Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
45 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 53 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ps 204 Vince Lombardi 2

Posted October 11, 2015
- a parent
Your child is just a number at this school, unless you are on the PTA. Teachers are unwilling to be flexible in helping your child. it's either your child learns my way, or they are not smart enough. People will rave about this school, but its only the ones that live in the area, that have attended the school themselves in years past. if you can avoid this school, do so. The teachers do not care here. It's all about how much $$ you can raise for them. Security is also pathetic. Pre-K students on on ground level near the entrance. Not safe. The school aids do a poor job of keeping the children from getting hurt, but they're great at yelling at them. All they have ever done for my kids, is bring down their confidence and moral. It breaks my heart. Especially since we moved here from another school(wish we didn't have to). Best case scenario. It's an average school at best, nothing special at all.

Ps 204 Vince Lombardi
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted October 11, 2015
- a parent
The teachers are more like messenger robots. So impersonal, and gives you the feel that your child is just a number. Sometimes they have to check their book because they can't even remember your childs name.


Ps 204 Vince Lombardi
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted October 11, 2015
- a parent
I have seen no examples of this. All the respect the children learn or don't learn is from home.

Ps 204 Vince Lombardi
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted October 11, 2015
- a parent
It doesn't. They don't care about their students. The teachers treat them like a number. The staff looks and acts insincere, and uncaring.

Ps 204 Vince Lombardi
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted October 11, 2015
- a parent
They do not develop these things in the children. They are close minded teachers here, that are unwilling to see that each student is their own person, and might need a little added personal touch to get through to them. These teachers are uncaring robots just there for a paycheck. They also look away from bullying. Many times my child has informed their teacher of being bullied only for the teacher to advise them to work it out themselves!


Ps 204 Vince Lombardi 1

Posted April 17, 2015
- a parent
Unfortunately, every year the school satisfaction seems to be getting lower and lower. Speaking with fellow parents the complaints seem to be the same. The main problem is in the direction of the overcrowded situation. This school is extremely overcrowded which affects the quality of education. In addition, the parental involvement is lacking.

Ps 204 Vince Lombardi 2

Posted March 20, 2015
- a parent
My child just began in this school in September and I agree with the statements from previous 2 parents. Classroom is too large and the current teacher my child has appears inexperience in teaching the common core curriculum. She appeared to show more attention to the outgoing academically advanced kids in the class during open school week and evaluation appeared to be on overall class based on the performance of the brighter kids in the class rather than the curriculum standard. This teacher even admits the brighter kids came into her class "bright". Perhaps it's due to the large classroom size which decreases opportunities for individualize attention but I feel for the kids who are more quiet and possibly left behind...In this instance, it appears, some parents may need to be mindful and consider placing all their kids in academic after school programs to catch up especially when some of the teacher's teaching methods may be questionable.

Ps 204 Vince Lombardi 3

Posted August 26, 2014
- a parent
The teachers passes out alot of problems for kids to practice every night. But the upper grade students check the work. It is good for those kids who have private after school program outside the school. What happen to the kids who can't afford those private after school program. These kids will loose out on what they suppose to learn if the teacher don't go over the problems they gave out for homework. Most of the time the kids said the teachers only go over one or two problems. I think there are too many kids in one class in this school.


Ps 204 Vince Lombardi 1

Posted April 09, 2014
- a community member
I used to be student here i never thought that there would be so much negative comments. There used to be teachers and principals that weren't overrated.

Ps 204 Vince Lombardi 3

Posted February 06, 2014
- a parent
The teachers are wonderful and dedicated. the lunch aides are rude, the parent coordinator and pta and school leadership team do what, other than ask for money. Pta does not respond to calls/letters regarding volunteers from other parents who want to help. They have their own circle.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ps 204 Vince Lombardi
8101 15th Avenue, Brooklyn, NY  11228
(718) 236-2906
Last modified Ps 204 Vince Lombardi is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ps 204 Vince Lombardi Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 53 reviews. Top