Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 16 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ps 233 Langston Hughes
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
Want to say Thank you to My Daughter 1st grade teacher Ms Williams 1st grade Soar. Ms Sydney Smith 2nd grade Soar Ms. Murray 3rd Soar. And present 4th Grade Soar Mr Stapler. Anissa has come a long way and with the wonderful help of these teachers her reading has improved so much more and alook other subjects. THANK YOU ALL

Ps 233 Langston Hughes 4

Posted September 09, 2014
- a parent
This school is a good school the teachers are very qualified this is my daughter fourth yr she was in the javits program for three yrs and she is currently in the soar program the only problem that I have is , the staff in the lunch room are a bit too hard on the children , the system is designed to keep our children at a level in which they will not achieve at their highest potential us as a parent and a community need to work together to help our children achieve higher , we need to encourage more reading and less game playing and watching tv because without our help they will Gail;)


Ps 233 Langston Hughes 4

Posted September 27, 2013
- a parent
My child attends this school and is now in kindergarten. I appreciate the level of security for the kids. The staff is very attentive to my concerns. I would recommend it to another parent.

Ps 233 Langston Hughes 5

Posted August 22, 2013
- a parent
P. S 233 Langston Hughes is a wonderful school focusing on reading very important and my daughter love going she will be in 2nd grade September

Ps 233 Langston Hughes 5

Posted August 01, 2013
- a parent
MY DAUGHTER IS GOING TO 2ND GRADE AND HAD A WONDERFUL 1ST YEAR AT LANGSTON HUGHES, TEACHERS ARE ON POINT WHEN IT COMES TO OUR CHILDREN EDUCATION AND ARE VERY SERIOUS WHEN IT COMES TO READING THEY ALSO HAVE A WONDERFUL SOAR PROGRAM. M


Ps 233 Langston Hughes 4

Posted August 12, 2012
- a parent
Very good school the leadership is very good... I would recommend this public school. My child is doing good in reading, math and other things.

Ps 233 Langston Hughes
no rating

Posted February 05, 2009
- a parent
Last year we took our son from a private SDA school and enrolled him in the neighborhood school, PS 233. It was the best thing we ever did for him. His teachers are exellent and all the staff are on first name basis with him. Initially, he had some trouble with some bullies in his class, but the staff dealt with it with such care and concern for my child's welfare. For his safety, he chose to stay away from the recreation area and so they had him go into the kindergarden class to help with the babies and he is still there today. His title is, 'Child Guardian' I would recommend this school to anyone!

Ps 233 Langston Hughes 5

Posted May 14, 2008
- a parent
Excellent school, this is my daughter's first year (Pre-K) and we both love the school. The teachers are excellent and the security guards are very helpful.


Ps 233 Langston Hughes 5

Posted June 29, 2007
- a parent
This is my daughter fourth year in SOAR and she loves her school.

Ps 233 Langston Hughes 4

Posted June 03, 2006
- a parent
So far this is my Daughters fist school, and her second year. She is currently in the SOAR program, and her academic growth is amazing. Compared to other kids in her age group, her classes are more advanced. The teachers are very competent, and willing to work with the parents to ensure the children are learning at their best. I only regret that we will probably move before she gets to graduate from this school in four more years.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ps 233 Langston Hughes
9301 Avenue B, Brooklyn, NY  11236
(718) 346-8103
Last modified Ps 233 Langston Hughes is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ps 233 Langston Hughes Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top