Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

P.S. 235 Lenox School

Public | PK-8 | 1266 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

41 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 3, 2014

This is far the best school! Check out their report card on the NYS EDUCATION portal. It is the ONLY school that got A's across the board. My two boys are enlisted in the schools awesome SOAR program. I love it! Very hands on...the teachers teach how, when , where, and what you would do! EXCELLENT SCHOOL! The only bad thing: NO AFTER SCHOOL PROGRAMS...would be great if MUSIC, a foreign language, any SPORT was added so the kids can have something to do...maybe they should ask for volunteers...just a thought.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

I HIGHLY recommend PS 235. My child is is pre-k and the amount of work covered in class is amazing. I feel as though my child attends a private school but the environment is relaxed. My child is constantly challenged. However the teacher was annoying at times always negative with my child on her behaviour in the classroom. She never praised her for any good behaviour. This affected my child most of the time. I guess the relationship between the two was bad because my child was golden whenever the teacher was off sick.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2013

This school is no longer a good/great school. Academically, if you are in the SOAR program and get a good teacher, then you are lucky. If you do not get a good teacher, dog bite you! My child did well, up until 4th grade when we had the worst teacher, Ms. Caliendo. Poor classroom management. Your child suffered if you questioned anything. She dislikes parents that question her teaching or classroom style and she takes it out on the children. She LOVES to kick children out of the room for any minor thing. I say, look elsewhere. There are better schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

OMG!! First I'd like to give props to the 3 best teachers at ps235-Ms Givner, Ms Tasimowicz and Ms Dixon. My son graduate 5th grade and I'm glad he's out. The 5th grade teachers were HORRIBLE Ms Straker in particular. This woman taught my son for 3 months he strayed away and I never found out about it until Nov during parent teacher conference. Her words to me was " I was wondering where are the parents for this child?" Never did I receive a courtesy call and knowing my child is a well mannered child you would think she'd show that she cared. My son went downhill academically after 5th grade and they are partly to blame. A bunch of negative screamers who chattered the poor children confidence. They were so afraid of ever asking a question because if they got it wrong they would be screamed at and asked to leave the classroom...go figure. My son did not learn anything in that school. Maybe it was reputable back then but not know. There's favoritism and I suggest that these teachers take a course themselves on how to teach and conduct themselves professionally. I can't wait for my 2nd child to be out of this school it's gone to the dogs from top to bottom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2013

P.S. 235 is a great school. I attended the school and now my daughter and son attend the school. Also 6 of my nieces and nephews attend. I love the school environment and the teachers are great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2013

i hate this school Ms.Coatl the 5th grade teacher is the worst teacher ever if your in 5th grade never go to that teacher believe me i know i used to go there and i hated my mom for letting me go to her and everone who put me in that class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2013

I would like to add that P.S 235 need to add more play time and gym time. Kids NEED play time they will have less "hibby jibbies" in the classroom and the teachers will not spend unnecessary time getting the class settled. There should be arts and music added to the curriculum and should not be limtied to a few classes. If we focus on these activities the knowledge and readiness for state tests will come naturally. Believe me art and music work wonders on the lives of children. I actually pay for music for my child. Concerned parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2012

This is a great, great, school the teachers are wonderful, i get updates daily about everything thats going on in the school, we made a very good choice choosing p.s.235, the soar program is great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2012

The standard in this school has dropped tremendously. The emphasis is in academics and the soar program is not as advanced as was initially presented. There is little or no recreational or arts programs. Some of the parent/teacher interaction is inapporpriate in that the teachers are reporting their personal business to their students and making inappropriate comments. The parent coordinator is unprofessional and not helpful The afterschool program was discontinued this year with no alternative plan presented to the parents. This current adminstration does not provide support to parents and school, which are important elements to a school's success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2012

This school need more progessional staff. Most don't follow through with issues concerning the children. They appear to condone bullying behavior. My child didn't spend an enjoyable 5 years at this school. As for academics, they seperate the smartest, leaving them to fend for thier own... As a parent I had to pay for services the school never offered even when asked. So glad to be moving on... Goodbye, good riddance Lenox Academy...SMH. :(
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2012

I would not recommend this school to anyone the current principal and some of the teachers are more of saving face than for educating the children. They're more about the pay check than that of the well being of the children in this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2011

this school p.s.235 is a horrible school. it lacks the teacheing imformation your supposed to get at that certain grade. i'm in the soar program in fifth grade and the things i'm learning now should have been the things thought in fourth grade. the teaching is boring and hard to understand and the kids don't even tery to help out with doing the right thing so maybe the teacher can get somewhere with their teaching. the lunch rooms are pig stys. the teachers lauguage around the students are bad. and their disapline is low. childern can't get detion every day. exspeicially the whole entire class.


Posted January 25, 2011

This school is not very good i would not recommend sending anyone's child to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2010

P.S. 235 is a great school that strives for execllence and tries to supply the world with the most intellectual and care-giving students. The enviroment is friendly and almost all the time philantropic. But the discipline tactics are very weak and the school has a lot of sanitary issuses but they have room for improvement. Otherwise their academic philosphy is very specificed and well carved and me as a current sixth grader enjoys their accelrated science progam and high set standards and expectations.


Posted March 7, 2010

I am a parent of a 4th grade student at P.S. 235. I love this school. The teachers are great. They have a true sense of the students in their classrooms and often adjust their lesson to suit. The new administrative staff is really trying to keep a handle on the students. I can see that the new custodian is also trying to get a handle on the building. As parents we need to continue to work with the staff of P.S. 235 to help this school remaind the top in the district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

It have great programs and activities for the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Ps. 235 is a great school! The gifted school curriculum is geared to teach kids out-of-the box learning skills. My son's work is always a grade or two ahead and it's never too difficult for him to grasp! The teachers are great and reallly seem to care about the children. I love P.S.235!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2009

This is an excellent school, great teachers, wonderful staff who shows concern for the children..the children are very well taught..great school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2008

I am in the sixthed grade and i agree the bathrooms are very dirty. the techers are very nice and help a lot but changing class is very unorganized. For the first few there was fighting but at nothafter thing much.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 8, 2008

Good acamedically, my child is in the Soar program, Drop off and pick up needs more to be desired. It's totally chaotic. The bathrooms are extremely dirty. I think I will have to move my daughter because of these reasons. They school is not properly funded and no email address available for the school or teaches.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

161 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
50%
Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

160 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
54%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2013.

181 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
63%
Math

The state average for Math was 36% in 2013.

182 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 88% in 2011.

178 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2013.

153 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
61%
Math

The state average for Math was 30% in 2013.

153 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 31% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 28% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 34% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 27% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "B" for the elementary and middle school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 95% 19%
Hispanic 3% 23%
Asian 1% 9%
White 1% 48%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 1%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 75%N/A43%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 1%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 54%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 641 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.9
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
7.0
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.8
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.2
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Students

This school

 
7.1
 

City average

 
7.8
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.3
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.6
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.6
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Students

This school

 
6.2
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.2
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.5
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Students

This school

 
8.2
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.1
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents33832%
Students27497%
Teachers2939%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. LAURENCE D. LORD

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

525 Lenox Rd
Brooklyn, NY 11203
Phone: (718) 773-4869

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT