Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ps 145 Andrew Jackson

Public | PK-5 & ungraded | 873 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 7, 2014

This school is OK. Many people give a lackluster rating because of a personal issue and not an overall rating. In the other hand, some "staff" give the school excellent ratings while also, not rating the overall picture. I will try to rate the overall "culture" of the school. First, the administration...It used to be "open door" policy, well, not anymore. At least not with the current principal (2014). As a parent, I would like the principal to be more accessible. Overall, I give the administration 2 stars maybe 3. Next, The teachers...As with any "institution" you will have some experienced and committed staff members and you will also have some that leave a lot to be desired. Overall they are decent. I give them 3 stars, maybe 4. Next... Arts, physical Ed, extracurricular activities and after-school programs... Often overlooked by many schools, yet, very important for the development of our children. They do offer what they call "enrichment" activities, but they leave a lot to be desired! Their one bright spot is their school Choir. The choir teacher seems to be doing a great job with the kids. Overall I give the school 2 stars in this area with a possible 4 stars for the choir.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2013

I believe that we have a nurturing environment for all students. We strive for all students to do their best. The Common Core Standards are embedded in all of our delivery of instruction. We create multiple entry points for all children that have different and unique learning styles. We work together as a team to achieve what we want from our students, success!


Posted June 25, 2012

The public school is important part of the community as it brings together the community's students. It has developed through out the years and is a great public school for kids in the area.


Posted May 8, 2012

As a former student myself, I must admit that my experiences with this school were not the best. Throughout the years I spent in this facility, I have to admit that only ONE teacher truly motivated me to perform to the best of my abilities. As a child, I thought I was alright because I was going from one grade to another without any hesitations however, now as I look back, of course I was passing. Half the time the teachers would give me the answeres to the state eaxams so that our school would not "Flunk"! I personally still live in the same neighborhood and HIGHLY encourage that anyone seeking to truly enroll their kids into a good school to please look elsewhere....I truly did encounter MANY challenges as I grew up and entered college, most of them do to the lack of education in my elementry & middle school years. Lastly, I wish to add that the school is not the only to be blamed, but the parents are truly "ghetto" in this neighborhood and tend to take their kids to the same school where they atteneded....where they learned absolutely nothing!


Posted July 18, 2011

Of course there are moments where a parent has a bad encounter, and they are quick to judge the whole school. Maybe these negative parents should be a little more involved in the activities held in this school instead of just dropping off the child and going home to watch t.v. the school does try to reach out to them, but you can't force them. Parents barely show up to meetings, don't donate a cent when its needed but are quick to act ghetto if their child is disciplined. There are a couple of teachers and other staff members who are rude and think because they are teachers they are right all the time, but the majority are very dedicated and do love the children. Also, remember that any working environment has higher levels of authority. if you think there is something wrong with the teachers, maybe you should look at the principals and superintendents. THere could be more programs such as dance (real dance) , or art or sports, but it all depends on their budget and parent involvement, which again there is so little of it. I give the school overall 4 stars. Parents one star. Shame on you. You know who you are.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2010

Teachers are kind and care about the students. They are commited to their students and are doing the best they can with the resources they are given. Their main goal is to help each and everyone of their students achieve theirs!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 18, 2010

The school needs much improvement. the classes are horrible, the teachers not kind, and the staff just wants to get rid of the kids by the end of the day. Kid are not safe, some teachers just let the kids leave with whoever claims them. Dismissal is very disorganized and everyday the kids are more wild due to the neglect by teachers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2006

It is very easy for an angry parent to express negative views about a school based on one bad experience; in addition, no one is perfect. Overall, parent involvement is terrible! The academic programs are good. The majority of teachers are committed to their students. There is art, music, chorus, & gym; all children get at least one of these. A ballet program just started & there is the healthy kids club too. More could be offered, & kids are safe!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 14, 2006

This is school is the worse school that my child has ever attend. Some of the teachers can't control that classes. The lunch is not health and the lunch staff is not nice at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

116 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
16%

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
49%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

118 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
23%

2013

 
 
16%

2012

 
 
53%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

129 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
17%

2013

 
 
7%

2012

 
 
47%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

134 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
19%

2013

 
 
17%

2012

 
 
59%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

101 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
11%

2013

 
 
12%

2012

 
 
31%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

103 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
30%

2013

 
 
11%

2012

 
 
40%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "B" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 2 95% 23%
Black 1 4% 19%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 1% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 0% 1%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
White 1 0% 48%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 238%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 193%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 5%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 49%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 563 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.8
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.3
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
7.0
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
5.5
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
6.9
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
5.8
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
7.4
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
6.5
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents50578%
Teachers5895%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. LUCIA PEREZ-MEDINA

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

100 Noll St
Brooklyn, NY 11206
Phone: (718) 821-4823

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Ps 120 Carlos Tapia
Brooklyn, NY



Ps 147 Issac Remsen
Brooklyn, NY


Ps 274 Kosciusko
Brooklyn, NY



Ps 123 Suydam
Brooklyn, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT