Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ps 197 The Kings Highway Academy

Public | PK-5 & ungraded | 556 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 24, 2014

My daughter attends ps 197. The teaching staff is not helpful. The principal is anti parent suggestion. There are rules set for one group of children and rules set for another group and it's unfair. The teachers do not help the students who are gifted to maintain their grades and they fall behind without consulting with parents. The first day of school parents are not welcomed into the school. It's anti-parent environment and poor leadership is felt from the beginning of the term until the end
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2014

Me and both my kids like this school.The principal and most of the teachers are very good. I can't complain. When I had any question I could go to parent coordinator. She is very friendly and helpful. Although there is a junior high school in the same building they never interact (they don't share the same floors, lunchrooms and go to the field at different time), so don't worry about it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2013

This school is getting worse. Some teachers are better than others, but the educational and academic levels are awful. Including scores for the recent common core test scores. The environment is a jungle! There is a junior night school in the building, where kids are running wild and crazy. Everyday when I pick up my daughter from school, all I see is bunch of crazy junior high kids cursing and yellin. It's an awful. Stay away. I can't wait for my daughter to finish the grade and get out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2011

Hi! My daughter is currently a 5th grader in the gifted and talented program at PS 197, and I must say that we have truly enjoyed her time there. The teachers are wonderful, the staff is friendly, and the curriculum is challenging. The school is wonderfully diverse, and make every effort to accommodate those that speak english as a second language. I would recommend this school to anyone looking to have their child's educational career begin in a place where the student is the priority.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2011

The school was fine 5 years ago, the classes became very poor and very weak, kids will need a lot of help in order to be competive with other schools. The principal pretend to be helpful but she is not, when you ask for some specific request, forget about it, there will be always a NOT even when you didn't finish asking for your request. It is very sad and disappointed, because the school is located in a very nice neighborhood, so the school should be in high standards and unfortunately there is not other choice around and with this terrible recession no way to afford a private school which is very sad because our kids deserve better education
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2009

Very good school.I am so happy that my son stady in this school.Thank you for every body.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2009

I graduated from P.S 197 it was great i had lots of fun. there were nice teachers and nice students . Its the best school
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 29, 2008

I love this school its the best thing next to white bread. My both boys are very happy here. They treat my children with love, respect and would do anything for them through out the day. Mrs. Nicoletti Principal and Ms Williams A.P. are the most caring individuals for there children. The staff the teachers and security in the school are positive roll models in everyway. When my children are at school I have no worries I know they are being treated well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2008

Exallent. My daugher goes to this school and is doing very well
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2008

I have 2 kids in this school. I overaly happy with school staff, teachers, principal and parent coordinator- everybody are very helpfull . My son's pre-K teacher is just great- recomend to everyone- Mrs Slavutskaya and her assistant Mrs Lazaro- both very caring and realy love their pupils. On the other hand, my daughter's teacher is unprofessional both academicaly and as a caregiver.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2008

This year I am graduating P.S 197. All I have to say is that I loved all my teachers and P.S 197 is excellent! I had a wonderful time at P.S 197 it was a pleasure to be their, my favorite teachers are.. Mrs. Richford, Mrs. Guercio, Mrs. Slavutskaya Mrs. Mcfeeley, Mrs. DeChirico, Mrs. Aldenger, Mrs.St.Jean, Mrs. mauro Mrs. Nicoletleti, Mrs Williams, Mrs. Wolf, Mrs. Close, Mrs. Little, Mrs. Weiser,
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 8, 2005

Now that a very difficult principal retired, the atmosphere at this once coveted, yet still decent school is calmer and more relaxed. The teachers for the most part are a devoted lot, but many kudos should go to the school based support team, which consists of counselors and therapists of the highest caliber.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2005

This school is excellent in terms of its emphasis on reading. It also puts an emphasis on attendance as a part of overall education experience which is essential to the child advancement and knowledge. The school has an extensive amount of workshops which are available for children of all grades. Parent involvement is always encouraged.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2004

Amazing teachers for Pre-K and K classes. Very disappointed, otherwise.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2004

The children are wonderful, but some of the staff leave something to be desired. They may be good to the students, but I feel they don't treat each other in a professional manner and that is not good for morale. Certain staff members treat substitute teachers like dirt and that needn't be.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

75 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
37%

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
52%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

80 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
56%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

85 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
62%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

89 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
79%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

79 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
64%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

86 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "A" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 1 47% 48%
Black 1 22% 19%
Hispanic 1 22% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 9% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 1%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 216%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 178%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 0%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 70%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 348 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.8
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.1
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
9.0
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.6
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.3
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.8
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.3
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
9.0
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.7
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.3
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents30872%
Teachers4091%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. ROSEMARIE BARBIERE NICOLETTI

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1599 E 22nd St
Brooklyn, NY 11210
Website: Click here
Phone: (718) 377-7890

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Nefesh Academy
Brooklyn, NY




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT