Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 20 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


22 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ps 195 Manhattan Beach 1

Posted October 12, 2014
- a parent
My child and me had very bad experience with this school. Greedy, angry and rude staff.

Ps 195 Manhattan Beach 2

Posted February 11, 2014
- a parent
There is nothing special at this school. There is nothing extra offered to the children they receive physical education once an week and only because the parents pay for it. There is no art education and a very limited music education. There is no extra help available before or after school and many of the teachers are older and uncompromising. I would not recommend it, there are many other options out there.


Ps 195 Manhattan Beach 1

Posted January 26, 2014
- a community member
During my time at this school,there was very little tolerance and diversity. As a lone African American at this school, the students and teachers were very unaccepting, rude and showed no care for me whatsoever. I remember going to school here and students used to make fun of me for putting my sandwich in foil. The teachers accused me of trying to stab someone with a pencil, even though the other student stole it from me. They moved me from the gifted class, even though my grades were perfectly fine. This school is overrated, the teachers and students are cruel and unorthodox, they show no acceptance for other cultures and diversity. I would not recommend this school for everyone.

Ps 195 Manhattan Beach 5

Posted March 19, 2011
- a parent
When our teacher said in September that every kid in her gifted K class would know how to read by February, I didn t believe her. To my surprise, my daughter is reading level H books now! In spite of challenging budget year, PS-195 is finding ways to offer chess, yoga, music and computer classes to all children even in K! A new afterschool program is now available in the school building. My kid loves her school, her teacher and her class!

Ps 195 Manhattan Beach 3

Posted March 14, 2011
- a parent
Both of my children have attended P.S.195, and the change that I had noticed is not for the better. The amazing teachers that made this school what it was, are leaving, and the ones taking their place, definitely do not measure up. My older child is in honors in all classes, while my other child's level of education, in an eagle class, does not compare. Don't get me wrong, it is still a good school, but the teachers are what makes the biggest difference!


Ps 195 Manhattan Beach 5

Posted April 15, 2010
- a parent
a small caring environment with dedicated leadership and teachers

Ps 195 Manhattan Beach 5

Posted March 12, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ps 195 Manhattan Beach 0
no rating

Posted February 15, 2010
- a parent
My son is attending PS 195 Kindergarten. Was there in Pre-K as well. We are lucky with the teacher this year, but the school has some issues with informing parentrs about the tests the kids are going to take, etc. Overall the school is great, I do not see any other choice living nearby.


Ps 195 Manhattan Beach 1

Posted November 06, 2009
- a parent
I was very disappointed with preK program

Ps 195 Manhattan Beach 0
no rating

Posted October 08, 2009
- a parent
Excellent learning environment with teachers who are gifted at teaching

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ps 195 Manhattan Beach
131 Irwin St, Brooklyn, NY  11235
(718) 648-9102
Last modified Ps 195 Manhattan Beach is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ps 195 Manhattan Beach Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top