Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ps 203 Floyd Bennett

Public | PK-5 | 940 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 28, 2014

Terrible . I went there as a child and allowed my son to attend there pre-k to 1st and the staff and teachers are worse then even . I took him out and his new school is amazing , the education level is 100% better than 203 . Take your children out immediately .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2014

Terrible school. i wouldn't send my worse enemies child to that school. the school is not fit for any child with any type of disability. the staffs communication skills are sub par if you want to know whats going on with your child in school. the principal is very nice but very naive to whats going on around her in her own school. Its a fashion show with the staff. appearance and looking good comes 1st before the children and their safety. they complain more about being over worked and under paid than improving the learning for the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2013

my son was attending this school and he got held back second grade. I was told his reading level was too low to promote him. but as his parent, I did not believe that. I remove him place him at another school, his new teacher asses him and told me that he was reading at third grade level but they could not promote him because he was held back already shame.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2013

the principal is very nice however she has no control over her teachers. my son got mistreated and got left back. the teacher did not want to work with me or my son and nothing was done about it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

As a uniformed school,itmy belief that tougher rules to be put in place for every child to be in uniform everyday unless otherwise indicated , it seems as if there is a fashion show in the school after at least months into the school year. This action often allows the ones who are in uniform to question their parents- why should I have to wear uniform everday?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2012

(Rating: March 2012) My children currently attend PS 203, aka convenience school. We live in the neighborhood and unfortunately, over the years its quality has declined. Most of the teachers seem overwhelmed and frustrated. The staff are snappy and rude. But, the principal is wonderful. She is very attentive and caring. Unfortunately, the budget cuts affected programs that the students desperately need. There are no extracurricular activities and the PTA is not a strong force. Parents seem more concerned about parking and picking up their children instead of volunteering. This school is on our fail list. Hopefully, a charter school will plant a much needed seed in the community.....asap. We're searching for a new school for 2012-13.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2012

My daughter's Kindergarten and 1st grade teachers were great, however her 2nd grade teacher is terrible. She is lazy, always looks miserable and is constantly absent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Our school has a wonderful Principal and a staff that is amazing.We all work so well together and are 100% for our students
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2009

My daughter have been going to ps 203 since prek. She is now on her way to 4th grade. I must say that this is a great school. The teachers are hardworking and motivating. The staff is very friendly and it is also a safe school. My daughter is doing extremely well and I am thankful for all the teachers, admin members, principal and asst principal for making this school the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2009

I give this school five stars , my son attended p.s.203 for the last six years and just graduated .I want to thank all the teacher's especially Mrs.Crawford ,Mrs. Keith, Mr. Senatore ,Mrs.Oleary, Mr.Lear , Mrs.Schwarz and all the staff who made my son's stay at the School a very safe and and happy exeperiance... Thanks to the Principal and the asst. Principal also to Mr. Comis ..... thank's a million
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2008

Great school, wonderful teachers, very helpful office staff. My child loves this school and is doing very well. Thank you P.S.203!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2008

My daughter is very happy and comfortable since she began attending P.S.203. I have also noticed that this school does a lot of fun and creative things with the kids......plays, shows, crazy hat day, different shoe day etc...All this things keep the children very interested and engaged. I am very pleased with this schools performance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2008

The teachers at this school are highly qualified and some of the most hard-working I have encountered. My child has behavioral issues and his teachers are really patient with him. He's focusing more in class and talks about school all the time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2007

I love My school, I get on well with Teachers and Professionals from this school and I love that fact that my kids are safe there....I would truly hate to change schools
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2006

First let me say that most of the teachers at this particular school are outstanding. They are constantly battling behavioral issues along with stifling administration policy that make it incredibly difficult to teach but they do it some how even with the bureaucy and behavior distractions. Unfortunately, there are some teachers there that I feel have chosen the wrong profession. These teachers have given up or they have resorted to screaming at thier students to influence behavior(like that works). There are no extracurricula activities to speak about unfortunately.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted October 6, 2006

Over the last four years I have had many interactions with the school administrators and teachers. I know my child has received a quality education within a supportive environment that puts learning first. I see the school constantly trying to revise and revisit things that need it. I wouldn't hesitate sending another child to this school. Thank you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2006

I think the worst part of this school is the office staff. Other than that I think the school is pretty good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2006

I am sorry to say my review is not good. The problem with this school is not with the teachers. The problem is with whoever is in charge. Problems and questions regarding their programs remain unresolved & they in no way look out for the best for your children. They avoid important issues and instead tend to unimportant issues. They need to be more informed, more intelligent & more efficient in doing their jobs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2006

The school staff is always helpful and friendly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2006

The general environment is great. The administration is respectful.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

113 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
25%

2013

 
 
10%

2012

 
 
40%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

114 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
35%

2013

 
 
15%

2012

 
 
45%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

100 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
25%

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
50%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

103 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
23%

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
64%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

137 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

124 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
26%

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
52%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

126 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
33%

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "C" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 1 83% 19%
Hispanic 1 9% 23%
White 2 5% 48%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 2% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 1%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 26%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 175%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 0%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 64%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 2%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 409 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.2
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.8
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.5
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.6
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.1
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.4
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents38057%
Teachers2948%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. LISA ESPOSITO

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5101 Ave M
Brooklyn, NY 11234
Website: Click here
Phone: (718) 241-8488

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Ps 326
Brooklyn, NY




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT