Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Brooklyn, NY
Students enrolled: 346
Before care: No
After care: Yes

3 stars
Based on 29 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


47 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ps 124 Silas B Dutcher 3

Posted April 18, 2014
- a parent
My son's been in this school for 4yrs now and he absolutely loves it. The staff knows all the kids by name because it's a tight knit school. We love it

Ps 124 Silas B Dutcher 5

Posted April 03, 2014
- a parent
If you walk around PS 124, you will see happy kids getting a great education from smart and dedicated teachers in a safe, caring environment. In addition to the impressive classroom teachers, the school has a fantastic librarian, science teacher, music teacher and visual arts/yoga teacher. The school also has a diverse population and staff and administrators constantly model and reinforce a culture of mutual respect and caring. The classrooms are bright and airy, and the library is beautiful--large, well-stocked and welcoming. There is also an art studio and a science lab. I can't say enough good things about PS 124--it is pretty much my ideal elementary school!


Ps 124 Silas B Dutcher 5

Posted April 02, 2014
- a parent
PS 124 is a school that no one is talking about YET -- but they're starting to. Class sizes are small which is great - and the school is small making it a nice, tight-knit community. And you can certainly feel the love. It just started a dual language (Spanish) program in Pre-K and will be introducing a dual language program (Spanish) beginning 2014-2015. There's an AMAZING dedicated music teacher which is so rare these days. He also runs a guitar program for the older kids. Free swimming classes for 2nd grade There is a lot that this little school has to offer. My son is in Pre-K and loves it.

Ps 124 Silas B Dutcher 4

Posted April 02, 2014
- a parent
P.S. 124 in South Slope Brooklyn is a hidden gem of a school that has remained intimate and innovative at the same time that other neighborhood schools are regularly confronting severe overcrowding, a lack of pre-k offerings, and dwindling enrichment programs like music, art, science and tech. The school has fought to hold onto, and expand, music and art programs throughout all grades. And teachers and staff have made the integration of music, science and art a consistent theme from pre-k through the 5th grade. The school has been a part of the community for generations and as the community has changed, and continues to change, the school remains a strong constant embracing a multi-lingual student population as diverse as the surrounding neighborhood and introducing cutting edge dual-language programs for multiple grades starting in pre-k. As a center for learning and community cohesion the school deserves to be recognized for its greatness.

Ps 124 Silas B Dutcher 5

Posted October 28, 2013
- a parent
We feel so lucky to have won the lottery and have our son in pre-k at this great neighborhood school. The teachers are amazing. Our son has music, art and yoga! each week, loves all the teachers, has made great friends. We have no doubt that he will continue to thrive at this amazing school.


Ps 124 Silas B Dutcher 5

Posted October 25, 2013
- a parent
P.S. 124 is a fantastic school! The class sizes are small, the teachers care a lot, and everyone in the building knows your child's name. The teachers and administration makes it a point to stay in frequent communication with the parents. The art and music programs are amazing and the curriculum challenges the students to think for themselves and be leaders. Every grade does something different. For example, 1st grade has a theater program and 2nd grade has swimming class. This is a school that also participates in the 7 habits of highly effective people, which is incorporated in the learning. Overall, I love the warm environment that P.S.124 in Brooklyn provides for my child.

Ps 124 Silas B Dutcher 4

Posted October 25, 2013
- a parent
So much goes on behind the doors at this small school. Things like: dual language Pre-K, the 3rd Grade Green Team which facilitates recycling and energy efficiency both at school and at home, the grant-based Leader In Me initiative which uses 7 Habits of Highly Effective People to encourage leadership potential, as well as the school s continued emphasis on technology, art and music. It's a safe and nurturing environment that my child thrives in. It's such a gem.

Ps 124 Silas B Dutcher 0
no rating

Posted April 23, 2010
- a parent
PS 124 is an amazing school. The atmosphere is safe and inviting. The children are loved and cared for by the entire school community which gives them a sense of belonging. This creates the best atmosphere for learning! I love this school!!


Ps 124 Silas B Dutcher 0
no rating

Posted April 20, 2010
- a parent
PS 124 is an amazing school with dedicated and supportive staff, as well as a unique and highly desirable learning environment.

Ps 124 Silas B Dutcher 5

Posted April 20, 2010
- a community member
Great support staff, and the children are very motivated to learn!

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ps 124 Silas B Dutcher
515 4th Avenue, Brooklyn, NY  11215
(718) 788-0246
Last modified Ps 124 Silas B Dutcher is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ps 124 Silas B Dutcher Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 47 reviews. Top