Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ps 209 Margaret Mead

Public | PK-8 & ungraded | 727 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 30, 2014

Ps209 is great school . I have 4 kids in school . I am very happy . My kids are very happy .all my kids are doing wonderful I have no complanies. Teachers are very dedicated.kids are encourage to do their best.i always get a feedback from teachers.teachers are very helpful. Love that school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2013

This school has many intelligent teaches. We have two children in this school and everyone seems to be helpful to get any problem solved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2013

My years at this school are almost finishing, and so I am so happy that they are finishing because i just want to leave! Since, i was little no teacher ever picked me for a question .or cared about me. There was only 2 teachers ( I will not use the full name) Mrs. S and Mrs.L! Also, every 8th grade student that went to this school, has gone into not good hghschools or only goldstein and few gone into Brookyln tech. The teachers really dont care ! The 8th seems like they can do whatever they want and no teacher stops them, some use their phones, but no teacher really says anything! Well, this school compared to other middle schools have got C's and B's as rating. If you look at Bay Academy it has gotten perfect A's. My middle school was a disaster because in the main office some teacher had mixed my file up on purpose so i can stay in this school.


Posted June 22, 2012

real bad teachers, they don't know how to teach kids. Teachers are not capable to teach kids properly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2010

Worse school whenever .7th grade student did it addition like on the first grade (6+4, -3+(6)) on the math classes.I need to pay tutor to my son can to know math, English and other.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2010

Teachers are great. Communication from teachers is fine. Staff is Ok . School is relatively safe with minor exceptions during the lunch period when kids are not watched by class teachers. Curriculum is not challenging enough for good students and there not enough help for the students who need extra help. Principal has own agenda and not interested in parents concerns or in kids . Staff afraid of principal. Full last school year schoolyard and auditorium were under construction and not available for kids to use it. Hopefully construction is over. PTA is trying hard to involve parents but not very successful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2010

school is wonderful and students are great. the special education program is run to perfection. i love all the teachers in the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2010

As a pre-K teacher at P.S. 209, I'd like to respond to the post of 3/10. In addition to having a website set up for the parents, every parent has my e-mail address. I send home a monthly calendar detailing what we are working on. I welcome communication! I'm sorry if you feel that P.S. 209 Pre-K was just day care. I assure you that we follow an age-appropriate early childhood curriculum. And , yes, at this age, much of children's learning does come from play and exploration. I would be happy to provide you with research and documentation that supports this theory. The curriculum addresses all the standards, including social. This includes skills like learning to separate from adults, working with others, taking turns, cooperating, sharing, following rules, and generally learning to become a civilized, responsible member of society . Pre-k sets the foundation for successful learning in later grades.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 17, 2010

As a pre-k teacher in P.S. 209 I am upset to read a post by a dissatisfied parent. Preschool teachers have the dual job of continuing to stimulate social growth (and let kids be kids), while also preparing them academically for what they will face in kindergarten. That being said our curriculum consists of pre-reading, math and writing skills as well as creating consistant, meaningful routines. We try to create a warm loving environment in which children feel safe and enjoy their first experience in school and yes, -this does mean they have 'play time.' I cannot respond in depth about how much they learn from play, but any research on the topic would yield hundreds of positive responses. Lastly, we see parents every day at dismissal and, and are more than happy to accomodate those who work....all you have to do is contact us!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 10, 2010

Cannot say much as my kid went to just pre-K there. There was absolutely NO feedback from the teachers on how m child was doing. I received nothing via mail, backpack or any other means from school. Compared to my friends preschoolers pre-K at PS 209 was nothing more then a day care - kids were just playing most of the day (which is not bad), but I wanted some initial studying.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2009

The school has a wonderful learning environment. Both my sons are attending, 4th grade and Kindergarten. The teachers are dedicated and caring and all work together to help the children evolve. The one aspect that is missing and this is most probably due to budgetary constraints are more extended, art, music and sports programs which would benefit the children tremendously. I am very happy with the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

The staff is great, the treachers are excellent, but the principal is deaf to the problems the parents might have. She would not go over 'her school policy' in order to accomodate the needs of a particular parent, even though this might affect a child's performance, not to talk about the parent's sanity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2009

I think the teachers in this school are fantastic. They're really caring and devoted.


Posted February 27, 2009

My daughter has been going to P.S.209 for three years. she is now in first grade. She is writing and reading very well. She knows math beyond the basic facts. She has two teachers in her class. She loves them very much. Her teacher are lovely and dedicated.She comes back from school with great stories, and most of all she says she is happy at the school. One of her pre school teachers is still watching her while she is eating at the cafeteria. I felt like I am in great and safe place three years ago and I've been feeling the same from that day on.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2008

Strong leadership from the principal transcends to all the staff and students. Great learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2008

This school has a dedicated, hard working group of teachers and staff. Children are encouraged to learn and grow. Strenghts, as well as areas of opportunity are identified and cultivated.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

71 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
31%

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
72%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

74 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

71 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
30%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
61%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

73 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
72%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

59 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
54%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

63 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

62 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
24%

2013

 
 
9%

2012

 
 
64%
Math

The state average for Math was 38% in 2014.

63 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
35%

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
52%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

66 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
14%

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
54%
Math

The state average for Math was 33% in 2014.

67 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
24%

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 36% in 2014.

50 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
26%

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
37%
Math

The state average for Math was 22% in 2014.

26 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
15%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
62%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "C" for the elementary and middle school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 2 45% 48%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 28% 9%
Hispanic 1 23% 23%
Black 2 4% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 1%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 125%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 277%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 11%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 61%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 652 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.3
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.8
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
7.8
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.2
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.0
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.7
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Students

This school

 
8.2
 

City average

 
7.8
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.1
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.0
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Students

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.5
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.5
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.6
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Students

This school

 
8.6
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents42877%
Students18199%
Teachers4378%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. FRANCES LOCURCIO

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2609 E 7th St
Brooklyn, NY 11235
Phone: (718) 743-1954

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





I.S. 98 Bay Academy
Brooklyn, NY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT