Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Is 318 Eugeno Maria De Hostos

Public | 6-8 & ungraded | 1647 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 17, 2014

This school is a good school but only if you're in the sp or honor program. They treat you better if your in the sp program and also if your in the chess team or in the school band. If your in the regular classes or in the "dumber" classes (801-805) you often dont get a good experience in this school. There's a lot of fights outside the school especially with the middle school 71. Also the deans usually don't care and don't have enough time for you. I went to this school for my three years of middle school and now my sister goes here . If you going to this school or your child is going I advise you to please try to enter the sp program and if you don't meet the standards try to get good grades in the 6th grade to get in the program in the 7th grade . The sp program allows you to take a bunch of regents so you get credits for high school and when you get to high school you can take free college classes. The sp kids are also the groups of kids that don't get stuck in the wrong crowd doing the wrong things.


Posted April 28, 2014

This is the best school in Brooklyn. my daughter is very happy with this school has chosen. teachers are very good :))))
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2014

This is a great school. Teachers are hard working and really care about students. They are great with after school programs and during school prograns. My son and daughter go there and come home with a smile on their faces every single day. If my child is failing a class I will get an honest phone call. The teacher will tell me that tutoring is mandatory which is a good thing because it shows that they really care. All staff members have a great attitude toeards parents and students. My child will be there for all of middle scjool . This is a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2013

my son is a current student in I.S. 318 in Brooklyn & for the past 2 years. I have been calling with concerns about bullying & harassment that my has had to endure since he's been there. i have left messages (with no return calls) & had meetings with the school & nothing ever seems to get done. My son has complained to the leaders of the school & somehow he is still getting bullied & is afraid to go to school. I as a concerned parent am not comfortable that the safety concerns I have brought up to their attention have not been resolved and are not of any concern to them. I have asked & begged for help from the school & my son & I are not being acknowledged.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2012

my son goes here and it looks great on tour, but I really think they need to add recess in the weekly schedule. i know it's a large school but recess is one of the few times you get to casually engage in friendship and meet/make friends. Why do they need to sit at their lunch tables everyday with no option for outside free play. (not talking about gym). They could also use the homeroom schedule as partial advisory. Could be helpful for some students. The academics are close to what they would get in high school and I thought some classes were very thorough. i did not like the fact that most of the students do not go on any educational field trips (unless maybe you are in a gifted class). They could also try to let the PTA help create more opportunities for other parents to work on committees and further their involvement. overall, the school is fine for some, but not a good fit for my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2012

Sure, it's a nice school academically. I learned enough to skip Algebra 1 in my high school. There is, however, one huge problem. This school is, simply, not very fair to the students. I know that teachers have different ways of teaching, but if one suspends a kid for possibly saying a certain curse word, and another does nothing about another screaming the same at a student, there's something wrong. When one girl gets called names and the name-callers get suspended and the entire lunchroom gets told, and another gets repeatedly 'called names', among other things, and nobody does anything, something's wrong. This school is the reason I was glad to leave New York for a place I've been to once, where I knew one or two people. I am a former student of 318. I'm so glad it's over.


Posted September 15, 2011

I love this school for my daughter and she loves it also. She spent 6 years in a catholic school and they decided to make it a Charter School, starting from K-4th grades. I was forced to find another school for my daughter and was told JHS 318 is a really good school. The rest is history. My daughter started JHS 318 in the 7th grade and my only regret is that i didn't put her in there sooner. There are so many programs for the kids to choose from and the staff really cares about the children. My daughter struggled with math and her math teacher took the time to tutor her and a few other students after school. She's now in the 8th grade and 5 days after school started, my daughter came home with all the information regarding applying for high schools as well as information for Regents prep that JHS 318 offers the students. They are extremely on top of things. Although the school has well over 1,000 students, you would never be able to tell. The hallways are always clear and quiet, the students are not loud and rowdy, security make sure the boys hats are off coming into the school and they also care about the students. Two thumbs up for the principal, staff, teachers and security.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2009

The staff in this school is awesome. They really care about the students and their safety. The programs are also wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2009

this school is a wonderful school the programs they have are amazing and the schools enviorment is very good i really loved it


Posted April 30, 2009

This school is such an amazing school with all the programs they have. They best performing arts program in the city; dance, drama, visual art, concert band, marching band, guitar, cooking, sewing everything you can think of. I am currently in the Senior Concert Band that plays college level music and had the honor to perform at carnegie hall last year. All the teachers are helpful and you will learn a lot. You can take many advance classes such as Intergrated Algebra,Global Studies, Earth Science when your in 8th grade, and in 7th grade you can take living environment so by the time you get to high school you will have your credits and will be put into the 10th grade. I consider this school my own private school. Class of 2009!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 2, 2009

Having my children in Catholic school for over 8 years I felt I was not getting my money's woth in the education they were receiving. I decided to enroll them at 318 and this was the best decision I made. My boys love it and they have improved their grades. The teacher and staff are very helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 28, 2008

I can't say enough good things about this school. My son loves it and is receiving an excellent education! The administration and staff are wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2008

It is one of the best schools in Brooklyn and i believe the teachers and staff are all dedicated. My number #1 choice!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2007

This school is the best school ever I love and miss it soo much!! =] -amanda marquez!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 4, 2007

this school is great.teachers help students that need help in a certain subject
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 28, 2006

As a teacher who has taught in other NYC schools, 318 is by far the best place for both teachers and students. Everyone is treated with respect and dignity, and students are encouraged to become scholars in all disciplines. While other schools focus on test scores and bureacratic secrecy, 318 is an oasis that thrives by promoting open communication between staff and students. 318 is the best!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 12, 2006

Teachers at 318 care about their students. They make the effort and time to teach or tutor your child during lunch. They are accessible. You are notified early on if your child needs help. Safety is another top priority here. Teachers here are tops!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2005

I am an alumna of I.S.318 and in all honesty, I do firmly believe that this is a school of excellence. 318 is a more diverse school than it is let on to be and all the students get along. Classes for high school credit are available and students are able to take the regents at the end of the year as well. All the teachers are more than qualified to teach their subjects and are friendly enough to offer extra help if it is needed. Music programs are very strong, as I.S.318 marches in many parades. There are many extracurricular activities available as well. The sports program is run very well and 318 has a number of teams that compete with rival schools. When it comes down to taking NYC state exams, the students of 318 are more than prepared and this allows then to be comfortable with themeselves.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 1, 2005

318 is an excellent school. All the staff are courteous and helpful. Parent Involment is high. Also Principal very understanding and caring. Teachers are excellent! Students are pushed to achieve the highest academic level they can and Afterschool activities are so great and helpful. I highly recommend this school to any parent wishing their child to achieve their expectations. Overall it's great. The staff takes the time to welcome your child. Safety is a great concern of theirs. Any situation they definetely help out. Anything they do call and let you know what's going on before anything gets worse. Where can you find that nowadays? This is the place to be sending your child where the school cares for your child as theirs and hepls out literally.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2005

I.S 318 is a wonderful school. My children love it. Their academic programs are very good and there are many extracurricular activities. My daughter particapates in tennis and volleyball. Parent involvement is high.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

497 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
22%

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
58%
Math

The state average for Math was 38% in 2014.

499 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
25%

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

522 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
31%

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
55%
Math

The state average for Math was 33% in 2014.

524 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
34%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 36% in 2014.

494 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
35%

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
51%
Math

The state average for Math was 22% in 2014.

288 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
14%

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
74%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

320 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "C" for the middle school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 2 64% 23%
Black 2 15% 19%
White 1 14% 48%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 7% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 0% 1%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 15%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 281%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 0%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 52%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 1%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 1785 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.1
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.2
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
7.6
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.3
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Students

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
7.8
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.0
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Students

This school

 
7.7
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.5
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Students

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.7
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents39425%
Students131181%
Teachers8076%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. LEANDER WINDLEY

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

101 Walton St
Brooklyn, NY 11206
Phone: (718) 782-0589

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT