Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
115 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 140 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Mark Twain is 239 for the Gifted and Talented 5

Posted June 29, 2016
- a parent
Very good school: safe, fun, teachers are respectful to students, students have interests. A lot of good programs. It's GNT school - require testing. Talent class is a separate daily class - otherwise all subjects are thought in the same class, to students tested for different talents. Computer/math talent is 100% computer talent - no additional math taught. Math class (and ELA and Social Studies and Science) taught to class build from all talents - math, drama, dance, journalism, etc. Starting from 7th grade advanced classes and Regents classes are offered - and it's not directly related to talents, only to grades in 6th grade regular classes. Overall I highly recommend the school - with 2 kids who graduated it and 3rd one currently a student in the school

Mark Twain is 239 for the Gifted and Talented
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted June 09, 2016
- a parent
Thanks to Mr Rubin for his computer savvy and ability to interest kids in computer science.


Mark Twain is 239 for the Gifted and Talented 5

Posted June 09, 2016
- a parent
My kids are going through 6th and 8th grades correspondingly in math talent in this school. The teachers are great and environment is very friendly to learning. My only wish would be that math talent would actually teach more math, in reality this is a computer talent and had been for many years. Kids in math talent become really computer programming savvy, but I would rather explicitly name this talent as computer talent to set the right expectations.

Mark Twain is 239 for the Gifted and Talented 2

Posted May 09, 2016
- a parent
Although Mark Twain is considered to be one of the best (if not the best) public middle school in Brooklyn, I'm very disappointed in this school. First, teaches don't check homeworks. I've seen class after class, my son getting 100% on his hw assignment, and then very low grades on quizzes and test. In some classes, teachers ask students to check each other's homeworks. Second, there are no text books in many math and science classes, which makes it almost impossible for children, much less their parents, to follow class curriculum. Third, in English and literature classes students, in the same class, read different books, which makes testing almost impossible. Fourth, too much reliance on computers. Many hw assignments and projects are online, therefore students almost always need access to computers. And of course what would 9-12 year-olds do, but watch youtube and play games all the time. And, it is impossible to block child's access to computer because they constantly need it for "homework assignments". To top all this, the school gave tablets to all seniors. Now, even if I prohibit my kid from using computer, he plays games or watches youtube on his school tablet, which I cannot take away. All this is extremely frustrating. Lastly, since MT is considered to be a specialized middle school, it is expected that many kids will take SSAT and apply to specialized high schools, like Styversant, Brooklyn Tech, etc. However, school does nothing to prepare students for this exam. For example, English teaches could give kids assignments to study SSAT vocabulary, reading comprehension passages etc., and in math classes do more SSAT level math problems. Overall, Mark Twain was a big disappointment. I hope they can improve.

Mark Twain is 239 for the Gifted and Talented 5

Posted May 19, 2015
- a parent
Mark Twain school is very good , but only for kids who want to learn. Overall teachers are knowledgeable. Good programs are available for students who want to take advanced classes. Teaching/learning process well organized . School is safe. Probably still the best public middle school in Brooklyn . Cons : Not all advanced classes really teach on advanced level. Classed are over crowded - as result no individual attention to students, no push to get the best out of student, as long as student performance is acceptable . Communication to parents is very limited , unless parents have ability to check school website.


Mark Twain is 239 for the Gifted and Talented 5

Posted March 21, 2015
- a community member
I am in science talent. I am going to Hunter High School only because of my mother. When I go to Hunter, I will miss this place badly.

Mark Twain is 239 for the Gifted and Talented 3

Posted March 16, 2015
- a community member
Twain admits 5th-graders not on the basis of their standardized test scores but on their performance on a test or try-out in any one of 11 talent areas. There have been accounts of bullying, though the Learning Environment Survey indicates it remains less of a problem at Twain than at many other schools. A parent told us 6th-graders get about a half an hour of homework a night. A large number of Twain students get admitted to specialized high schools, particularly La Guardia High School, Brooklyn Tech, Stuyvesant and Staten Island Tech. Many also go on to other screened schools, such as Midwood Medical Science Institute, Leon M Goldstein High School for the Sciences Edward R. Murrow and Bard High School Early College.

Mark Twain is 239 for the Gifted and Talented 5

Posted January 10, 2015
- a community member
I just graduated from Mark Twain and I miss it a lot. The teachers are supportive, kind, funny, and best of all, good at teaching. Unfortunately, some of my favorite teachers have retired, but the talent system is one to live by. By 8th grade, everyone was extremely developed in their talents and also maintained high GPA's. Most of the students are extremely hard working, hence why we are the largest feeder for specialized high schools (in Brooklyn)! Mark Twain was a great experience and has impacted my life forever. Stay great.


Mark Twain is 239 for the Gifted and Talented 5

Posted October 02, 2014
- a community member
I just started Mark Twain and so far I have no complaints. The teachers are very nice. I have learned a lot and I have been in this school for less than one month. The only negative aspect about this school is that the tests are too hard. Although they are hard and you may not do well, they try their bset to help you. I am in Math\Computer talent and I am having a great time there. So far I'm learning programming and the teacher, Mr.Rubin is making it go very smoothly. In Mark Twain, the homework load isn't bad. Mark Twain has enrichment classes wich are fun. That keep students from being bored. If you are planning to go to the school, you have to work a lot. There is a lot of competition and you won't get in with luck. Work hard and you could be a student in this wonderful school.

Mark Twain is 239 for the Gifted and Talented 3

Posted May 18, 2014
- a community member
The teachers in general are great, and I learned, but I don't think I'm being challenged enough. Also, the classes aren't organied very well. There's a new cluster that only has two classes and two teachers, while all the other clusters have four classes and four teachers, so there are two teachers teaching the four core subjects. This particular cluster is also picked on a lot by the other clusters. Really, other than my creative writing talent class, I don't think I'm learning very much from this school than I would from any other school. The teachers do try very hard, but I still think this school is overrated.

Nearby schools

Mark Twain is 239 for the Gifted and Talented
2401 Neptune Avenue, Brooklyn, NY  11224
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 140 reviews. (718) 266-0814
Last modified Mark Twain is 239 for the Gifted and Talented is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top