Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ps 217 Colonel David Marcus School

Public | PK-5 & ungraded | 1365 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 17, 2014

Our sons thrived in PS217 - a warm, welcoming environment, well managed and well maintained, with a strong academics and strong inter-cultural social environment for the students. We are very lucky to live in the PS 217 zone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2014

This school is awesome! The teachers are awesome! They help students. Learn and have fun at the same time. Have a talent or want to learn a talent? Then this school has more than 10 talent classes! Graduation Ceremony, the 5th grade dance everything is great! Science lab full of animals. This school is the base to education and life. Shows and a lot more.


Posted October 29, 2013

hi this used to be my school about a year ago im successfully in 6th grade with a great education the only thing i dont like is the principal franca conti she doesnt like us she doesnt even listen to another person and listen to other people. like seriuosly but everythign else if mind blowing my 5th gade teacher mr.brown was a excellent teacher if you get him youre lucky people dont like mr.brown why dont like him he teaches his kids like if they were his real kids. all my teachers were great so everyone out there if looking for a elementary school go here and hoply you dont have a naughty kid.lol. okay this was my frist school which i went for 6 years from kindergarten to 5 grade. really loved it so yeah. now oyu guys decide which is better. and every year the school changes and turns better and better i wish i can stay there for my whole education so yeah. hope oyu listen to me and think about the school. becuase its awesome.


Posted February 13, 2013

I used to go this school, in eagle (now I'm in 6th grade) and it was a really good school. Teachers, as far as i remember, do work hard (mostly directed to my 5th grade teacher, who made 5th grade awesome for me). The principal has strong leadership, too. The school also has a garden, lots of after school programs, sales and more. It's a great school.


Posted June 11, 2012

Unfortunately I was under the impression that PS217 was a great school based on location. Boy was I wrong. This school contains the most unqualified and unprofessional teachers I have ever met. My son's 3rd gradeexperience was a disaster , my son's teacher Ms.Dawn was unorganized, unpleasant and medicated. Conversations with this woman was difficult. Unfortunately the principal Mrs. Conti wasnt very helpful when I brought my concerns to her. She dismissed my concerns and very eagerly pointed out PS 217 overall grade average which was a "C". I guess she didn't think i'll look it up. I've learned so much from other parents who had similar experiences with the Prinicipal as well as other teachers at PS 217. Now, My Son attends a Chartered School with excellent informative caring teachers and I'm very happy with my decision.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2011

i love this school i used to go now i go to a better school the teachers push you to do better and plus it is on a beautiful campus and i love how the teachers are nice and one more thing with out a certain teacher written me a review i don't think i would be at my school and be in advanced classes


Posted May 2, 2011

Frankly speaking, we were at first dissapointed that our child was not accepted in a city-wide school in Manhattan. But as years passed, we have realized that this school has lots of caring teachers, enthusiastic parents and great playground. We like the diversity of families at this school, where our child learns about other countries and cultures by experience. The school and perticipating parents planted vegetables in the front garden last autum. Children could observe how pumpkins, chilli peppers and eggplants grow!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2011

This school is worse school i have ever seen. The administration very rude and uncooparative, teachers are not enough qualified to provide quality education they also careless. please if you could take your child to another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2010

Very good school. The teachers were great. What we were learning was easy though, I wish it had been harder.


Posted September 23, 2010

P.S. 217 Brooklyn The Worst School Ever: This school has careless and rude teachers. they don't respect the parents and they don't care about the kids. from my experience it's the worst school. they always have excuses for everything. the principal always turn you down once you get to talk with her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2009

A smart and dedicated staff, a terrific principal, and 1300 of Brooklyn's most wonderful children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

PS 217 is a GREAT!!!! school where kids are treated as if they are the only ones in school, where they have first names and where the teachers are so happy to be back in school and brag about their students. Where Arts and Letters are very important to the school and try to get every child involved in the great after school programs. Where special need is dealt with very special skills. Where the parents feel involved and try their best to help the school where needed. My daughter LOVES this school, she wakes up early to go have FUN with all her teachers. I am a very happy parent because of the whole staff. They are a team and make it all happen!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2009

As a parent, I didn't like the school at first. But as the year go by, I was wrong. My child's education turn out to be better than I can hope for.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2008

Very caring and enthusiastic teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

208 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
35%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
57%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

215 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

173 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
37%

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
51%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

177 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

197 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

187 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
25%

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
64%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

194 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "B" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 50% 9%
Hispanic 2 20% 23%
White 1 16% 48%
Black 2 13% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 0% 1%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 221%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 193%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 2%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 52%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 2%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 692 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.4
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.6
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.2
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.2
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.6
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.7
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.9
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.2
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.7
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.3
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents63658%
Teachers5662%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. FRANCA CONTI

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1100 Newkirk Ave
Brooklyn, NY 11230
Website: Click here
Phone: (718) 434-6960

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Ps 134
Brooklyn, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT