Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
31 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 61 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ps 124 Silas B Dutcher 5

Posted December 22, 2015
- a parent
My son is in pre-k here which is very good. The teachers are very knowledgeable and make learning fun for the students. they do a weekly newsletter with pictures which keeps the parents involved. The program infuses a lot of Spanish and the kids are already learning to read and write.

Ps 124 Silas B Dutcher 5

Posted December 01, 2015
- a parent
Our daughter graduated from PS 124 in 2015, after being a student there since Pre-K. PS 124 is a little school with a huge heart. We relocated to Brooklyn from the West Coast, and came with very high expectations of what an elementary school should look and feel like. Admittedly, we were underwhelmed by the school's facilities, but realized very early on that what happened inside each classroom defines a school. This, for us, made up for the lack of bells and whistles on the outside. Our daughter received an incredible education from day one. She was well-prepared for the Common Core tests, and scored 3's and 4's all three years. She left 5th Grade as enthusiastic about school as she did entering into Pre-K, all of which made for a smooth transition into middle school. Outside the classroom, the school's PTA is growing by leaps and bounds, and puts on a series of events throughout the year with the focus of bringing families together and celebrating the school's multi-cultural diversity. Teacher retention is high, with most of the PS 124 teachers holding a 10+ year tenure within the building. It might not be the fanciest, or have the most robust list of extras, but PS 124 puts our children first and foremost, encouraging a true love for learning, and respect for one another.


Ps 124 Silas B Dutcher 3

Posted April 18, 2014
- a parent
My son's been in this school for 4yrs now and he absolutely loves it. The staff knows all the kids by name because it's a tight knit school. We love it

Ps 124 Silas B Dutcher 5

Posted April 03, 2014
- a parent
If you walk around PS 124, you will see happy kids getting a great education from smart and dedicated teachers in a safe, caring environment. In addition to the impressive classroom teachers, the school has a fantastic librarian, science teacher, music teacher and visual arts/yoga teacher. The school also has a diverse population and staff and administrators constantly model and reinforce a culture of mutual respect and caring. The classrooms are bright and airy, and the library is beautiful--large, well-stocked and welcoming. There is also an art studio and a science lab. I can't say enough good things about PS 124--it is pretty much my ideal elementary school!

Ps 124 Silas B Dutcher 5

Posted April 02, 2014
- a parent
PS 124 is a school that no one is talking about YET -- but they're starting to. Class sizes are small which is great - and the school is small making it a nice, tight-knit community. And you can certainly feel the love. It just started a dual language (Spanish) program in Pre-K and will be introducing a dual language program (Spanish) beginning 2014-2015. There's an AMAZING dedicated music teacher which is so rare these days. He also runs a guitar program for the older kids. Free swimming classes for 2nd grade There is a lot that this little school has to offer. My son is in Pre-K and loves it.


Ps 124 Silas B Dutcher 4

Posted April 02, 2014
- a parent
P.S. 124 in South Slope Brooklyn is a hidden gem of a school that has remained intimate and innovative at the same time that other neighborhood schools are regularly confronting severe overcrowding, a lack of pre-k offerings, and dwindling enrichment programs like music, art, science and tech. The school has fought to hold onto, and expand, music and art programs throughout all grades. And teachers and staff have made the integration of music, science and art a consistent theme from pre-k through the 5th grade. The school has been a part of the community for generations and as the community has changed, and continues to change, the school remains a strong constant embracing a multi-lingual student population as diverse as the surrounding neighborhood and introducing cutting edge dual-language programs for multiple grades starting in pre-k. As a center for learning and community cohesion the school deserves to be recognized for its greatness.

Ps 124 Silas B Dutcher 5

Posted October 28, 2013
- a parent
We feel so lucky to have won the lottery and have our son in pre-k at this great neighborhood school. The teachers are amazing. Our son has music, art and yoga! each week, loves all the teachers, has made great friends. We have no doubt that he will continue to thrive at this amazing school.

Ps 124 Silas B Dutcher 5

Posted October 25, 2013
- a parent
P.S. 124 is a fantastic school! The class sizes are small, the teachers care a lot, and everyone in the building knows your child's name. The teachers and administration makes it a point to stay in frequent communication with the parents. The art and music programs are amazing and the curriculum challenges the students to think for themselves and be leaders. Every grade does something different. For example, 1st grade has a theater program and 2nd grade has swimming class. This is a school that also participates in the 7 habits of highly effective people, which is incorporated in the learning. Overall, I love the warm environment that P.S.124 in Brooklyn provides for my child.


Ps 124 Silas B Dutcher 4

Posted October 25, 2013
- a parent
So much goes on behind the doors at this small school. Things like: dual language Pre-K, the 3rd Grade Green Team which facilitates recycling and energy efficiency both at school and at home, the grant-based Leader In Me initiative which uses 7 Habits of Highly Effective People to encourage leadership potential, as well as the school s continued emphasis on technology, art and music. It's a safe and nurturing environment that my child thrives in. It's such a gem.

Ps 124 Silas B Dutcher
no rating

Posted April 23, 2010
- a parent
PS 124 is an amazing school. The atmosphere is safe and inviting. The children are loved and cared for by the entire school community which gives them a sense of belonging. This creates the best atmosphere for learning! I love this school!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ps 124 Silas B Dutcher
515 4th Avenue, Brooklyn, NY  11215
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 61 reviews. (718) 788-0246
Last modified Ps 124 Silas B Dutcher is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top