Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ps 176 Ovington

Public | K-5 & ungraded | 1288 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 28, 2014

Looking forward to sending my son to the school. Parents like the school. They like the curriculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2013

It is really a good school. My son is in this school and we appreciate the way they are organize . The principal is really smart woman and always and everywhere in help for everybody. I.m feeling lucky having my son in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2013

My son was fortunate enough to be accepted at PS176 because of the gifted and talented program. This is not our zone school so we must commute on a daily basis. There is a reason why every parent in and around the area wants their kids to attend this school. Space is at a premium here and everyone wants in. I personally feel that the Delta Program here is primo and enriching. My son enjoys being in a class of his peers instead of being bored and acting out in regular classes. The program and other gifted kids challenge him and keep him engaged. I'm not sure about the rest of the classes but the Delta Program is definitely the best program in and around the neighborhood. It's under the radar and far from pretentious, they are treated like all the other classes with the exception of what they learn within the class. It's the gateway to better and better things my son's educational career. I thank all the Delta Teachers and principal for giving us such a wonderful program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2013

I attend this school right now and I am in fifth grade, I have been in this school since Kindergarten and will be Graduating this month, I have been attending the gifted classes and I think this is an awesome school. Ms.Culkin let's us express our creativity and does her best to meet all of us. The teachers do their best on this school and most of my class, including I, have gotten into McAuliffe, a very great middle school in District 20. I recommend this school to people everywhere, it is a bully-free zone and we don't get too much homework. My older sister, older brother, and little brother have attended this school and they are all doing great. My brother got accepted into Baruch College and my sister got accepted into Brooklyn Tech High School. I've been attending this school my whole life and have made many friends. I will miss this school dearly.


Posted March 16, 2013

My son is in kindergarten . He loves his school so much . His teacher is miss Procovas .she is great and active , and she always helps me to push him at home ,and the principle is awesome and respectful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2012

My son is having some behavioral issues in his kindergarten class. Ms. Culkin and the administration team showed great professionalism in helping my son. I'm very happy that my son is attending this great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2011

My son is in kindergarten, his teacher is Mrs.Brucculeri she is great & they have alot of activities. He learned so much in his first year and he loves the school. I highly recommend this school to you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2011

I have 2 children enrolled at this school. The administration is demanding and disorganizaed. The principal seems to worry more about decorating the school than the education of the students. The poor teachers work very hard, yet they seem very stressed by the demands of the administrators. I've seen many of my children's friends request a transfer to another school because the principal does not allow parents to question her methods. Parents are only invited to be involved if they do everything her way. Any other ideas are quickly dismissed because she has the "right" answer, not us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

My douther is new to the school, and she loves it. The Principal is amazing, she's helpful
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

Ms. Culkin is an energetic, creative leader who offers the families of P.S. 176 many enjoyable and unique experiences to share with our children. The staff is dedicated and loving including the security guards who learned my daughter's name from day one and always have a smile for her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2009

My son is new to the school, and he loves it. The Principal is amazing, she's helpful personable, and friendly.My son is LD, his self esteem has improved as well as his academics, thanks to the great teachers. The entire school has a very possitive friendly feeling. This is such a fresh change from his old school; where you weren't given the time of day!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2009

My son has been attending PS 176 since Kindergarten and is now almost done with the third grade. In my opinion there is no better school for your child than 176. The teachers are incredible and my son has had 4 amazing teachers. They care about their students as if their own. The school hallways are filled with children's school work and the classrooms are cheery and encouraging. Yes, the school is crowded, but all of the teachers, aids, staff and security guards know the kids by name and they really look out for them. Ms. Culkin, the principal of 176 is a wonderful principal. She goes by the book but is sooo involved with everything that goes on with the school as well as the kids. She is at every single event and encourages the kids to do their best. A wpnderful school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2009

We were just transferred to this school and I love everything about the school. Great PTA and website is full of information. Principal Culkin, Asst. Principal Posner, the teacher, even the security guard are all friendly and helpful. My son is reading more and he loves the school and his teacher, Ms. Vento. Ms. Vento is so patient with the children and will take the time to help them. I can only praise this school for the great leadership and teamwork.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2007

My son, who is mildly ADHD, was having difficulty keeping up with the work load at the catholic school he attended. I transfered him to PS176 based on input from parents whose children have similar issues. I am thoroughly impressed by the improvement in his academic performance due to the level of attention the children receive at this school. Pricipal Elizabeth Culkin is a wonderful woman who is sincerely concerned with the welfare of the kids and is very hands-on. I've seen her performing crossing guard duties on a couple of mornings greeting the parents as they arrive. She sets a level of performance that all of her staff rise to. I don't think I could have found a better school for my son to attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2007

My daugher was enrolled at PS176 for Delta K and Delta1st Grades. We had to leave because my younger daughter was accepted into the Delta program, in my zoned school. So we moved my daughter that was currently enrolled in 176 to my second daughter's school so they would be together. While I am pleased with the current school; I miss PS176. Mrs. Mule really gets these children to read and do two digit math in her class -- before January! Mrs. Mule stretched the teaching environment every day. And for Ms. Vento, she is also wonderful. My daughter's writing was brought to another level with her. Ms. Vento's concerned for her 'children' came across every day. Ms. Culkin, the pricipal, was a terrific leader. Always felt comfortable speaking to her. The PTA, was incredible. Very involved with so many wonderful activities for the students. Their Violin Program is awesome.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2007

My son has been attending P.S 176 since he started kindergarten. He is now in the first grade. Mrs. Cartalano is a wonderful teacher, and the principal Mrs. Culking is great. mrs.Culking treats every child like if it was her own, very sweet and caring. Always keeps family activities going. The only negative about this school, is at 2:45 p.m when the kids are coming out of the school. Traffic, Traffic,Traffic!! It is very hard to pick up ur child without blocking traffic! Be ready is you double park, you are causing traffic and be ready for a ticket.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2006

P.S. 176 is the greatest school ever!The teachers are awsome. Especially Mrs. Gencarello. She is nice and she explains what you have to do. She is my FAVORITE teacher EVER!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 25, 2006

This is just a great school. It has a warm and nuturing teaching staff and an awesome administration. There are many family activities such as Family Movie Night and Crazy Hat Day. Most importantly, is the emphasis that placed on learning. The kids really like going to school. It's interesting how the school surveys the students to find their interests.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2006

Good teachers. Nice area. Very active parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2005

This is a great school with a caring staff. There are many activities for students. Students like to come to school. Parent involvement is encouraged and parents volunteer for classroom activities
—Submitted by an administrator


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

230 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
67%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

233 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

227 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
73%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

230 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

210 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

217 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
75%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

220 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "A" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 56% 9%
White 1 26% 48%
Hispanic 2 17% 23%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 0% 1%
Black 2 0% 19%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 219%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 183%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 9%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 49%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 1139 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.5
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.6
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.4
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.2
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.7
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.6
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.4
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.8
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents107495%
Teachers6578%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. ELIZABETH CULKIN

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1225 69th St
Brooklyn, NY 11219
Website: Click here
Phone: (718) 236-7755

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




St Ephrem School
Brooklyn, NY




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT