Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Is 228 David A Boody

Public | 6-8 & ungraded | 825 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

38 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 7, 2014

My Daughter had attended Boody for three years now and I can't say enough about how much I love this school. The Principal Mr. D'Angelo really is why this school is so great. He is the face of the school. He's at every function. He leaves the weekly messages and sometimes daily messages that are sent to the parents to keep them informed on school activities. He stands outside every morning rain, snow or shine greeting the children as they start their day. That man rocks! I can't wait for my younger children to attend Boody. The teachers are all pleasant. And everyone is familiar with the students. The Principal knows everyone by name.!! Like I said Best School Ever!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2014

this school is awesome and very googd. Good Teacher and good assistant principal. David A Boody is the best!!!!!!!!!!


Posted November 13, 2013

I wish i still went to this school, Me a young teen would never miss school in this great place. There are a very little amount of bad kids but they're dealt with. I am going back my last year absolutely. This school will improve people.


Posted April 30, 2013

my daughter started at david boody this year and i must say i"am glad that i picked this school for my child. the teachers are great and the deans are great, the principal is great also, i would tell everyone if they want a good school this school is for there child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2011

I.S. 228 is a magnificent school. Principal D'Angelo is the greatest principal I have ever met --he gets things done. He also cares about our children and does all that he can to help them succeed. There are excellent teachers in every subject area at I.S. 228 - and they do all that they can to aid our children in understanding the subject matter. Finally, Ms. Sigona is the ultimate educator - what a beautiful, kind and smart individual. Thank you all for 3 years of magnificence. Principal D'Angelo - keep up the good work and continue to bring the latest innovation to the student at I.S. 228 - you are the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2010

I feel David A Boody is an excellent school because of my daily experience in the school. As a teacher at this school I know my co-workers and I strive to be the best teachers by constantly keeping up with every students' needs- academically and socially. The principal, Mr. D'Angelo, is the most innovative leader I have experienced. In just a few years he has taken the school from a D rating to an A rating. He truly lives by the model "Eyes on Excellence." Lastly, our programs at our school are rigorous and engaging to our students. Technology is integrated into every subject. Math especially is run by a program called School of One which uses a computerized algorithm that differentiates the skills each student needs to learn and finds the best way that individual student may learn those skills. No student is left behind. Failure is not an option.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 30, 2010

David A. Boody is a fantastic school. The teachers there care. I still think about them. It is because of them that I have the life that I have. The teachers there always inspired me to do my best.


Posted May 25, 2010

My daughter is in the 8th grade. When she first entered the school, it earned a "D" on it's progress report. Then Mr. D'Angelo became principal. That year the school went from a "D" to a "B". The next year it went to an "A". This is a great school that has a nice family feel to it. It is filled with good caring teachers, talented kids and a great principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2009

My twins have just started Boody. So far the princiapal is right on the money. he is involved in every aspect in the school. Mr. D'Angelo is helping me w/my son giving him encouragement. I will inform about how he is doing. I am a Happy middle school parent. Boody rocks!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2009

It is a wonderful school and the teacher are so nice and so helpful.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 14, 2009

tis is a very good school, with a excellent principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2009

I Love this school so much my daughter is learning very well she is actuly improvin very good
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2009

Good Teachers. But some students behavior needs to improve more in some classes
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 29, 2009

My son is in the music program at Boody. He is in 3 bands in school and the Boro-wide Orchestra as well. He is dong very well and looks forward to the concerts he has to preform in. I have complete trust in the teachers as he seems to be getting smarter by the minute. The school, in my opinion, is underated. I would recommend the school to family and friends for sure!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2008

Boody has few positives and many negatives. The school isn't safe enough and many,many kids get away with misbehaving. There's fights like every week and teachers arent tough enough to control kids. The best point of Boody is its magnets, music and arts. Boody has alot to improve and it is definetly not the best school to go to.we need more teachers that take charge.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 23, 2008

I recently graduated David A Boody! It was an amazing school ! The teachers definetly make you feel welcome and during my last year, I passed my regents exam as one of the best in the class and ended with a high average. This school amde me like to read and learn, I had very close relationships with my teachers. They were very close to my heart. It is a great school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 26, 2008

There are too many bad kids attending the school that don't live in the neighborhood. Classes are crowded. Bad students are put in to classes with the smart ones which brings down the quality of education because teachers must deal with disruptive kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 30, 2007

I graduated in the Class of '04. This school in general is mediocre. I would say only 1 out of every 5 teachers are good. This school seriously needs to impose stricter safety rules and deal with the peer pressure that goes on everyday. I still remember I walk down in the hallways and see people get harassed, threatened, and bullied. This not only happens in the hallways but in school buses also. The reasons for these vile actions come from prejudice, racism, and sexism. The only way this school will succeed is to not accept students with bad disciplines. Also, I remember in my last year in Boody, the system was corrupted. Our senior dues were taken but half the things that were promised were not given to us. The only good things about this school are some of the teachers, some of the school events, and the magnets.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 23, 2007

David a boody gave my child a great education. I m very happy to send my child to this school becus this school has the #1 music department and my child's music talent is approaching to the lavel where she;s like an adult i m very proud.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 24, 2007

My child had learn many new things since school first started. Boody made my child felt safe and happy . Boody is a great school .
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

373 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
26%

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
43%
Math

The state average for Math was 38% in 2014.

381 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

306 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
24%

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
42%
Math

The state average for Math was 33% in 2014.

316 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
60%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 36% in 2014.

320 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
32%

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
42%
Math

The state average for Math was 22% in 2014.

328 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
63%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

258 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "C" for the middle school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 32% 9%
White 1 29% 48%
Hispanic 1 28% 23%
Black 2 10% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 1%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 18%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 75%N/A43%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 4%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 39%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Instrumental music lessons

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Russian
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 1543 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.9
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
9.1
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.1
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
9.0
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
9.0
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Students

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
7.8
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.4
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.9
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.8
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Students

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.2
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
9.0
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
9.0
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Students

This school

 
8.8
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.2
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents59269%
Students89699%
Teachers5595%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • MR. DOMINICK D'ANGELO

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Russian

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

228 Ave S
Brooklyn, NY 11223
Phone: (718) 375-7635

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Ps 95 The Gravesend
Brooklyn, NY


Gesher Yehuda
Brooklyn, NY


I.S. 96 Seth Low
Brooklyn, NY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT