Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
55 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 79 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Jhs 259 William Mckinley 5

Posted January 28, 2016
- a student
I love this school. All the teachers are so helpful and teach you great. Most teachers come to school early and stay late to help their students. Also they always want the best for you. In addition there are many after school clubs like the drama club to the starfish club. I love this school and wish I could stay in it forever but sadly I cant. If you are choosing middle schools this year then put McKinley as your first choice, you wont regret it.

Jhs 259 William Mckinley
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted November 23, 2015
- a parent
Applying for HS is not an easy process. It is stressful and overwhelming. I have received lots of support and help from all the teachers and staff, especially Ms. Madonia from the Guidance Dept. Thank you so much for taking the time to help me understand the process and making sure my kids have everything in order to start the next chapter in their academic lives. Also big thank you to all the teachers who helped my kids by writing recommendation letters towards their HS applications. I appreciate the time and help from everyone involved.


Jhs 259 William Mckinley 5

Posted November 23, 2015
- a parent
I love the communication between parents and teachers, also very helpful is online portal . I can monitor my kids grades and upcoming tests. Teachers and staff are great with responding on the email from me and resolving a problem if any. I m happy with after school programs , and most important my kids are safe and comfortable at school.

Jhs 259 William Mckinley 5

Posted December 29, 2014
- a community member
This school is quite a good school. The teachers there are very reliable and willing to motivate the students to learn. Being the school just makes me feel more safe and happy.

Jhs 259 William Mckinley 5

Posted August 27, 2014
- a parent
I was born and raised in Bay Ridge. This school has proven to be a good school in the past 5 years or so. I have to applaud Ms Geary and her staff for such great involvement. Teachers are attentive and serious about teaching. Don't let bad comments about this school steer you wrong. Students that come from involved parents, and a respectful home with values and principles, do excellent in this school. --- Mom of a graduate student.


Jhs 259 William Mckinley 1

Posted November 14, 2013
- a parent
School is awful if your child is struggling and you care as a parent. Teachers dont call you back, have favorite students, pre shool tutorial is a joke(they just tell you to sit there and read your notes) teachers dont notify parents if child fails a test or require parent to sign test so child doesnt have to show parent bad mark. Teachers dont give students specifics on what to review before tests. I could go on but...

Jhs 259 William Mckinley 5

Posted October 26, 2013
- a community member
My school is great. The teachers are one in a million. Great after school preparation for the SHSAT.

Jhs 259 William Mckinley 5

Posted October 25, 2013
- a community member
THIS SCHOOL IS A REALLY GOOD ONE, THEY MADE STUDENTS FEEL COMFORTABLE, MAKE STUDENTS UNDERSTAND EACH CLASS AND MAKE THE BEST THEY COULD


Jhs 259 William Mckinley 1

Posted June 20, 2012
- a parent
I feel the assistant principals and teachers only concern is their pay checks I have another younger child and I will make sure she will not attend this school

Jhs 259 William Mckinley 1

Posted February 04, 2012
- a community member
this school gave me depression and the teachers descriminate a lot of students like ms decarlo. they dont help certain kids. thank god i left this school. i wish i passed the dyker test to get in their school. (they also dont care about bullying). dont let these reviews decieve you.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Jhs 259 William Mckinley
7301 Fort Hamilton Parkway, Brooklyn, NY  11228
(718) 833-1000
Last modified Jhs 259 William Mckinley is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Jhs 259 William Mckinley Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 79 reviews. Top