Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
28 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 35 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ps 114 Ryder Elementary School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted December 08, 2015
- a parent
I would have to thank the Principal Mr. Darwin Smith, he has created a safe environment which teachers can teach and students can learn while have a good time. Thank You for your service keep up the good work.

Ps 114 Ryder Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted December 08, 2015
- a parent
They take the necessary time to explain the work if a child is having a difficult time understanding the work.


Ps 114 Ryder Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted December 08, 2015
- a parent
I find they don't overwhelm the student with homework, they give just enough to keep the class work on there minds and engaged

Ps 114 Ryder Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted December 08, 2015
- a parent
The staff leads by example, giving respect as well as instilling respect in all children.

Ps 114 Ryder Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted December 08, 2015
- a parent
I see the staff treating there student as if they are there own children, providing that safety net.


Ps 114 Ryder Elementary School 5

Posted December 08, 2015
- a parent
As a parent of 2 children which attend P.S.114 Ryder Elementary, I find they are very professional and meet not only my children's but all of the students needs. Academically I must say OUTSTANDING!!! Job well done.

Ps 114 Ryder Elementary School 5

Posted October 20, 2013
- a parent
I was a bit apprehensive about sending my child to this school but I am glad that I did. So far this is his second year there and all is well. The principal is excellent; always trying to get the parents involved in the school and child's education. The teachers are well trained and communicate with the parents often. There are progress reports monthly so there is no way you as a parent would not know how your child is doing when the report card comes. When most NYC schools ignored the new common core standards; last fall the Principal Smith implemented these standards at PS 114. The students were more prepared than most for the new exams this past spring. This school is truly again the pride of Canarsie.

Ps 114 Ryder Elementary School 4

Posted August 01, 2013
- a parent
I am very proud of Principal Smith and the great job he is doing to make the school a better place for students and teachers. The great effort they have made to ensure the performance of the students are up to standard.


Ps 114 Ryder Elementary School 3

Posted July 26, 2013
- a parent
The school has improved in many aspects appearance(interior) more assemblies, teachers care more and the people working within the school do care about the students.One MAJOR FAULT I FIND IN THE SCHOOL is that there is no handicap entry; therefore mothers with strollers(like myself) had to leave their babies outside (RAIN OR SHINE) BECAUSE THEY DO NOT ALLOW K-2 grade to come out to parents or even make an exception for those particuar individuals. I woud usualy have to ask strangers to watch my babies or if i caught the security guard outside i would ask her to lend and eye out for me. THIS MUST BE WORKED ON.Luckily y child is entering the 3rd grade but i am concerned for other parents that wil end up in y predicament.

Ps 114 Ryder Elementary School 3

Posted July 25, 2013
- a parent
Every one want to blame the principal & the teachers for their children lack of this or that how about you as a parent or grandparent take an active role in your children education. The teachers could only do what the school board allow them to do. How about checking on your area representative and letting him or her know what the school needs. My child attended the chartered school next door and what they did was called parents for everything a child did or didn't do. I have no problem with communication with teachers or principal because I reach out to them.

Nearby schools

Ps 114 Ryder Elementary School
1077 Remsen Avenue, Brooklyn, NY  11236
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 35 reviews. (718) 257-4428
Last modified Ps 114 Ryder Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top