Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ps 254 Dag Hammarskjold

Public | PK-5 & ungraded | 642 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 28, 2014

since my daughter came a few years to ps 254, she is happy her grades have improved, i just regret that i didn't bring her when she was 4 yrs old.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

My children are in this school since 2011. This is a good school. The teachers are great and they do care about their students. The school staffs are nice and helpful. An A plus for our school coordinator, Karen Tam. She is always trying to help and efficients. The only thing I feel horrible is this school is facing a serious budget cut from the board of ed. I hope all the parents can help support this lovely school to run smoothly so that our children can get the best from them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2013

Horrible school, very unorganized tried reaching out to the guidence counselor to give him feed back.. he definetly doesnt care looks like he just sits in his office all day and does nothing.. They have so many fundraisers but nothing to show for it.they put on a good show when parents are around the only good thing they got going is the assistant principal. The worst thing about the school is when the children get released it so crazy they are so unorganized especially in the rain,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2013

I am a rising sophomore at Cornell University and I attended PS 254 starting from the 1st grade as a recent immigrant and it has honestly been one of the best experiences of my life. As far as I remember, everyone at PS 254 is friendly and comfortable around everyone else and all my teachers still remember me from so many years ago. We were a family. I will definitely continue coming back to visit and give back to this school for the rest of my life. On another note, my two younger sisters also graduated from PS 254 (both are currently excelling in Mark Twain Middle School) and my brother is currently in Kindergarten and through all these years, my parents have had nothing but positive words to say about PS 254. Seeing all these low ratings for my elementary school is extremely surprising and something I absolutely had to say something to.


Posted March 21, 2013

The worst school ever!!!!!!!1 Today the teacher humiliated my child in the front of whole class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2013

This school is getting worse and worse. Teachers very young they dont know how to deal with children. Principal only smile and trying to make a joke out of evething, same as her assistent.. Don't send your child there, they only want to make your child look stupid to sign him/her to a special education program. School will get more money from goverment.....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2012

This school is the best!!! there school safety squad was very interesting and their curriculum is well supported. If you want to go to a good school you should pick this i have graduated from from here and I'm in the 8th grade you should go here you will always remember this school


Posted October 6, 2012

My child went to this school. Don't send your child here I can count on one had how many good teacher there are in this school. The teacher education level is not good. Most of them are young individual that know nothing about children let alone education. I don't think my child has learn much each year. When your child has a problem with another child in the school they don't handle the problem the right way. Gifted classes are a waste of time here the kids are doing the same thing as a regurlar class just more H.W only thing that's great is the safety of the school with visitors coming in ID at all times. Parent coordinator does nothing to help you only when a higher level is around. Lack of communication with the principal but the assistant principal is on top of things much better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2012

Parents are being more and more disappointed with this school. For the past year lunch program, those professional parents are paying 25 cents or even free for their kids' meals. Some earn much less have to pay in full. Some parents know somebody, their kids can be entered eagle class with a low score or can be switched any class they like. It is so unfair with the other kids and they knew even though they are little.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2012

My daughter went to this school, she is now 16 years old and she believes this school was one of the best things that could have happened to her. It had such a good environment, vibe, and focus to its students, that she feels could not have started her academic life off better anywhere else. This school set her off with a wonderful foundation in computer skills, health, art, and music, along with great knowledge in core subjects such as English, Math, Science, and Social Studies. I can say that in today's world America's education is not too impressive and that the teachers in most schools are not qualified, but when my kids went here they were very intelligent with genuine interest for learning in the fun and caring environment they were in. I hope that this school only remains excellent and I wish to assist them in any help they may ever need in the future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2011

This school is parents unfriendly. Classes are big (30 children per one teacher) and Ms. Moser & Mrs. Alohonte don't allow parents to volunteer to help teacher. I feel like they have something to hide from parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2011

This school is better then some of the other school in the area. As far as the teachers, as in any school, some are good and others not so much. In my opinion, there is way too much HW for K and 1st graders, especially in the gifted and talented program and if you work full time, be prepared to stay up late with your child! Personally, I consider Mrs. Borgia to be one of THE best teachers in school (she teaches K level class). So, if you can get her as a teacher, your child's school experience for that year would be positively memorable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2009

I love this school , my son is now in 5th grade & he loves it, ms milstein is a great & wonderful teacher, Ms Moser & Mr Alhonte are great! Im very happy to have had many wonderfull yrs with this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2009

PS 254 is a BIG'10' to me and my kids. My kids and I are very happy and comfortable. Teahcers , the Principal and staff you cant get any better. Learning, my kids are doing wonderful. Boy,when we haveto go to middle school going to miss them all. What a wonderful SCHOOL!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2009

I love this school and my kids love their school. The teachers are great and pre-kk has hw. Send your kids here..U would not regret it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2008

I have a daughter which went to Pre-K and her teachers were very respectful and kind towards the children and their parents. The parent coordinator is fabulous! She dedicates her time and patience to help parents with concerns. The negative part was that Pre-K didn't have any homework.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2008

My daughter is in grade K in PS 254. It is just as good as when I went there. The teacher is very kind to the students and I always feel welcome in the building. The PA is very active and tries to get everyone involved. I'm pleased with the education my daughter is getting and I can't wait to enroll my son in their pre-k program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2006

Even though this school is still one of the best in Brooklyn it has drastically changed. Parents are not made to feel welcome in this school any longer. There is no warmth to this school as there used to be, teachers don't seem happy and some of the rules are ridiculous. The eagle program is not what it used to be, it seems to have gotten lost in the new curriculm. Time for some serious changes in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2006

This is a very good school. It's not big in size and a lot of attention is paid to the children. It's Eagle program is not what it used to be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2005

This school is a parent' s dream. The support of the principal and the guidance counselor and the quality of the education remind me of my elementary school growing up in the suburbs of Maryland. The only thing disappointing are the classrooms in the old part of the school but the new building and the cafeteria are wonderful. From the security guard to the crossing guard to the janitor to the teachers, this is the kind of school every parent hopes to find. The students are diverse in a way that no one group is dominant. I loved sending my two sons to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
74%
Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 36% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
99%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 30% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students46%
Female55%
Male36%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander56%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White50%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Not economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population50%
English language learners17%
Proficient in English51%
Non-migrant46%

Math

All Students63%
Female73%
Male52%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander71%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population63%
English language learners40%
Proficient in English68%
Non-migrant63%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students47%
Female60%
Male32%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander50%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White53%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Not economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population50%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English50%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant47%

Math

All Students54%
Female58%
Male49%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander73%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White51%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population57%
English language learners30%
Proficient in English57%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant54%

Science

All Students98%
Female100%
Male95%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged96%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population100%
English language learners91%
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students61%
Female71%
Male51%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander73%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White56%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilities8%
General population67%
English language learners0%
Proficient in English67%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant61%

Math

All Students66%
Female65%
Male68%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander84%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White62%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities16%
General population74%
English language learners7%
Proficient in English75%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "A" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 1 50% 48%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 34% 9%
Hispanic 2 10% 23%
Black 1 5% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 1% 1%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 220%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 163%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 5%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 61%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 575 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.8
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.6
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.1
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.6
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.6
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.3
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.5
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.2
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.7
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents53395%
Teachers4298%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. LINDA ALHONOTE

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1801 Ave Y
Brooklyn, NY 11235
Website: Click here
Phone: (718) 743-0890

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St Mark School
Brooklyn, NY







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT