Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
51 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 73 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ps 200 Benson School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted January 25, 2016
- a parent
Only one Teacher..MRS. WOS, she is in my opinion what a teacher is suppose to be.

Ps 200 Benson School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted January 25, 2016
- a parent
My daughter is only in first grade. It's sad when your child comes home and asks why she still being giving kindergarten work in first grade. I have had to supplement all her learning with extra books and on line learning because this school only focuses on testing. They don't enrich these kids at all.


Ps 200 Benson School
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted January 25, 2016
- a parent
NO....NO... You want to see determination. Find the parents who have transferred their kids out of the school. Thats determination.

Ps 200 Benson School
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted January 25, 2016
- a parent
You get respect when you give it. Not every teacher or office staff show respect to the students.

Ps 200 Benson School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted January 25, 2016
- a parent
I've seen first hand how some of these kids are and they are savages. It starts at home. If you raise your child like an animal they are going to act like animals no matter where they are. I can't fault the school on this.


Ps 200 Benson School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted January 25, 2016
- a parent
I think some of the teachers try to instill positive behavior in their students. However, you have a number of school staffing that in my honest opinion are only there for the pay check.

Ps 200 Benson School 1

Posted January 25, 2016
- a parent
This school doesn't offer half of what it says it does. My daughter unfortunately has been in this school now a 2yrs. She is so unhappy. Every so called program they offer seems to only be offered to certain types of people. This will be her last year in this horrible school. The school is filthy, roaches have been seen, mice and most recently again bed bugs. The schools policy on taking care of these issues is if no one complains enough nothing has to be done. Theres more bullying going on then they say as well and the principle seems to be good at turning a bling eye. DON"T SEND YOUR KIDS HERE

Ps 200 Benson School 1

Posted September 12, 2014
- a parent
Run run from this School:( If your child has an IEP then you have a problem because there is bullying at this school if you complain and you have IEP they will tell you your son or daughter need to a Psychologist or behavior therapy and meantime the other children are free of any doing had to get my child out of this School he is so happy in another School. He was investigated twice on kinder and first grade :( even got so depressed when he was at P.S 200 but he is happy now in another school.


Ps 200 Benson School 5

Posted June 03, 2014
- a parent
PS 200 IS ONE OF THE BEST SCHOOLS IN THE CITY. MY CHILD HAS DEVELOPED A BEAUTIFUL SINCE OF UNITY BETWEEN MULTIPLE NATIONALITIES AND CULTURES. IM IN LOVE WITH PS 200!

Ps 200 Benson School 1

Posted June 02, 2014
- a community member
There is racism. The music teacher, Victoria Ulinof, or whatever, only allows RUSSIANS to preform. She told my friend to be more Russian, its a cruel and filthy place.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ps 200 Benson School
1940 Benson Avenue, Brooklyn, NY  11214
(718) 236-5466
Last modified Ps 200 Benson School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ps 200 Benson School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 73 reviews. Top