Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ps 200 Benson School

Public | PK-5 & ungraded | 1345 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

49 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 12, 2014

Run run from this School:( If your child has an IEP then you have a problem because there is bullying at this school if you complain and you have IEP they will tell you your son or daughter need to a Psychologist or behavior therapy and meantime the other children are free of any doing had to get my child out of this School he is so happy in another School. He was investigated twice on kinder and first grade :( even got so depressed when he was at P.S 200 but he is happy now in another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2014

PS 200 IS ONE OF THE BEST SCHOOLS IN THE CITY. MY CHILD HAS DEVELOPED A BEAUTIFUL SINCE OF UNITY BETWEEN MULTIPLE NATIONALITIES AND CULTURES. IM IN LOVE WITH PS 200!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2014

There is racism. The music teacher, Victoria Ulinof, or whatever, only allows RUSSIANS to preform. She told my friend to be more Russian, its a cruel and filthy place.


Posted March 11, 2014

This school is the worst. I can't wait for my daughter to graduate and I no longer have to deal with this school. I don't even understand how this principal still has his job. The administration is rude to parents, the secretaries in the main office will ignore you for the longest time and you never feel like anyone cares about the kids. There are of course some good teachers, but every year you take the chance of ending up with a teacher that is mediocre. This school has gotten worse every year since my daughter started here. The students in the dual language program are the only ones in the school that are treated nicely. So, if you're not Russian , look for a different school, your kid will just fall through the cracks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2014

This school is mediocore if your child does not get into the Dual program or G&T. My son scored 99 percentile on G&T and didn't get in because of limited spacing this year. Was VERY disappointed. He also speaks in Russian and was in the dual program class for the first two weeks of school until they have their lottery drawing and randomly select 24 kids and that was it. So my 5 year old after getting to know his teacher and classmates was removed and switched to a mainstream class. He still talks about wanting to go back to his other class several months into the school year. It is not a good system.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2013

Overrated school. Caters to the children who need help and leaves the other children behind. The principal and assistant yes you but never follow through with any problems of your concern. My child had great teachers so that was a plus. My other issue is that they did not offer the Gifted and Talented program to American born children, So if your child was born in this countr;y and cant speak a foreign language he/she is forced to leave and attend elsewhere. They also need to get rid of the roaches that crawl around,.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2013

This is a good school. my son got into G&T when he was 3rd grader, he is going to JHS now. The teachers are teaching exactly what courses require, the out of course activities like brand attracted my son a lot, he also got some grade level certificate, the PTA is really helpful from the beginning to my son graduation, especially helping us to select JHS, Thank you very much! As a parent, I still have some confusion, since the good JHS in District 20 and 21 require some special entrance exam, why the teacher didn't provide relevant training for the students, whose parents have to rely on some outside school learning center. even though I am glad to hear that a lot of students from this school move up the good JHS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2012

Music teacher, she is great. I like principal , I like this school, only 1 negative moment about school is, lot more parents want their kids to be in this school, than this school can handle. There some great and determined teachers, like music teacher, some teachers not so great, but overall I like this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2011

I love my old school, I am in college now finishing up my bachelors, and have been working at a midtown lawfirm for 5 years earning 20$/hr since age 17, the only reason I mention that is because I dint even finish 10th grade, I got my GED, All my knowledge is from PS 200 & Cavallaro so it lasted me all the way to college, where I am a mostly straight A student with a few B's, A new mom, and I would love for my daughter to attend this school. My Fav Teachers were Mrs. Gershkorin, Mrs. Regen & Mr. Vallaro (Sorry I KNOW I MISSPELLED those I don't remember how to spell them)


Posted July 17, 2011

My older kids just finished 5th grade in Globe program. My younger daughter is in the 1st grade of Globe. I am very pleased with level of education they are getting. My older kids got 4th on ELA and Math tests and got accepted to Christa McAuliffe (the best) middle school in NY. my younger loves the shool so much, she doesn't want to miss a day off it. I recommend this shool's Globe program highly. Teachers are amazing, Ms. Spielman (K), Ms. Golinsky (1), Ms. Kogan (2), Ms. Gugnishev (3), truly became our family friends and partners in my kids education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2010

My son is in Globe program. It's one of a kind. Love his teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

I love this School because I see excellent results in my granddaugher's education!


Posted October 13, 2010

I love P.S. 200 Benson because of its great teachers.


Posted October 13, 2010

P.S. 200 is gem of a School because of its dual language (English/Russian) program.


Posted November 5, 2009

I just love P. S. 200. My sono is in third grade, been there since Pre-k, I can't wait for next year for my daughter to go there too
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2009

my daughter is in first grade (it's her first year at the school) and she seems to be happy and is definitely learning a great deal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

I dont like this school my daugther doesnt like it too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2009

My son is in the fifth grade. He has attended P.S. 200 since Pre-K. The administration and teachers are caring, consummate professionals. Mr. Muniz, the new principal, has brought welcome change to this school with the help of his assistant principals, Mr. Vallaro and Mrs. Battista. They have focused attention on giving all students equal access to enrichment and arts. They have developed plans to identify and coach students who are in need of academic intervention. They have improved communication with parents through a telephone messaging system, email system and a school website. Promethean boards are being used in our classrooms. This school has a welcoming, inviting, and safe atmosphere. Special recognition should be given to our security guard, Martha Velez, and our parent coordinator, Lucy LaMothe. The PTA has created committees to increase participation and parental involvement. You will see parents of different cultural backgrounds engaging with each other and participating in school events for the benefit of our children. Despite the cultural diffences, our children play together, learn together and grow together. I have seen my son achieve consistent academic and social growth under the guidance of his teachers and the administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2009

It is a wonderful school, with great caring teachers. My son looks forward to school each and every day. They keep the kids engaged and the parents involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2009

This school is the best Best teacher and a great principal
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

210 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
50%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

218 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

193 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
64%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

201 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

196 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

182 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
67%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

182 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "B" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 2 47% 48%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 32% 9%
Hispanic 1 19% 23%
Black 2 2% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 1%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 218%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 275%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 1%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 65%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 844 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.8
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.2
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.4
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
7.2
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
6.4
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.3
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.7
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
6.8
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
7.5
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.7
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.2
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents76973%
Teachers7599%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. JAVIER MUNIZ

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1940 Benson Ave
Brooklyn, NY 11214
Website: Click here
Phone: (718) 236-5466

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Ps 128 Bensonhurst
Brooklyn, NY



Ps 163 Bath Beach
Brooklyn, NY


Yeshivah Ohel Moshe
Brooklyn, NY




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT