Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ps 219 Kennedy King

Public | PK-5 & ungraded | 676 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 29, 2014

My kids go there n they have a Iep and I love the school 1gd n kindegarten and they love they teacher and I will love to put my 3 yr old in there next yr
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2014

This school is absolutely amazing if you are complaining about your child being bullied then that's your fault you should have taught them to stand up for themselves the teachers try to keep their class in order but your children are so disrespectful and lack discipline. So before you criticize the school get your children in check.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2013

Some of these parents who are complaining are the ones who cannot mannage their children's behavior. Rather than work with the teachers, they argue, argule or move their children to another school. They know the one person who disrespects parent and teachers alike. Instead of helping to fight for change, they argue more than anything else. There are excellent teachers at PS 219. Just one AP spoils the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2013

I think that the School would be a lot better if they got rid of the principle & some of the teacher like Mrs Judon, and Ms Andrews to be honest
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2013

MY SON LEARNED NOTHING AT THIS SCHOOL BEING IN MRS. JUDON CLASS BUT I TRANSFERED HIM TO PS 268 WHICH HE GRADUATE, AND IS NOW IN JUNIOR HIGH,THEN THEY PLACED MY DAUGHTER IN MRS JUDON'S CLASS AFTER I ASKED THE PRINCIPLE IF MY DAUGHTER CAN BE IN A DIFFRERENT CLASS SINCE I FELT THAT MRS. JUDON WASN'T A GREAT TEACHER SO NOW I HAD TO TRANSFER HER TO PS 233 AND SHE IS DOING AMAZING THANK GOD SHE DOES GO TO PS 219 THANK U PS 233
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2013

This is a poorly functioning and supervised school. The staff can be very unprofessional. Children can literally leave the school easily as it's poorly guarded. Even at the main entrance, the guard sits at a desk far away from the door entrance and socializes. As another parent mentioned, I have witnessed the cafeteria during lunch time. It is total chaos. I've discussed this with one of the teachers and she said it was due to understaffing and there are not enough people to monitor the children. I can write much more but I would avoid this school if you can.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2013

some of the teachers are good but majority of them have their ways. the assistant teachers don't help they criticize the kids instead of helping the kids. Don't be young parent they think you don't know what you are doing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2012

I had experience with ps 219. Some of the teachers are not patient enough with the children. For example, there was one teacher to 20+ children. The teacher was an older woman; she got really frustrated when children misbehaved. Her complaint about how bad these children are and how much she can t take it anymore. Based on observation and experience, most of the teachers get burned out really fast. During lunch time at ps 219, it's all chaos; food is being thrown across the lunch room, children are standing on the tables, they are hitting each other and the lunch room attendants are running after children. It s no different when school is let out at 3pm. On the other hand, students are encouraged to view the world as their class room. They are often taken on many field trips during the school year. The school host a great science fair each year. The teachers are not solely to be blamed. The parents in the community need to be more proactive and take the initiative to discipline their children at home. Also, parents can play a more active role in the school. AS a community let's work together to improve our public schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2012

MY CHILD CAME FROM A GREAST SCHOOL IN BAY RIDGE. SHE WAS DOING JUST FANTASTIC. SHE ENTERED THIS SCHOOL and I GIVE HER THIRD GRADE TEACHER KUDOS FOR KEEPING HER ON TRACK. AFTER THAT EVERY THING WAS DOWN HILL, RIGHT NOTHING WAS DONE TO THE COMPLAINTS OF THE CHILD BEING BULLIED, SHE CARRIED HER LUNCH AND THE CHILDREN WOULD THROW IT OUT CALL HER NAME AND DO OTHER MEAN THINGS TO HER, SOME HOW IT ENDED UP THAT SHE WAS AT FAULT.I CAN'T UNDERSTAND HOW SHE GRADUATED FROM THAT SCHOOL. SHE'S IN MIDDLE SCHOOL AND DOING SO POORLY SHE HAS A LOT OF CATCHING UP TO DO. SOMETHING NEEDS TO BE DONE ABOUT THAT SCHOOL. CHILDREN COMPLAINED ABOUT THE SPANISH TEACHER WHO WOULD CHAT AND SHOP WITH HER FRIENDS ON THE INTERNET INSTEAD OF TEACHING, AND WOULD YELL AND SCREAM AT THEM FOR NOT DOING THE WORK. THE CHILDREN DO NOT SPEAK ANY SPANISH SO TO SPEAK AT GRADUATIONT I REALLY CAME TO SEE HOW MEAN THE KIDS WERE BECAUSE,EVEN THEY WERE SIGNING EACH OTHER TEE SHIRT AND I COULDN'T BELIEVE WHAT THEY WROTE ABOUT HATING HER THEIR FRIENEMY AND THAT THEY STILL DON'T LIKE HER , SHE WAS TOLD BY A TEACHER THAT ALL THE OTHER CHILDREN WERE THERE BEFORE AND THERE WAS NO PROBLEM UNTILL SHE GOT THERE.


Posted March 27, 2012

This school is horrible ,my son is in kindergarden there ,he started as a great student ,he was line leader for the first three wks ,after his behavior started to change , I took note and decided to go and have a sit in ,what I saw was a total disgrace , the teacher had no control over the kids ,while I was there a child punch my son in the chest and the teacher said nothing until I brought it to her attention ,while the teacher was teaching there were kid doing hair and rolling on the floor ,incethe my son has been to the nurses office on mutiple times ,including for a kick in the private ,the principal[MS SINGLETARY] said she has no time for that which was very on proffessional ,this school should be closed ,it is not a place of education. DO NOT SEND YOUR KIDS THERE.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2012

This school is the worst school for any child to attend. thank goodness I don't live in the area anymore.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2009

I am not pleased at all on how the teachers treat their students. I have two children who were transfered from a good school in Park Slope. My daughter use to look forward to going to school every day, and now she constantly complains about her teacher, as well as my son. I've thought about changing schools. Their grades have changed,and so have their behavior.Also my son occationally gets bullied because of his fair skin. Nothing is being done about this matter...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2009

At first I thought this was a good place for my child to learn. But as all relationships are the first tri mester is over & now I know their true colors. I am not satisfied at all with the way the teachers handle the students, that is why the children are handling them. I have a very bright child who now has to sit back and wait for her teacher to spend half her day disciplining the kids or more like debating because the matter continues day after day. I've spoken to different parents and past students of the school the matter has'nt changed. I am looking into changing my child from this school but I really feel for the children who dont have anyone to look into whats going on in their environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2008

my son started this school from the first grade.He had wonderful teachers who cared.They prepare you well for all testes and will notify you about your child's progress.He graduated this year(2008)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2005

the teachers at this school were great. the music class included piano and violin but I think it still need a bit more work. There need to be a sports and extracurricular activities program at this school.Most of the parents were involved with the school but most are single parents so they are not able to attend activities offered during the day to them. This needs to change.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

88 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
9%

2013

 
 
16%

2012

 
 
41%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

90 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
7%

2013

 
 
5%

2012

 
 
35%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

96 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
21%

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
45%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

96 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
14%

2013

 
 
19%

2012

 
 
55%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

84 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
30%

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
39%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

86 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
29%

2013

 
 
15%

2012

 
 
49%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "C" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 1 93% 19%
Hispanic 2 6% 23%
White 1 1% 48%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 0% 9%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 7%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 87%N/A43%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 0%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 58%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 249 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.6
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.3
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
7.6
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.1
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.5
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.7
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.4
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
7.9
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents22742%
Teachers2252%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. WINSOME G. SMITH

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1060 Clarkson Ave
Brooklyn, NY 11212
Phone: (718) 342-0493

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Ps 268 Emma Lazarus
Brooklyn, NY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT