Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ps 222 Katherine R Snyder

Public | PK-5 & ungraded | 849 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 7 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

48 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 10, 2010

This school is a wonderful learning environment for my little sister. The teachers and other staff are caring and will go out of their way to contact you if a problem should arise. With the exception of one para, I would say this school deserves the 8/10 it has received.


Posted October 8, 2008

The teachers are wonderful, the administration is better than a previous Brooklyn public school. However, I am appaled at the lack of physical education that is way below what is required by the state, limited time at the playground (once a week and often cancelled even if the weather is nice) and lack of art education. That said, my child enjoys going to school every day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2008

I love PS222.This is what my son said, after one term in this school.For me the teachers work extremely hard at all times.The curriculum is both fun and positively tact.The level of discipline is one of the best in the district and the surroundings are well taken care of.Interaction between parent and teachers is amazing.One of the best parent coordinators in the district -Miss.Camisa-hats off to her job well done.Thank you so much PS222 one of the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2008

The lack of physical education and oppressive environment of the lunch room are both drawbacks. The teachers my daughter has had for kindergarten and this past year for first grade have been very good. I'm quite pleased with the reading and writing but find the math curriculum confusing and wanting. Given what they have to work with, the teachers do a nice job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2008

I have three children who attend this school. I love the education that they are getting. It Is evident the teachers and administration are all committed to exellence. they care about each child and they know each child. Anytime I have asked a teacher about one of my children they will tell me specifics about that child, not a general report on the class. It shows me that they really take the time to get to know each individual child in the class. As far as the administration Mrs. Blake, Mrs. Olivieri, and Ms. Snow are all always there when you need to speak to them, and they are respectful to parents concerns. The education that is provided at this free Public School is priceless.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2007

I moved to this area because of the school's reputation 10 years ago. As a teacher, I see a few areas which can be improved. I especially take issue with the lack of physical education and a full-time computer teacher. I see many other schools, which have excellent phys ed and computer programs in place. Kudos to the Millenium Program and Music & Arts programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2007

Ilove this school the princibal and teachers are so nice
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 5, 2007

I am pleased to inform other parents and students that PS 222 is a school that I would highly recommend. My son entered PS 222 in the 3rd grade after coming from a private school. We were concerned with the transition and whether he would continue to thrive as well as adjust. He did extremely well and had a fantastic teacher who he had for two years consecutively. He is now in Jr High and adapting well (even though I don't know if I am). Let me also say that the principal Ms. Blake was truly wonderful and approachable which for us meant alot. We are still receiving information from PS 222 PTA which I also appreciate wholeheartedly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2007

Best school in Brooklyn. The teachers are the kindest folks caring inidvidually for each child. My son has been here for 2 semesters and we love it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2007

I purposely moved to Marine Park so my children could attend this school. I find it to be very good. As a teacher myself, I have been pleased with the teachers on the most part.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2007

I am a product of catholic school and was nervous about public school. PS 222 has changed any thoughts that I had about public schools. The teacher and staff are phenomenal, the parents are more like family than fellow parents. We have an excellent group of students. No discipline problems and well rounded children are coming out of this school. I am proud to be a 222 parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2007

P.S. 222 is an excellent school, staffed by people who truly care about what they do. I myself attended this school, and I am proud to be sending my older daughter....the school is consistently on top, and I couldn't be happier. My younger daughter will follow her big sister in a year and a half! I especially love the way the Kindergarten Eagle II class is shaping my daughter's learning. The students are motivated to set their own goals and achieve to their highest potential.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2007

Excellent school, private school quality!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2006

I've had kids in PS222 starting in 1997. The school has consistently been great even with the change of principal and assistant principals, and the turmoil of Bloomberg's reforms. Each year we are so pleased with our teachers that we can't imagine having a better one, until the next year when we feel the same way again. One of my kids has a developmental disability for which he has a 1:1 classroom para, plus speech and occupational therapies all at PS222. We couldn't be happier with the individuals who work with him, and the continuity and support he has received through the years. Since 9/11 PS222 has had limited funding and staffing for PE, music & arts, but has managed to fit some in, and we appreciate it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2006

The teachers are very caring and great! I loved it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2005

I have had three sons go to this school (all in the districts Eagle II program). Although I have some concerns about the turnover of principals in recent years and the disolution of the district office responsible for the gifted program, it appears that the academic rigor has been maintained. I see a renewed dedication to maintaining the arts programs as the school's band has been reinstated (with students auditioned and then instructed in flute, coronet, trumpet, trombone, and percussion). Within the Eagle program - students have been adequately prepared and therefore excelled in all standardized testing areas. I was disappointed when the school discontinued their participation as a Magnet School for Distance Learning as their computer resources have probably gone without proper updating and maintainance as a result. Still they have a working computer lab and classroom computers. Children graduate well-prepared for middle school. Building could be better cared for.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2005

My family has a long history with PS 222, not only am a graduate of the school but I also have 2 sons who have grauated from the school and a daughter who is in her final year there. This is a wonderful school. The staff and administration are highly trained and strongly dedicated to providing the best education possible to the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2005

My daughter attends P.S. 222 for the last 2 years (Pre-K and K) and it's been a wonderful experience for my family. School is very clean (especially comparing to my older kids private school) and well organize. Safety and discipline in the high level. Both teachers my daughter had were absolutely amazing and highly skilled. I am very pleased with my daughter progress, who is reading chapters books and writing book reports. I would definitely recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2005

Good School. Sometimes the focus is on the Citywide tests rather than the academics but oveall education is good. Music study is available through VH1 grant but limited. Foreign language not emphasized. A lot of pressure in the 4th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2005

The principal is doing a wonderful job at this school with the money she is given. The school has a warm, open, family fell to it. Everyone is very helpful and friendly. I am proud to be a part of such a great Public School.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

125 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
70%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

125 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

114 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

115 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

110 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
82%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

111 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "A" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 2 44% 48%
Black 2 20% 19%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 18% 9%
Hispanic 1 17% 23%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 0% 1%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 17%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 150%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 0%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 67%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 620 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
9.2
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.8
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.5
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
9.2
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.8
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.6
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
9.0
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.4
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
9.2
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.8
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.5
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents55883%
Teachers6295%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. THERESA OLIVIERI

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3301 Quentin Rd
Brooklyn, NY 11234
Website: Click here
Phone: (718) 998-4298

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT