Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ps 279 Herman Schreiber 5

Posted June 07, 2013
- a parent
This school is the best, both of my kids attended this school. Infact my last child this is her final year. I recommend a lot of my neighbors to PS 279. Great teachers, well kept school..not forgetting the principal Mr Chambers, he is awesome .

Ps 279 Herman Schreiber 5

Posted May 23, 2012
- a community member
This is my final year at 279 and this has been the best school year. Ive been here since 1st grade and I loved this school ever since. The principal Mr. Chambers, is hands on with the students and he is an awesome principal. When I leave, I'm going to make sure I come visit everyone. I'm especially going to miss my 3 favorite teachers, Ms. Craig, Ms.Meredith and Mr.Skinner. If your in fourth grade and going to be going to fifth grade and you have Ms.Meredith and Mr.Skinner your not going to regret it. There real and they give real life stories of their experiences to feed knowledge to the children. I'm deeply going to miss EVERYBODY! Have a great time at P.S. 279. Home of Tolerance, Respect, and Integrity : TRI


Ps 279 Herman Schreiber 5

Posted March 25, 2011
- a parent
i am very happy with the progress that my child has made since he started p.s. 279 in PK, he is now in second grade. The school facilities is always clean and very presentable. Faculty and staff displays exceptional qualities.

Ps 279 Herman Schreiber 1

Posted December 11, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Ps 279 Herman Schreiber 5

Posted October 29, 2009
- a parent
The new principal has reallturned this school around...especially in school behaviour which has been the benchmark for other academic successess.


Ps 279 Herman Schreiber 0
no rating

Posted August 20, 2009
- a parent
Our son is now in his final year at 279. Overall, the teachers, staff and even the security guards, we've encountered have shown an interest in our son's growth. I do however believe that the curriculum is not challenging enough for the gifted students. An increase in afterschool activities and arts enrichment would be a benefit to the students.

Ps 279 Herman Schreiber 0
no rating

Posted December 21, 2008
- a parent
I think this school has a lot of work to do in reference to diciplining with students. The environment is not welcoming as it shoulld be for a parent in an elementary school. There are some efforts made but not consistent. The principal has redirected his energy and is working with parents outside of the PTA. This school has some work to do.

Ps 279 Herman Schreiber 5

Posted November 07, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Ps 279 Herman Schreiber 5

Posted August 04, 2008
- a student
this school is the best school i have intended so far and i am going to 8th grade I was there since 2nd grade and i did not know a bit of English and now i am in 8th and an Einstein which is a gifted program in my school i do not regret this school at all its the best you will ever find

Ps 279 Herman Schreiber 4

Posted July 05, 2008
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ps 279 Herman Schreiber
1070 East 104th Street, Brooklyn, NY  11236
(718) 444-4316
Last modified Ps 279 Herman Schreiber is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ps 279 Herman Schreiber Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top