Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ps 196 Ten Eyck

Public | PK-5 | 393 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 16, 2014

I advocated that The Upper Ten Eyck School (P.S. 196 of Brooklyn New York) is the type of school led by the type of Principal (Ms. J. Colon) that our forefathers had in mind for American children; lower, middle or upper class. Furthermore, I believe, many if not all, of the present generation of students whom attend P.S. 196 will carry on into adulthood exemplifying a unique type of urban professionalism that is fortified with a noble respect for scholarly excellence and diversity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2010

My daughter loves this school.. The entire staff is great. They care about their students..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2010

The Teachers a very professional,and very nice attitude
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

It has a very healthy, pleasant atmosphere, and the principal is a beautiful person.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 11, 2010

I like PS.196 Because everythings clean and I love the principal and the teachers are very caring!so I love this school I recommend it. My daughter goes to this school and she love it!!They give you any thing whats gonnna happen that specific month.Well I love this school and my daughter!!!!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2010

I like the fact that every month my child brings home the monthly school schedule that let me know whats going to happen and i know what to expect within the month, And that her teacher is always available when i come get her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2010

This is an excellent educational institution. They are always finding new and exciting educational acitivities for all their students. My kids love P.S. 196
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2010

The whole staff is great: administration, teachers, paras, aides, custodial, cafeteria. Everyone works together to make this school the great place that it is. The students here are above and beyond because the staff goes above and beyond.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 5, 2010

I like P.S.196 because their is alot of fun activites like after school clubs and a schoolstore. Also the teachers are great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

Used to work there... staff is nice and hard-working, the students always do their best.


Posted May 4, 2010

P.s 196 is a very caring and nurtoring environment. Everybody is treated with respect. This is the best place that you can send your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

it cares for its students and staff...ps196 goes above and beyond....ps196 rocks
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

This is a great school with caring teachers and staff. The children are great as well! P.S. 196 tries to go 'above and beyond' in order to help children receive the best education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

I love this school because all the staff and principal are always there to help the children and the parents. Parents are welcome all of the time. The children are encourage to go above and beyond like their school logo. The children are always stimulated academically. The school gives the children time to learn and play with music programs as well as after school and during school club activities. The school is the best in our community thanks to the great teachers we have and the outstanding principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

P.S. 196 is a wonderful school that caters to children's needs. Not only does it provide a safe environment for children, but it also provides them with many activities and opportunities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

I love my son's school. The staff at his school is the best. They make both my son and myself welcomed there anytime. My son is a special education student and the have the program that suits his needs. I was afraid that when he phased out the Pre-school special education and into the regular special education that I was going to have to change his school cause I don't live in the same district as the school and needed to get special permission for my son to attend the school from the principal. When I spoke to her and told her that I would like to keep him in the school and explained why, her words made me feel so loved. She told me that she loved my son cause every time he would see her, he would give her a big hug and kiss and she would miss him if he left.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

The school community is wonderful-welcoming, caring, motivated and committed to help the students. Principal is warm and sincere. There isn't a better group of kids in Brooklyn!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2010

I like the cause the teachers really work with the children and there are alot of activities for the children to do
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

Great school i've recently moved and every morning i commute to this school it is worth it. the staff is great very friendly and the teachers are very supportive..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

Teachers and Adminstration work hard for the education of our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

40 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
33%

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
62%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

41 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

55 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
23%

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
50%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

56 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
24%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
74%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

58 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
23%

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
57%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

59 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "A" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 1 81% 23%
Black 1 17% 19%
White 2 2% 48%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 0% 9%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 12%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 90%N/A43%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 8%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 32%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 250 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.8
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.8
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.7
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.9
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.9
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.9
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.7
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.9
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.9
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.9
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.9
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents21674%
Teachers3494%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MRS. JANINE COLON

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

207 Bushwick Ave
Brooklyn, NY 11206
Phone: (718) 497-0139

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Ps 147 Issac Remsen
Brooklyn, NY





Ps 18 Edward Bush
Brooklyn, NY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT