Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ps 277 Gerritsen Beach

Public | PK-5 & ungraded | 471 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 24, 2014

This school is a great school. The teachers care and so does the staff. I only wish that the school went up to the 8th grade. There should be a second level added to this school. I am sure this can be done if only the funding was there. It would be so much better to go from here directly to High school. If there is a way that this can be done I would like to be involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

My school is excellent. My two grand daughter's just moved here from South Carolina. In the three weeks since they started they have learned more than they did all last year in their old school. They have art and music and dance and gym. It is a very well rounded program. Great school


Posted July 15, 2013

My two children recently attended this school and I couldnt be any happier. Compared to some other schools in the area, this school was amazing. They take pride in their students. The community involvment is awesome as well. the new PTA group is great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2012

The school is fabulous in every way. As a faculty member, I see the staff and parents work together to make sure that each child receives the optimum education possible and nothing less. I am proud to work there.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 26, 2011

The teachers are phenominal. The principle is out of touch and more concerned with strioking parents then teaching students. Parents are not parent of the process. Parent meetings are4 controlled by the principle and are primarily geared towards fund raising. by encouraging kids to eat un healthy fast food, and cereals. Teachers can't teach they train to pass teach. teachers have lost the freedom to educate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2010

P.S. 277 is a great school, the teachers are there to help the children suceed in their educational needs. The staff could be, more helpful assisting the parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2010

PS 277 is the most nuturing school you can find. The administration and the staff all work together to not only achieve the fantastic scores on the ELA and Math tests but they work hard to help the children become productive and responsible adults . Thechildren are involved in community activities and charity work from the pr-k to 5 th grade. We love the children and our concern shows in the results we achieve . We will all miss the students who are graduating but we know they always return to see us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2010

My child is graduating from 277 this June and I am going to miss this school! The staff is wondeful. They truly care about the kids and go out of their way to make learning a fun experience for the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2010

My son learned to read fluently in half a year, the kids are loved and taken care of. The teachers are very nice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2009

Being a new parent of this school - i'm extremely disappointed with this school - the administration take pride in ' the power they have' instead of working with parents. It's a more of a ' it's our way & thats it' they do not allow parents to participate in classroom activities. The principal & vice principal are extremely rude and do not work with parents to better the scool . The pa is a joke - another group that feeds off heirarchy there are 500 students in the school and about 10 parents that go to the meetings. Majority, says its because of the ' council ' that don't attend... Please, dont let the other reviews fool you. You will be dissappointedl. I will be removing my child from this school because, i want my child to have the best education & experience.This school doesn't have it
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2009

What a great school im proud to say where my daughter goes to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2009

i rate this school a 10 for he teachers,students,principals cleanliness and cooperations towards parents
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2007

This is a truly wonderful school. My son graduated last year and my daughter is in 3rd grade and they both love this school. It is a school that really recognizes and encourages academic achievement. My son has gone on to be accepted at Hunter Junior High School thanks in part to the great programs at PS 277. Going to PS 277 is like having a great private school that you would pay to send your children to. We will always be grateful for what this school has given to our children both emotionally and academically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2006

We are about to be new attendees of this school Having seen the current test scores I am thrilled the academics appears to be above standards. I have personally attended the recent 5th grade play and it was truly wonderful. Not only do they appear to pay attention to academics but they pay attention to the arts. They also have an entensive after school program that concentrates on sports and home work help. We have so much to look forward to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2006

This is the best school in brooklyn to me. The teachers honestly and truly care about these kids and show it every day.The school offers kids all the help they need. You dont have to worry about your child having a hard time learning if they need help they are given it by the teacher or other means such a another teacher tutoring them. I thought my child was going to need tutoring to graduate, well thats what they told me in ps 236 her teacher there in kindergarten always put her down but now in 277 i was told she needed a little help and they are giving it to her.I see a great improvement already as does her teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2005

Great school. Congadulation on a job well done. You put a lot of work into your students and it showes. Thanks for all you do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2005

I think 277 is a good school, but I personally think that there should be more gym classes.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

77 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
82%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

77 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

68 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

67 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

69 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

69 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "A" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 2 78% 48%
Hispanic 1 12% 23%
Black 2 5% 19%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 4% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 1%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 12%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 154%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 3%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 69%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 369 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
9.2
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.9
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.4
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
9.0
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.7
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.4
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.9
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.4
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.9
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.5
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents33592%
Teachers34100%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. JEANNE M. FISH

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2529 Gerritsen Ave
Brooklyn, NY 11229
Website: Click here
Phone: (718) 743-6689

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Lev Bais Yaakov
Brooklyn, NY







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT