Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 22 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


25 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ps 185 Walter Kassenbrock 5

Posted May 01, 2014
- a parent
My daughter is finishing her first year at PS 185 and we have been incredibly impressed. The teachers are dedicated and skilled and the school leadership (both principal and PTO) is strong. This school approaches education in a refreshingly traditional manner with a focus on how students think and solve problems rather than technology. I look forward to next year when the upper playground is back!

Ps 185 Walter Kassenbrock 5

Posted August 28, 2013
- a community member
I went to this school from Kindgergarten through 5th as part of the Delta program, I have very nice memories of it, from reading Harry Potter and the Chronicles of Narnia with Miss Amendolia to bowling on the roof garden and a huge graduation party. No complaints whatsoever, it was such a wonderful environment for kids, I'd do it all over again if I could! I love this school.


Ps 185 Walter Kassenbrock 4

Posted May 16, 2013
- a parent
PS 185 is a wonderful school. MY 4 children attend and our oldest is graduating this year. We have been very happy with the administration and the teachers. I do wish the enrichment programs were available to more students. Bring in instruments for 3 - 5th grade, offer Chorus to more students. Get teh younger classes involved as well, let the children try new things and have a talent show, a piano recital, an intstrument recital. Children need to express themselves and have a creative outlet.

Ps 185 Walter Kassenbrock 2

Posted March 20, 2013
- a parent
The student- teacher ratio is high which is not helpful. 24 kids for one teacher is a lot specially in kindergarden. I do not know how the administration is using the money to improve the quality of the school but that student- ratio is not good for offering more individiual attention to the kids. The lunch room is not well supervised neither clean. Besides the school is under construction which inside is a mess and very hard to listen to the class. The construction work it seems to last forever who knows when is going to be finished.

Ps 185 Walter Kassenbrock 2

Posted January 21, 2011
- a parent
the classes are over-crowed and the lunchroom is a mess. the teachers need to stop yelling and behave in a professional manner.


Ps 185 Walter Kassenbrock 5

Posted October 26, 2010
- a parent
My two sons are studrnt of this school,The principle,Class teacher and parent teacher co ordinator are very much helpful,

Ps 185 Walter Kassenbrock 5

Posted April 03, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ps 185 Walter Kassenbrock 1

Posted October 12, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Ps 185 Walter Kassenbrock 5

Posted September 08, 2009
- a parent
Mr. Linas is a gem principal very involved and, absolutely cares about the students.There are a few teachers I think they would be better off without but as long as the principal is an advocate for the kids that is what matters. The school is definitely homey and helpful.

Ps 185 Walter Kassenbrock 1

Posted July 21, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ps 185 Walter Kassenbrock
8601 Ridge Boulevard, Brooklyn, NY  11209
(718) 745-6610
Last modified Ps 185 Walter Kassenbrock is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ps 185 Walter Kassenbrock Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. Top