Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ps 279 Herman Schreiber 5

Posted June 18, 2014
- a community member
This school is amazing I am a senior at this school and it is awesome. We have many fun events and we have great learning experience, the only thing I don't like is the uniform policy but it is top notch they also help us plan for our choice of middle school

Ps 279 Herman Schreiber 5

Posted June 07, 2013
- a parent
This school is the best, both of my kids attended this school. Infact my last child this is her final year. I recommend a lot of my neighbors to PS 279. Great teachers, well kept school..not forgetting the principal Mr Chambers, he is awesome .


Ps 279 Herman Schreiber 5

Posted August 04, 2012
- a community member
I am a 2012 graduate of PS.279 - I HAVE GONE THERE SINCE PRE-K AND I DO NOT REGRET MY PARENTS DECISION TO SEND ME THERE. THE TEACHERS ARE VERY NICE. THE PRINCIPAL IS GOING IN THE RIGHT DIRECTION TO MAKE THE SCHOOL A BETTER PLACE. IF YOU ARE ENTERING THE FOURTH GRADE AND GET MRS.KOGAN YOU ARE VERY LUCKY. I WILL MISS ALL OF THE STAFF WHO HELPED ME. Wonderment Inquiry Discovery.

Ps 279 Herman Schreiber 5

Posted May 23, 2012
- a community member
This is my final year at 279 and this has been the best school year. Ive been here since 1st grade and I loved this school ever since. The principal Mr. Chambers, is hands on with the students and he is an awesome principal. When I leave, I'm going to make sure I come visit everyone. I'm especially going to miss my 3 favorite teachers, Ms. Craig, Ms.Meredith and Mr.Skinner. If your in fourth grade and going to be going to fifth grade and you have Ms.Meredith and Mr.Skinner your not going to regret it. There real and they give real life stories of their experiences to feed knowledge to the children. I'm deeply going to miss EVERYBODY! Have a great time at P.S. 279. Home of Tolerance, Respect, and Integrity : TRI

Ps 279 Herman Schreiber 5

Posted March 25, 2011
- a parent
i am very happy with the progress that my child has made since he started p.s. 279 in PK, he is now in second grade. The school facilities is always clean and very presentable. Faculty and staff displays exceptional qualities.


Ps 279 Herman Schreiber 5

Posted October 29, 2009
- a parent
The new principal has reallturned this school around...especially in school behaviour which has been the benchmark for other academic successess.

Ps 279 Herman Schreiber
no rating

Posted August 20, 2009
- a parent
Our son is now in his final year at 279. Overall, the teachers, staff and even the security guards, we've encountered have shown an interest in our son's growth. I do however believe that the curriculum is not challenging enough for the gifted students. An increase in afterschool activities and arts enrichment would be a benefit to the students.

Ps 279 Herman Schreiber
no rating

Posted December 21, 2008
- a parent
I think this school has a lot of work to do in reference to diciplining with students. The environment is not welcoming as it shoulld be for a parent in an elementary school. There are some efforts made but not consistent. The principal has redirected his energy and is working with parents outside of the PTA. This school has some work to do.


Ps 279 Herman Schreiber 5

Posted August 04, 2008
- a student
this school is the best school i have intended so far and i am going to 8th grade I was there since 2nd grade and i did not know a bit of English and now i am in 8th and an Einstein which is a gifted program in my school i do not regret this school at all its the best you will ever find

Ps 279 Herman Schreiber 4

Posted June 13, 2007
- a student
This school is very goo from it's teacher's too it's students.

Nearby schools

Ps 279 Herman Schreiber
1070 East 104th Street, Brooklyn, NY  11236
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. (718) 444-4316
Last modified Ps 279 Herman Schreiber is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top