough. My child generally wears her uniform but, till recently, she has been requesting to wear plain clothing throughout the week. -Ryder Elementary great faculty excellent academic agenda. Thank you for your efforts with my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2007

Ryder Elementary school lacks discpline and order. After school the students are not under control when being picked up, which causes confusion. My daughter is going into the 2nd grade, this will be her 3rd year attending the school and because she is in the gifted program, she has been sheltered from the nonsense. My heart goes out to the other children in the school because it seems as if the teachers don't really care about the students. I put my nephew in that school for a year and he was misbehaving and they dealt with the situation very unruly. They did not try to resolve it with me at all. I had to pull him out. School needs a better sense of discipline and order...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2005

Taought here for a short time, just awful! Not enough supplies for the students or the teachers.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 16, 2005

The school itself is okay. it shoulb be organized a little better. And some of the teachers could make a better effort to get in contact with the parents better if the child is having any type of problems in the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2005

As a parent of P.S. 114. I am very happy that my daughter is a student at this school. She has been blessed with very good, caring and intelligent teachers,who exposes them to the entire world of knowledge, she knows quite a few of the teachers and administrative staff and as an 8 year old, she has very good comments for them. She also said while the previous principals have been nice people the current principal Ms. Pennahererra, is superb. The principal came to them and asked what subjects they will like to have at the school, and based on her and her classmates answers, the principal was able to give them just what they asked for, and getting it did not take very long. So based on my careful examination, and my 8 year old's day to day experience, I have no doubt that P.S. 114, is a terrific school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

98 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
14%

2013

 
 
14%

2012

 
 
44%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

101 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
18%

2013

 
 
15%

2012

 
 
47%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

97 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
9%

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
38%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

97 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
21%

2013

 
 
7%

2012

 
 
34%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

96 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
23%

2013

 
 
18%

2012

 
 
35%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

98 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
13%

2013

 
 
6%

2012

 
 
49%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "D" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 2 85% 19%
Hispanic 1 9% 23%
White 1 4% 48%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 1% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 1%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 213%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 277%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 0%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 56%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Security personnel
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage

Language learning

Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 493 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.5
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.8
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.2
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.5
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.7
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.4
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.5
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.6
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents44982%
Teachers44100%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. DARWIN SMITH

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Parent center
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Cheerleading
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1077 Remsen Ave
Brooklyn, NY 11236
Phone: (718) 257-4428

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Ps 66
Brooklyn, NY


Mesivta Lev Bonim
Brooklyn, NY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT