Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
53 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 63 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Jhs 227 Edward B Shallow 5

Posted November 19, 2015
- a student
awesome school, keeps me interested in school, teachers and students are awesome, i love this school so much.

Jhs 227 Edward B Shallow 2

Posted November 15, 2015
- a community member
This school is fine but some of teachers are pretty strict and mean. They should be more nicer. Also they give out to much homework and they also have homework on Fridays. School should give out homework but to much homework can stress some kids out. Also with tests,they should tell them what type of test they need to study not like a test and the teacher didn't tell you what to study about just say there will be a test tomorrow.


Jhs 227 Edward B Shallow 5

Posted March 11, 2015
- a community member
Best school ever....I am a student at this school and although there is a bit of bullying this school is an immaculate and big school. The teachers at this school are great especially my favorite teacher on of the 7th grade ELA teachers she is an amazing teacher and I encourage many students to enroll into this school and help us build a better tomorrow today.

Jhs 227 Edward B Shallow 4

Posted May 23, 2014
- a community member
i will he graduating from this school this year i love it here and im oing to miss all my teachers i would rate this school a 7 out of ten

Jhs 227 Edward B Shallow 5

Posted August 03, 2013
- a teacher
School nice I like but boring a bit no i teach here in mahtematics and kids are naghty but i still like skool a lot


Jhs 227 Edward B Shallow 5

Posted June 30, 2013
- a community member
Edward B. Shallow is the best school in district 20. Don't ltake verbatim in the poor reviews, many of them are inaccurate. As a former student, I found that many of the teachers are caring and supportive. When I had a problem, many of the teachers were willing to talk with me privately. When a classmate of mine had an issue, Principal Dr.Champion talked with her. The curriculum of the school is the standard NYC mandated one; and most students who fall behind get the help needed. Many of the students from the sp/ honor classes make it into specialized high schools(Stuy for me!). Many of the students are kept fit thanks to having Phys.Ed 3 times a week. Though, I do have to admit that this school is lacking in the arts; that is changing, though. Recently, a school newspaper has been introduced and a band is being formed(through the arduous efforts of Ms.P) There are some squirmishes amongst the students, but its average. Some kids may seem rude, but you have to get to know them. Are there fights? Maybe, after school and sometimes in the lunchroom.3 years ago, I wouldn't recommend this school. Over 3 yeas I've seen this school improve (smart boards, newspaper, talent show ipads etc

Jhs 227 Edward B Shallow 1

Posted June 08, 2013
- a community member
Please do not send your child to this school. Many of the students are rude, disrespectful, and immature. If you are Asian American, you will be called 'chino' and berated in other racist ways. There are sometimes when you will be assaulted by a random student for no reason. There are students that are willing to work hard, but they are overshadowed by those who do bad. The school also has limited course offerings with only 1 Spanish teacher, 1 art teacher (per grade) and only 2 music teachers. There's no band or any extracurriculars. Though, I agree that most teachers are decent. If you get in this school please try to transfer out. I'm currently in a Specialized High School and I regret spending a horrible 3 years at Shallow.

Jhs 227 Edward B Shallow 4

Posted May 21, 2013
- a community member
this skool is good i go there. I'm in class 802 and i think it good. u get to go ahead 1 year and take regent. got in2 Btech. ty shallow


Jhs 227 Edward B Shallow 5

Posted May 19, 2013
- a community member
I go to this school and I absolutely love it. The teachers are great and the students in the 6th, 7th, 8th grades are respectful. Parents or students who say this school is bad has never been there. They hear rumours. There are barley fights in this school. So whoever says this school is bad, they are hating. It makes me go rage mode when you "parents" say it's a bad school.

Jhs 227 Edward B Shallow 1

Posted April 25, 2013
- a community member
Whoever wrote "this school is by far the worst school ive been to in my entire life.", I really want to meet you. I also go to EBS, I came 2 months ago from a Private School. I absoulutely hate this school. Most of the teachers are decent, but the kids! They have NO manners, NO respect for anyone! Its filled with a bunch of kids raised in "ghetto" families. They're also SO mean! And, the 7th grade dean, Ms. Silver, doesn't care about anything that goes on in school. Such as bullying. She says to "toughen up". Maybe the person that wrote the review that I mentioned can at least be friends and get along. :/

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Jhs 227 Edward B Shallow
6500 16th Avenue, Brooklyn, NY  11204
(718) 256-8218
Last modified Jhs 227 Edward B Shallow is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Jhs 227 Edward B Shallow Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 63 reviews. Top