Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Brooklyn, NY

4 stars
Based on 20 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


22 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ps 247 1

Posted September 04, 2014
- a parent
I really hope that the woman that was screaming at everyone this morning is not the new parent coordinator. She did not make the first day of school welcoming at all. My daughter was scared to enter the school. Acting alittle more polite would have been better than screaming at a bunch of parents and children who were nervous as it was for their first day at school.

Ps 247 5

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
Great school !! excellent support !! Activities and academic !! Very good after school program. Lunch at not cost.
1 person found this helpful


Ps 247 5

Posted October 24, 2013
- a parent
P.S. is a family !! My daughter loves to go there, they provide her the best care a mother can wish for !! Extra help with reading, with language, after school program, she loves to read now, I'm more than please with this school !!

Ps 247 2

Posted July 04, 2013
- a community member
Terrible. The school is built entirely on favoritism. In the school newspaper all the teacher's children are journalists. In addition, the school has an unfair election system. All the "cool" and "popular" kids win the election. When they win, the Council does NOTHING AT ALL. Its just a sign of popularity. The teaching is below average, I would say. In math, they explained things that my daughter knew since second grade. They forced her to use some models, rather than using formulas and equations, she says. "In science, we don't even have a TEXTBOOK", she says. In science class, she have been rendered a "Science genius", because she knew things that she is SUPPOSED to learn in that grade. Instead, the class was working on a 3rd grade level. Meanwhile, in PS 221, they have a textbook for every subject. Instead of spending money on better education, and adding a G&T program(They don't even have that), the school spends money on field trips that occur too often, and in my opinion, disrupt the learning process. This is my opinion about my daughter's school.

Ps 247 5

Posted May 25, 2010
- a parent
This is really an excellant school. The teachers are strict and they care at the same time. They are very on top of things.


Ps 247 0
no rating

Posted November 03, 2009
- a parent
Thi is a great school. My daughter enjoys going there. The teachers are very good.

Ps 247 5

Posted September 15, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ps 247 0
no rating

Posted September 14, 2009
- a parent
P.S. 247 (A.K.A. The New York City College Partnership Elementary School) is a fantastic school with a dedicated, professional and highly skilled staff. They make every parent and student feel like they are part of a family. My children look forward to attending school every day!!!!


Ps 247 5

Posted September 02, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ps 247 5

Posted July 06, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ps 247
7000 21st Avenue, Brooklyn, NY  11204
(718) 236-4205
Last modified Ps 247 is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ps 247 Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top