Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ps 204 Vince Lombardi

Public | PK-5 | 1123 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted yesterday

The teachers passes out alot of problems for kids to practice every night. But the upper grade students check the work. It is good for those kids who have private after school program outside the school. What happen to the kids who can't afford those private after school program. These kids will loose out on what they suppose to learn if the teacher don't go over the problems they gave out for homework. Most of the time the kids said the teachers only go over one or two problems. I think there are too many kids in one class in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2014

This school has below average teachers. They are unorganized, and do not communicate well with parents. Nice and caring teachers are hard to find and when they are found are only in the lowers grades K-2. The teachers for the higher grades are awful. Avoid this school. The principal is the worst of the bunch. No leadership quality at all. They go on a name and repuatation of a school that USED to be good. They are failing miserably now, and hide it all to well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2014

The teachers are wonderful and dedicated. the lunch aides are rude, the parent coordinator and pta and school leadership team do what, other than ask for money. Pta does not respond to calls/letters regarding volunteers from other parents who want to help. They have their own circle.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2013

This school is not what it used to be. It is overrated and overcrowded. Teachers have way too many children in their class which makes it impossible to teach effectively. PTA, Parent Coordinator, Principle are a joke. The Lunch Aides do not properly supervise the children at lunch time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2013

the schools floats on its neighborhood and old ratings not what it used to be
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2013

My daughter is new in this school. In the first day she was very nervous and cried. But when I went to pick her up she was very happy and she told me she likes the school and her friends. We lover her teacher Mrs. Ferrara, she is a great teacher and she will let you know if your kid is not doing her/his homework correctly. Mrs. Ferrara shows that she cares about my daughter's education. We are very satisfied with the school overall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2011

To answer the question posted by a parent dated June 4, 2010, just look at the most recent New York state test score, it is almost 10 percentage lower than PS 229. and PS 247. I hope the school management team could wake up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2010

Does anyone know why this school has received an overall rating of 7 versus PS229 Dyker School who has a better score of 9? What is the difference between these 2 schools? I am confused and I am not sure whether this school is really good. My child has been offered a Gifted & Talented placement at P.S. 204 and I was hopeful for an offer at PS229, but it didn't materialize, and I am looking for parent's insight and recommendation. Take the offer or have my child take the exam next year? Appreciate any feeback.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2010

They have very good teachers and the school is run really well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2010

My daughter has excelled in this school and i'm proud to have sent her there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2010

My daughter was a very shy child until she attended 204, and she has excelled in life and acedemics
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2009

this is an awesum skool 5th grade was awesum i lvoed my teachers mrs.anagotti and mrs.nowrocki their my bestest teachers goin to dyker...class 616 yay ~Kelly
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 19, 2008

The school is the greatest ! I think the teaching staff is above and beyond!Especially the wonderful fifth grade teachers!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 30, 2008

I thought I was the only one who was not satisfied. My son is a regular kid with regular needs and the teachers get angry when they have to spend any amount of time working out a problem with him. They had the nerve to tell me that they were shocked he did so well on the state tests. It seems they wanted him to fail. I'm moving him to a smaller school 10 blocks down where the teachers teach and actually care about their students. (PS 112). Angela
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2008

Don't believe the hype. The school is ok. It is not the best. It is very overcrowded and regular students get lost in the shuffle. Parents need to get more involved, not just the same bunch. Marie
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2008

I agree with the last post. My kids are average kids. But the way the teachers treat them, you would think that they were garbage. They only care about the test scores and publicity. I am moving my kids to another school September just to get away from this 'perfect' school. I'm not the only one. Danielle
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2008

P.S. 204 is great! My daughter started Kindergarten there in September and is already reading D-E level books! I am confident that she will continue to excel in first grade and beyond.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2007

My daughter is in the 4th grade. I have to say all her teachers since pre-k have been really great. There names are Mrs.Parotta, Mrs.Hoffner, Ms.Giuffre and Mr. Fazio. Mr.Fazio is a 3rd grade teacher and he is wonderful. The kids love him and he really helped my daughter with her confidence. She struggled with math and thanks to him she has improved greatly! I give him an A+. This year Ms.Paliti has so far been awesome! My daughter loves her and enjoys going to school everyday. I want to thank all her teachers for helping in molding a great child. You really mean a lot to us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2007

My son just started and I am impressed with the school in so many ways!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2007

I was a student in this school and I loved my 7 hears here. I never wanted to leave. This school is a fun and great place to be and the teachers are excellent sure some are a little strict but we learn so much from them! So I highly recommend for kids who are transferring schools or are just starting there first year to come to this school, and I garante they're going to have a blast and a learning learning adventure!
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

170 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
71%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

173 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

173 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
73%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

177 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

169 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

168 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
68%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

177 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "A" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 41% 9%
White 2 41% 48%
Hispanic 2 16% 23%
Black 1 1% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 1%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 18%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 259%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 6%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 80%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 716 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.9
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.6
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.2
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.6
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.8
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.3
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.7
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.6
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.2
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.9
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents64568%
Teachers7199%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. NANCY TOMASUOLO

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8101 15th Ave
Brooklyn, NY 11228
Website: Click here
Phone: (718) 236-2906

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Ps 229 Dyker
Brooklyn, NY




Ps 163 Bath Beach
Brooklyn, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT