Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

2 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Jhs 166 George Gershwin 1

Posted March 23, 2012
- a community member
This school needs a complete overhaul. The school is out of control, the students are in the hallways, walk in and out of the classrooms as they please..profanity is constant, and there is simply no structure for these students. The principal is great, but her assistant principal Ms. Ford is a tyrant and bully to her staff and has no ability to manage the students. Her poor leadership can be seen in how she talks to her staff, the children, and the lack of respect and professionalism she carries overall. I have seen her in action, and I was shocked. There is no coincidence when a school is failing, the lack of leadership is the main reason here. She has proven she can not handle this job and the students do not deserve the lack of leadership and accountability for the failing of this school.

Jhs 166 George Gershwin 1

Posted February 09, 2011
- a community member
i dont agree with this school. im not saying its a bad school but its just not good enough towards academic wise but i will give them props for enrollment.


Jhs 166 George Gershwin 1

Posted July 08, 2010
- a teacher
I taught there during Ortega's first year. She makes up statistics and grades out of thin air, completely fabricated.There were fights every day, but she only reported 1 incident. I told her that's not even close to reality and that perhaps we should ask the teachers, whereupon she threatened to fire me. In fact, I fractured my thumb breaking up a fight in my class but was forced to teach the rest of the day. Disgusted, I quit with 2 weeks left in the year without submitting grades for my 387 writing students...but I'm sure she created something for them. She had told me, "If they do anything, pass them."

Jhs 166 George Gershwin 1

Posted May 30, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Jhs 166 George Gershwin 0
no rating

Posted May 03, 2009
- a community member
I believe that this school is very strict at times I didnt like it but it got me into Canarsie High an I graduated with great credits bein able to skip 2 grades at 16 thankyou Mrs.Ortega an Mr.E sighned Sonya Woody


Jhs 166 George Gershwin 1

Posted January 12, 2009
- a student
sorry for every parent that put 5 stars on this school i am a student of this school saying that it is the worst school i have ever been to an great schools rating is correct when they say 1out of 10 and this school does not have control of anything it is easly said one of the worst schools of the area

Jhs 166 George Gershwin 5

Posted November 14, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Jhs 166 George Gershwin 4

Posted May 13, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Jhs 166 George Gershwin 5

Posted November 27, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Jhs 166 George Gershwin
800 Van Siclen Avenue, Brooklyn, NY  11207
(718) 649-0765
Last modified Jhs 166 George Gershwin is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 1 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Jhs 166 George Gershwin Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top