Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

P.S. 206 Joseph F Lamb

Public | PK-8 | 1302 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 20, 2014

My son goes to this school and has attended since kindergarten he's in the 5th grade now. I was impressed at first but now that he's in the 5th grade, there's much to be desired from the head principal to the teachers in the higher grades. The rating that's listed is hard to belive because many children are failing and parents complain about the teachers instructions daily. Just go to the school yard you'll hear the complaints. You will also see the lack of respect from the head principal for the parents and students. Someone needs to investigate because their is more that goes on but if I write it on here the school personnel will erase the Comment. Just go and see for yourself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 31, 2013

This school is the best and I can assure you that this school is very organized, safe, and fun place and environment to learn. I am a 7th grader now and the teachers are really kind and help you when needed. The cafeteria has more lunch teachers now and the lunches are delicious. They even have mashed potatoes with gravy and turkey on cold days! This school is truly amazing and has taught me a lot. When I was in 1st grade, I first came here and was an ESL student and still learning English. After a year later, I've made dozens of new friends and changed from being a scared ESL student to a very satisfied student. I don't even want to leave! This school is really awesome and amazing. I'm sure that your kids would love it too.


Posted October 16, 2013

I have two children in this school and we are really hapy with it. Very strong academics, nice teachers, good kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2013

Great school, excellent teachers. With one small exception: 8th Grade Science teacher. God save your kid from her! She never checks homework assignments and never contacts parents about the students' problems. So, 8th Grade Science teacher - minus one star.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2013

P.S. 206 is a strong neighborhood school that provides great traditional education. Reading and writing is a big part of the school's program. My child also loves science, social studies, and art. The Principal is great because she works hard to increase the school's funding by applying for different private grants. The kids also benefit from regular school trips to plays, science venues, and museums throughout the year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2012

some defining characteristic from my years was carletto's predecessor, Dr. Armada, someone who spoke 9 languages,who you would often see several times a day, running and disciplining the school, keeping teachers and students on their toes who liked and respected him. There was also Mrs. Stellahunt the music and chorus teacher, you didn't have to be in the music program or the chorus to find your class rehearsing for the very frequent assemblies, usually organized and prepared by the very active PTA, everyone performed one time or another. The library, gyms, and computer labs were very adequate. Shelves of books, giant notepads, carpets,and teachers were plentiful in every classroom. The atmosphere and texture inspired a rewarding work ethic.


Posted July 10, 2012

i think p.s 206 joseph f. lamb school is every excellent school i see.all the students are happy. and teachers, principal they are working every professional. strong princial / school leadership.from pre-k to pk-8 and specail edu.class.my son this fall he stared to kindergarden. i wish him the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2012

I would expect some respect in an elementary school from the staff. I came to register my child and the office staff was very rude and unprofessional, I was very disappointed of her behavior, whispering behind my back, if I am even in the zone to treat me. If "in the zone" and if not, the way the staff should treat, welcome parents is the way we would want our kids to become. And if this is their way . I would not want my child to learn from such role modules!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2012

My daughter has been attending 206 since kindergarten and has been doing extremly well. Being in the eagle and now the CIG in the 7th grade. There are times when I hear stories from my daughter that I wish some teachers would see whats going on with some kids to stop inappropriate behaviors. But overall I have very few complaints. If a child has good supervision at home and takes their work seriously and has good friends they will do well. I believe it's in the parents hands to keep a close eye on their child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2012

My son has been attending this school since Kindergarten. I have to say that I am extremely satisfied with the sorroundings, talent, educational curriculum and discipline of this school. The teachers and staff are extremly coorperative and wonderful to work with. I must say that it is an absolute pleasure to have my child attend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2011

I am going to agree with the statement above that the education is not everything in growing kids. My opinion about this school was radically changed when my child started attending this school. It was very clear that everybody and all decisions were made just by one person, the rest (teachers other stuff) have never had their own opinion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2011

Letting my Son attending this school # 206 were the worst days of his life and my life as his mother. This summer this school did not want to take my child, they said: There is no space for your child in our school The administration of this school were very rude and uncaring When I said that I am going to solve this problem with the department of education they accepted my child and they were just saying that everything is ok. And at the same time, for no reason, they were gathering provocative information on my son. At the same time I received the call from social workers that this school is complaining on me. Latter on they called the police on me that came at 12:00 pm and scared my child. It seems that to call the police and social workers on parents is easier for this school than to pay for professionals services Administration of this school does not think how to help the child, they just think about the status of their school. It would be very nice if they thought differently. Why does this school have to spend any money for the kids well being!? Then parents are going to be left with one thing to leave the school. And this school is going to keep their status.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2011

I am a graduate of PS 206, class of Feb '48. I would like to speak/meet one of the administrators.


Posted October 20, 2010

I love our school because in this school you get the feeling that everyone cares about your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2010

Great school for both academics and safety
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

My son is in the 8th grade and will graduate next month. As I write this, he is on an overnight senior trip to Washington and I'm sure he is having a wonderful time. I would never have consented to an overnight trip if he was not in this school. I trust the Teachers and Principal and Asst. Principal (Ms Ciprano) for their caring and concern of the students. I wish the school would go through the the 12th grade. Hope in his next school he will find the same caring qualities. Thank you for making the last few years so memorable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2009

This school is amazing I love it and my son loves it too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2009

well, im an 8th grader in this school. were going to graduate this year as class of 2009! i was in this school since kindergarten and its just so sad that im about to leave this school. its by far the best school in the world & this school will go very far! the teachers are all the coolest teachers youll ever meet ! [: the best ones are : mr.dubose, mr.polito, mrs.denicola, mrs. safronsky, ms.capa, mrs.hiller, mrs.rogers, and soo muchhh more ! i love this school more than words could ever explain & truth is, i don't want to move . <3
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 24, 2008

im an 8th grader dat attend this school...this school is rlly small the teacher know you by your name... theres one thing about this school that most people dont like and that is theres no programs offered.. other wise this school is really nice
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 9, 2008

My children have been attending this school since pre-k. The teachers have always been helpful and friendly. They made my children comfortable in school. The only downfall would be they do not have after school activities for children.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

161 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
74%
Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

167 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2013.

165 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
71%
Math

The state average for Math was 36% in 2013.

171 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 88% in 2011.

177 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2013.

140 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
72%
Math

The state average for Math was 30% in 2013.

150 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
56%
Math

The state average for Math was 31% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
60%
Math

The state average for Math was 28% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 34% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
63%
Math

The state average for Math was 27% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2011.

106 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "A" for the elementary and middle school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian 48% 9%
White 39% 48%
Hispanic 8% 23%
Black 4% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 16%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 68%N/A43%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 4%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 47%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 967 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.4
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
6.9
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.2
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
7.6
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Students

This school

 
7.5
 

City average

 
7.8
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.1
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.4
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.7
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Students

This school

 
6.9
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.5
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.0
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Students

This school

 
8.2
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents55349%
Students34599%
Teachers6983%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. DEIRDRE KEYES

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2200 Gravesend Neck Rd
Brooklyn, NY 11229
Website: Click here
Phone: (718) 743-5598

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Nefesh Academy
Brooklyn, NY


Lev Bais Yaakov
Brooklyn, NY



Yeshivat Or Hatorah
Brooklyn, NY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT