Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
35 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 43 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


P.S. 172 Beacon School Of Excellence
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted October 21, 2015
- a parent
The homework is just right because it give the kids sufficient time to complete revise and have reasonable bed time.

P.S. 172 Beacon School Of Excellence
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted October 21, 2015
- a parent
I 100% believe the school develops persistence grit and determination in its students if they didn't we will not have the scores we currently have.


P.S. 172 Beacon School Of Excellence
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted October 21, 2015
- a parent
I 100% believe the kids have developed respect for the teachers and teachers respect the kids greatly.

P.S. 172 Beacon School Of Excellence
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted October 21, 2015
- a parent
Our principal, parent coordinator, teachers and staff work long hours in order for our kids to have the education they are getting at PS 172 through that means they care and is compassionate about teaching our kids.

P.S. 172 Beacon School Of Excellence
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted October 21, 2015
- a parent
All kids are treated and disciplined equally. Information shared to parents and kids from the school displays honesty and integrity.


P.S. 172 Beacon School Of Excellence 5

Posted October 21, 2015
- a parent
I have been a parent of PS 172 for the last 8yrs with one of my kid graduating and I currently have a 4th grader still attends. The progress I've seen over the years at PS 172 has been extraordinary. Having a new art teacher for the last year not just for art but also using art as therapy for the kids that needs it. Admiration who is always striving for betterment, leadership and success, to the PTA going from having no enrichment at PS n172 to raising funds and creating opportunity for over 10 enrichment programs over the last 2 yrs. Thank you Mr. Spatola and Staff for all your continued hard work giving our kids the best learning environment any parent desires their child or children to have in the public school system. I must conclude this note by saying the family comfort and environment around the school is thanks to our "AMAZING PARENT COORDINATOR MRS. HENDRICKSON" THANK YOU FOR ALL YOU DO FOR THE PARENTS OF PS 172.

P.S. 172 Beacon School Of Excellence 5

Posted October 24, 2013
- a parent
My children enjoys going to school. This school creates the best learning . Thank you ps172 for creating

P.S. 172 Beacon School Of Excellence 5

Posted October 12, 2013
- a community member
I love this school! I unfortunately had to leave in 3rd grade. When we came back to New York I wished it was both an elementary and middle school. Mr.Spatola is a great principal. The teachers and staff are really nice. It has a great arts program. Sometimes I still visit during summer school so I could see my music teacher and the staff that say how much I've grown. My mom went there when Mr.Spatola was still there. I wish I could go there forever. Amazing school. I wish I could give it 100 stars.


P.S. 172 Beacon School Of Excellence 5

Posted October 10, 2013
- a parent
PS 172 is an amazing school with great leaders within the teaching/ support staff, PTA and most importantly the students. My daughter has been a student since kindergarten and is now in 2nd grade. Every teacher she has had has been amazing, friendly and dedicated to ensuring that she and her classmates reach their potential. My daughter tested for G&T the past 2 years, but I have not changed her because this school is one of the best in all of NYC. The PTA really make a difference. The recent board has been really great at creating fun and enriching programs/ events which bring the community together. This is definitely the best school in Brooklyn!

P.S. 172 Beacon School Of Excellence 4

Posted October 10, 2013
- a parent
Public school education doesn't get a lot better than this especially in early childhood. From the principal right down to the custodial staff everyone here is focused on providing the best learning environment our kids can get. This school was one of the top five reasons we purchased a home in the neighborhood.

Nearby schools

P.S. 172 Beacon School Of Excellence
825 4th Avenue, Brooklyn, NY  11232
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 43 reviews. (718) 965-4200
Last modified P.S. 172 Beacon School Of Excellence is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top