Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ps 177 The Marlboro

Public | PK-5 | 944 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 31, 2013

The student watch too much movies after lunch and during the time when the teachers are busy with prep. I wish that they can have an after school programs. PTA only focuses on fund raising but not focuses on bringing more educational programs for the children at the school such as chess and music program for children in younger grade. Parents are not always welcome to school and holiday activities. The positive aspects are that school seem safe and clean. Some teachers are very caring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2013

I love my daughter's teacher. This school has no recess every day and the once a week gym class is continuously being cancelled. I am not sure how the philosophy of this school is in alignment with what our mayor speaks when it comes to nutrition and exercise.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2012

School is academically on average. Teachers are hit and miss. While most will try to keep up with a program. Don't expect them to be above and beyond. ( well I guess its OK for public school ) Administration is horrible. Most of the admin stuff is snobby and lazy. I guess it also very common among a city employees. ( Mister D, Mister C...just to name a few ) While defiantly not the worth ( considering we are in NYC standards ). If you have a choice look for better option.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2010

My daughter is a student of first grade. She loves to being in school, she loves her teacher. She is doing a greate job due to this wonderfull school. Thank to all teachers and other staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2010

It's perfect school for my kids...Safe,clean,friendly.Teachers are really professional.So many kids from this school passing tests for Sigma program...and my only concern is why they don't have this classes there .My son is in 4th grade now and he loves go to school,and my daughter is in 1st grade in another school (she passed test in P.S. 177 for Sigma program) ..program is good,but school....I don't like it so much...so.... we planning to bring her back to 177. I wish we have all schools in NYc like P.S. 177....Thanks a lot to all of you...who is working there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2010

I am currently a student teacher at this school and the faculty and students are so wonderful. The teachers and faculty are always working so hard to make the school experience a positive one for the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2009

I want to Thank all teachers for doing a great job. I am very happy that my daughter goes to PS-177. thank you so much!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2009

It is a superb school! My child learned new vocabulary. Her accent started to go away. Great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2009

My daugther just came back from China. When she went to this school, in 1 months, her English totally improved 80%. Now she guaduated!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2008

My daughter is graduating from her pre-K class. We had a wonderful experience with the caring administration and the best teacher a parent can wish for their child. We are moving now to another school to attend a gifted program, but we will always keep this school in our hearts. Thank you Mrs. Pavlounis and thank you P.S. 177 for the great start!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2007

We are completing our first year at 177 in Kindergarten. The school is very focused academically, my son has learned well and the administration has been available. The down side has been social. The school demographic is largely immigrant and little effort is made to bring families and children together. If the administration is reading this- class lists are very important! Little kids can't set up their own play dates.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2006

I am a recent college graduate. In my educational career, this was probably the best school I'd ever attended. The teachers and staff were always available and looking for the best in each and every student.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 8, 2005

Great School, very helpfull staff and credited teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2005

This is a really good school. No uniforms. Great art & music programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2004

I used to go to P.S. 177, and what can I say, it's a real good school. The academics are high, the teachers are great( Mr. Versh is the man) and the school is overall clean and safe. One of the better schools in the area.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 25, 2003

I think that was the only school that I really thought is improving in my knowledge and now I'm in Mark Twain.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

142 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
33%

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
51%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

143 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

149 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
67%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

155 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

124 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
30%

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
66%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

128 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "A" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 2 40% 48%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 31% 9%
Hispanic 2 27% 23%
Black 2 1% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 1%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 235%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 187%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 2%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 82%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 825 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.6
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.8
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.1
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.8
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.0
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.4
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents77092%
Teachers5596%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. SHOSHANA SINGER

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

346 Ave P
Brooklyn, NY 11204
Phone: (718) 375-9506

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT