Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

P.S. 312 Bergen Beach

Public | PK-5 | 857 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

38 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 16, 2008

My family relocated from the Bronx to Brooklyn in March '04. I did my research on schools and thought this would be a good fit but I was still nervous and I didn't know what to expect from the transition especially since my children were joining a new school so late in the semester. But, I have to say that PS312 embraced my children the minute we registered them and made them feel very comfortable and immediately felt like they fit right in the 312 family. It was painless. The children just loved their new school and couldn't wait to start again that September. they were both eventually excepted into the Eagle program. They have advanced and achieved so much since they have been there. My son has graduated now, but misses 312 a lot. He holds a lot of good memories from there. My daughter will sadly graduate in 6/09.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2008

This one school is one of the best, my daugther has improve gradually since i place her in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2008

I put 2 children through this school, The current one is in 1st grade. It is one of the best schools in Brooklyn. The teachers are very caring and children learn fast.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2007

im in 9th grade now and i used yto go to this school and i loved it
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 26, 2007

My 2 children came from another public school, one entering Kindergarten and the other going into 3rd grade. My children learned so much more so fast, the teachers really take their time to get to know these students and they always make sure the children come first. The entire staff at this beautiful school really allow the parents at ease to know the kids are being well cared for, getting the education they most certainly deserve, and receiving their education in a very comfortable and friendly environment.//
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2007

My son's first year in Kindergarten was P.S. 312 he learned a tremendous amount and I would highly recommend the school over private school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2007

My daughter is about to graduate from this School. She had 7 years of wonderful education and fun. Teachers are great some are ok but for the most part they are wonderful and available when you need them. The Principal is ok hope she was more determine on getting things done for the School. I love the Parent coordinator, Carol Pino is P.S. 312, she is there for all the kids and if the parents need anything she will go out of her way to help. The PA is great and helpful, I am sure my daughter is going to miss it but she is well prepare for her next step. The gifted program is excellent and the kids are so well prepared for the standardized tests. Thanks PS 312.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2007

My son is about to graduate from 312 and I think it was overall a wonderful experience for him.The school accommodates children at every level of ability and provides top notch services for children who need them. The best quality though is the warmth that permeates the school.Some teachers have been better than others but we have not had a bad year in terms of teaching.My younger son is currently in a Montessori Pre-k program(too young for public school)and for a lot more money isn't really getting better teaching or more attention. Not only will my son miss it,so will I.Overall, a very satisfying seven years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2006

The teachers are fabulous but the same cannot be said about the principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2006

Excellent! I couldn't ask for a better school for my 7 year old.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2006

When my son was in this school he had a lot of progress.We moved to other state but I recomend this school,it is great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2006

Just when I think my children's current year teachers are the best qualified we enter another year and the new teachers are as extraordinary as the previous year's. Attending P.S. 312 is like getting a Private School education. The school offers quality and diverse programs. The principal and staff create a comfortable family atmosphere that makes it fun and easy for the children to learn. The children are well behaved, the principal and staff address any behavioral problems as soon as they arise, and the children seem to respond very well to this (from the few incidents I have witnessed).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2006

All my children have gone to P.S.312 and it certainly has paid off. My 2 elder children excelled and went on to excellent schools and my youngest child is currently attending this school and doing remarkably well. Her teacher is so motivating and caring and provides the students with the guidance and structure they need to excel. I rate this school at the top of the list!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2006

Thank God my child is in the 3rd grade because he finally has gym. It is ridiculous that K-2 doesn't have gym and the kindergarten and the first grade never go outside for lunchtime recess. The administration should do some research on good test scores and exercise.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2005

This school is wonderful. My daughter is ending kindergarten and just had the most wonderful experience. I was a student at this school (I am now 31) and it is just as great now as it was back then.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2005

Great school. Gifted program is exceptional. The Hon. Anthony Genovesi- Enviornmental center is a state of the art science and learning facility second to none.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2005

This school is excellent. The caring and commitment of the staff and teachers are incredible. My child came from a private school when she entered P.S.312 and I can honestly say that the level of education is rated to me to have exceeded the curriculum of the private school sector. She actually was behind in her level of education for this school. (That is my opinion) The private school told me she was too advanced for her grade in her school. It took her a few months for her to catch up but she is doing well now and I owe it all to this school. The parent involvement is wonderful also. I think this school should be rated higher but in time with more ratings from parents it will get the correct rating which should be 100% excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2005

This is a top-notch school where the teachers are very dedicated to the children's learning. In addition to the academics, the students also study computers, art (from a real artist!), an incredible gym program and a music program that has 2 bands and a chorus. This school is one of the tops in NYC and creates a wonderful learning environment. I transfered my child from another school to this one, and my child and I couldn't be happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

148 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
66%
Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

149 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2013.

157 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
75%
Math

The state average for Math was 36% in 2013.

158 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 88% in 2011.

146 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
99%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2013.

149 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
71%
Math

The state average for Math was 30% in 2013.

151 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "C" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 47% 48%
Black 39% 19%
Hispanic 10% 23%
Asian 4% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 3%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 53%N/A43%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 2%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 58%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 662 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
9.1
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.9
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.4
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
9.1
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.8
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.5
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
9.0
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.5
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
9.1
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.7
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.6
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents60281%
Teachers6094%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. DIANE DENNING

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7103 Ave T
Brooklyn, NY 11234
Website: Click here
Phone: (718) 763-4015

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



P.S. 236 Mill Basin
Brooklyn, NY





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT