Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
30 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 30 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Jhs 291 Roland Hayes 5

Posted August 20, 2014
- a community member
This school is the best school ever! The parties are amazing and the teachers are really amazing! It's also a great place to make new friends! I am currently going into 7th grade and I love this school.

Jhs 291 Roland Hayes 1

Posted January 15, 2014
- a community member
This school is the worst!!! But this school is on closing down and not taking any more students!


Jhs 291 Roland Hayes 1

Posted September 24, 2013
- a community member
This is not a recommended school. I mean it has improved over the years but if your child is an A-B honor student, grades will be dropped.Trust me. ~ Student 2011-2013

Jhs 291 Roland Hayes 5

Posted July 13, 2013
- a community member
Well coming From me i just graduated this year And lets just say that 291 has alot of drama like this one time in seventh grade My ela teacher Ms west got hit in the face with a book And so she fell On the floor And started crying And for the rest of that year My class spent it in inhouse for antihigi nico eles On 291 My kik Is: josieluv2013 but it was fun

Jhs 291 Roland Hayes 4

Posted May 14, 2013
- a teacher
This school has improved so much in the past year. All of the staff members are willing to stay after school and give up their lunch and free periods to help their students succeed. They spend their own money buying supplies such as pencils and paper, even though the students are supposed to come prepared already. The only problem is that the students are not willing to come after school or during the day to catch up on their work. Very few parents make the effort to come up to the school to check on their child's progress. Need to improve on parent-teacher involvement.


Jhs 291 Roland Hayes 3

Posted November 09, 2012
- a parent
I would like somebody give a more recently review of this school, we are moving to this neighborhood and don't want to travel 20 minutes everyday. They are attending an excellent school. One will be in middle school next year and other in elementary school. They are excellent students. what would be the recommended schools around it? Thanks.

Jhs 291 Roland Hayes 1

Posted April 29, 2010
- a parent
This school is no good my son see kids that bring drugs to school.Stuff in the school hate my son cause his color

Jhs 291 Roland Hayes 3

Posted September 14, 2009
- a student
I.S292 used to be a really bad school but its gotten better. phys. ed activites are very good


Jhs 291 Roland Hayes 4

Posted March 09, 2009
- a teacher
IS 291 is on the path to great accomplishments. Quality Review ratings have improved tremendously over the past 2 years and we have presently been removed from the NYS SURR list. Students are exposed & offered many activities & experiences outside the realm of a modern school day. (e.g. skiing & snowboarding trips, Broadway plays etc) Parental involvement still needs to improve, along with parent/student accountability.

Jhs 291 Roland Hayes 5

Posted September 30, 2007
- a student
this school has improved since principal sean walsh came and took matters into his hands thanks alot

Nearby schools

Jhs 291 Roland Hayes
231 Palmetto Street, Brooklyn, NY  11221
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. (718) 574-0361
Last modified Jhs 291 Roland Hayes is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top