Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Brooklyn, NY

4 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ps 119 Amersfort 4

Posted August 26, 2014
- a parent
As a parent, I had 4 children successfully completed PS 119. The school is one of Brooklyn's best kept secret. Bullying is NOT tolerated and all the kids are PEACEFUL and LOVING towards one another. I've never seen a school where all of the kids greet each other with hugs upon arriving and leaving. The teachers are excellent and work to push your children to excel and the Principal knows ALL of the students. Principal Fernandez is so involoved as well as the of staff with the school. PS 119 also provides a clean environment for your child to learn. I'm completely satisfied with this school. PS ROCKS!

Ps 119 Amersfort 5

Posted December 29, 2013
- a parent
PS 119 was a beacon of hope for my child after superstorm Sandy. It was very difficult being displaced and especially for my daughter being away from our neighborhood school. But ALL the children and the staff at PS 119 welcomed her and embraced her with the school's culture of peace and respect for all. Ms. Fernandez the principal is a visionary whose decision making is based on her dedication to and love of children. Students love coming to school because it offers so many interesting subject areas and the school puts forth lots of fun programming. A very special place with a top quality teachers. If you can I recommend sending your child to this jewel of a school.


Ps 119 Amersfort 2

Posted August 30, 2010
- a parent
the school is a good school however the principal is a control freak and she take her role as a principal a little to far. she is very dismive to a parents view if it seems different or controversial to the school. she has kicked parents out of the school when they confronted her on situations with her and their child. she also picks on a child if at any time that child has did something wrong if at any time there is a problem your child is the oneat fault .she also dont listen to both views if your child is one of the students involved. i removed my child because of her action my child didnt want to come back to that school and wished they was never born . this principal made my child feel very unhappy . but he loved his teacher friends .

Ps 119 Amersfort 0
no rating

Posted October 21, 2009
- a parent
PS 119 offers students a warm environment where children are not only taught, they are respected and encoraged to think outside the box. PS 119 fosters an environment where students learn to be peacfeul and respectful of their environment, each other and themselves.

Ps 119 Amersfort 5

Posted June 01, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Ps 119 Amersfort 5

Posted December 03, 2008
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.

Ps 119 Amersfort 1

Posted November 16, 2008
- a community member
The school primarilly focuses on peace, though it is exeptional it doesnt really close in with the curriculum.

Ps 119 Amersfort 5

Posted November 03, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Ps 119 Amersfort 5

Posted June 29, 2007
- a student
This school is amazing. The art and activities they have are very fundamental. From the music department to the shows they put on, this school has it all. When i went to this school, i had the best time of my life. The teachers are very caring and help you with everything. When i had a problem, i could count on my teacher for help and they would give me the advise that i needed. Even teachers that weren't your teacher anymore would he me out with the problems that i had. This school had activities for everyone. The best time of the year {for me} was Field Day. There are more great features about this school that i love but i would then have to sit here all day to remember all the great memories.

Ps 119 Amersfort 5

Posted February 28, 2007
- a parent
I am so thrilled with this school!! They have strong academic programs and great Arts programs. My child is in chorus and art. The principal, Ms. fernandez, takes an interest in every child.She has brought a character development program that fosters respect for diversity and peace. I have one child in special ed at the school and one in a regular class. You cant tell the difference!! Thanks to the principal and Assistant principal, Ms. Snow for going above and beyond to educate my kids as well as all the others. This is what a school should be!!

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ps 119 Amersfort
3829 Avenue K, Brooklyn, NY  11210
(718) 377-7696
Last modified Ps 119 Amersfort is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ps 119 Amersfort Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top