Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ps 167 The Parkway

Public | PK-5 & ungraded | 462 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 18, 2011

The reviews posted here are largely disturbing. I attended PS 167 in the late 40's and early 50's. It was a wonderful school held in high regard within the system. My star rating is based past experience only. It is my fond wish that it draw upon its glorious past, improve dramatically and, by so doing, honor its alumni and the memory of long departed teachers and principals such as Mr. August Lodato.


Posted September 7, 2011

In the mid 80's, I went to this school. My parents couln't afford catholic school any longer, so this was my zone school. The nieghtboorhood was rough and their were fights after school everyday. However; I had a wonderful teacher named Mrs. Erlickson. I always felt safe in my classroom. I also participated in a story telling contest and was put in the gifted class in fourth grade.


Posted June 5, 2011

Teachers are uninvolved--you never get ANY type of notifications on the school activities or events until the last minute. This school doesn't believe in sending home pertinent information to parents, your left to asking when you hear about something then it's asking one after another. The children in cafeteria are unsupervised and out of control. It's as if the staff doesn't want to do so everybody does nothing--MAJOR behavioral problems. And by the way I've never met nor seen the school principal this whole school year. These previous post HAD to be written by staff. Ask a parent what they think. I hope the 1 star stands for unsatisfactory and/or unsatisfied.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2010

This school is brilliant it has excellent teachers,school leadership,and challenging academic programs.My child loves the school she said she would love to have three more years in the school,so I will let her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2010

April n9 2010 Great school! The new principal is a powerful leader. She is fair and the students adore her. The shool has shown such a marvelous inprovement this year. i can finally see some happy teachers which means happy students. My sons love the school. much love to the new principal!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2010

i'm very happy with the school p.s 167 because the teacher and therapists help my son a lot. My son is in a special education and I see his progress much better. I give 5
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2007

Unorganized, and no control over the class rooms. I must say, as a parent, I am frustrated with the school system. Where is the need and desire to educate our young people? Some school teachers just want to earn a check rather that educate. I took my daughter out of this school and pray that parents who want the best for there child(ren) do the same. Our kids deserve better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2007

A school that is not worth the headaches! Poor leadership with a feeling of not being wanted or needed. This is my son's last year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2006

One of the most poorly run school's in Brooklyn. The principal is always in hiding and the students are out of control. As a parent, I am never informed of anything until after it happened. My daughter came home with a back eye and neither the nurses or the principal call to inform me of this! Send your children somewhere else!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

60 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
13%

2013

 
 
11%

2012

 
 
19%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

59 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
19%

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
14%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

50 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
10%

2013

 
 
12%

2012

 
 
34%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

50 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
6%

2013

 
 
8%

2012

 
 
23%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

53 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
23%

2013

 
 
10%

2012

 
 
24%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

53 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
32%

2013

 
 
2%

2012

 
 
28%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "C" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 2 86% 19%
Hispanic 1 11% 23%
White 2 2% 48%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 0% 9%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 16%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 297%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 0%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 65%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 140 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.0
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.6
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
7.6
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.6
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
6.6
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.7
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.4
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.0
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.7
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents12836%
Teachers1238%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. MARC H. MARDY

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1025 Eastern Pky
Brooklyn, NY 11213
Phone: (718) 774-2640

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Lubavitcher Yeshiva
Brooklyn, NY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT