Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

William E Grady Career And Technical Education High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 940 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 31, 2013

I was a freshman student of 2011. This school is horrendous pertaining to both academics/enviorment. I definetly will not reccomend this school to any student. Academics are not challenging and this school does not prepare you for college. I transferred as a freshman to a much better high school. I left grady with a 99 average with absolutely no studying. This school is horrible horrible, i hated this school so much the bullying, the gangs, violence.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 3, 2013

I graduated from Grady in 1989 as a marginal student in the electrical installations program. I've gone on to be very happy with where I am today. I went on to earn a masters degree and currently work in state government. I have to agree with others who have stated school is what you make it. I'm pleased to see Grady still offers a wide variety of programs. I don't think people realize how important vocational and technical schools are, especially in today's world. Students who are smart enough to take advantage of the programs Grady has to offer will be well positioned for future success. The shortage of skilled labor and trained technicians is well documented. Every city should have a few schools like Grady. What I learned in Grady has served me well in everyday life. The confidence I have in working with my hands to build and fix things came from my vocational experience. It is also where I was first challenged to problem solve in a real way. Even though I didn't apply myself as I should have while in school, my diploma from Grady gave me many options. I am proud of my degrees, but they are truly no better than a solid vocational/technical education.


Posted March 20, 2013

This school lacks good administrative and competency. The students sneak out of the school at their own will. I even asked one of the teacher why the slack in the administrative and security system but he's response is that the students are not in prison and they can't put lock on the back doors. But at least an alarm will do to notify the authority if any student want to sneak out. Academically, the students are poor with low grade in reagent exams. They are either in the hallway, stairways or playground during class session. I just don't like the school and I've been trying to remove my son from there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2012

I have two boys in Grady, One graduating this year and the other going to the eleventh grade. I always said, it's not what the schools about, it's what you make out of it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2010

This school provides the necessary tools for a child to excell beyond H.S. Many parents complain about how the school is ran but few show up to pta meetings. this school is going places if you have a problem with it choose from the many other schools that are being closed down. as a former student i have exceeded past my own expectations.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 24, 2009

Great teacher's. And great extracuriculum activites


Posted July 10, 2009

I am a student from class 2009 and this school is a great schoolthe teachers really care about us thanks to this school ive gotten 8 diffrent colleges offers and we went from a d to a b so stop all the hatein
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 23, 2009

i disagree with the parents that rates this school bad. I'm a 2004 alumni, and i say that grady staff members try their best to help students. Shcool is a place to maintain an education, and expand your knowledge. It's not a school's responsibility to treat your child manners, and they dont have to discipline your child. That's the parents job. I'm tired of parents who point fingers at the school when their child is not trying to make an effort. I was one of the first graduating students of the college now program, which is very intense. I graduated with 55 credits within four years Thank You. I had counselors from different programs, and a track team coach that always motivated me. Thanks to my parents who were concerned about my education, and the staff of William E. Grady I'm in a R.N. nursing Program reching my dream.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 6, 2009

I agree with the parient that states it is a very bad school. This school promotes children that are having problems to go and get a GED instead of trying to help with academic programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2008

the school is very bad . the principal does not have the social skills to deal with students or parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2007

The twlight program seems more like a reform school. The student have no will to learn, why should they if the environment their in treats them like they are being punished.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2007

i believe his school is a wonderful school everyone gets along very well, and its changes are great, the principel is great mr.grey and also all the teacers like ms.sansevero and mr. santiago.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 14, 2007

The school is very poorly ran. Student are everywhere in the halls and staircases. Student can't learn in this environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2007

Students cannot benefit from the programs with the way the school is run. There has too much gang activity in and out (the surrounding area..) Though there are good teachers in the school I don't know how they work under these conditions. I find that the principal does not have the social skills to deal with students or parents. More and more parents are transferring their children out of the school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2004

I'm not sure why Grady has changed its curriculum from technical vocations to a more business oriented atmosphere. We are living in a society right now where technology is a primary focus and I hope that the current principal has acknowledged this fact. Grady was offering a special service that allowed young individuals to understand technology and embrace it. I hope the new curriculum now still teaches the importance of technology with all the business components. I am surviving now because of my background at Grady! I hope these upcoming graduates can say the same.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra II/Trigonometry

The state average for Algebra II/Trigonometry was 66% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
4%

2012

 
 
19%

2011

 
 
11%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 76% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
28%

2011

 
 
14%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 72% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
56%
English

The state average for English was 77% in 2013.

228 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
70%
French

The state average for French was 95% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 74% in 2013.

163 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
18%

2012

 
 
21%

2011

 
 
29%
Global History and Geography

The state average for Global History and Geography was 71% in 2013.

183 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
56%
Integrated Algebra

The state average for Integrated Algebra was 73% in 2013.

272 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
41%
Italian

The state average for Italian was 98% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Living Environment

The state average for Living Environment was 77% in 2013.

155 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
73%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
10%

2011

 
 
13%
Spanish

The state average for Spanish was 94% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 80% in 2013.

182 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
76%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Algebra II/Trigonometry

All Students4%
Female0%
Male6%
African American3%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged5%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrant4%

Chemistry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrantn/a

Earth Science

All Students26%
Female22%
Male27%
African American24%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic31%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged24%
Not economically disadvantaged45%
Students with disabilities10%
General population29%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant26%

English

All Students29%
Female41%
Male24%
African American30%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic28%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White17%
Economically disadvantaged29%
Not economically disadvantaged28%
Students with disabilities8%
General population36%
English language learners0%
Proficient in English30%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant29%

Geometry

All Students18%
Female13%
Male20%
African American15%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic16%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White50%
Economically disadvantaged16%
Not economically disadvantaged26%
Students with disabilities0%
General population19%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant18%

Global History and Geography

All Students38%
Female45%
Male34%
African American34%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic54%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged36%
Not economically disadvantaged42%
Students with disabilities27%
General population41%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English39%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant38%

Integrated Algebra

All Students42%
Female40%
Male44%
African American42%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic42%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White53%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Not economically disadvantaged44%
Students with disabilities31%
General population48%
English language learners33%
Proficient in English42%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant42%

Living Environment

All Students27%
Female18%
Male30%
African American27%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic27%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged26%
Not economically disadvantaged45%
Students with disabilities11%
General population36%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English29%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant27%

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrantn/a

U.S. History and Government

All Students51%
Female52%
Male51%
African American48%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic41%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disabilities44%
General population53%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English51%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant51%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "D" for the high school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 2 75% 19%
Hispanic 1 15% 23%
White 1 7% 48%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 4% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 0% 1%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 23%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 185%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 3%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 58%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Engineering
  • Mathematics
  • Medical
  • Science
  • Technology

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Health & athletics

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Medical

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
School leaders can update this information here.
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 994 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.7
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
6.7
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.3
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Students

This school

 
7.5
 

City average

 
7.8
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.2
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.1
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Students

This school

 
7.1
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.2
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.4
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Students

This school

 
7.6
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.4
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents42358%
Students52573%
Teachers4684%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. GERALDINE MAIONE

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Engineering
  • Mathematics
  • Medical
  • Science
  • Technology
  • Vocational education
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Busses - B1, B36, B4, B49, B68. Subways - B, Q to Brighton Beach
  • Passes/tokens for public transportation
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Sofbtall
  • Track
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

25 Brighton 4th Rd
Brooklyn, NY 11235
Website: Click here
Phone: (718) 332-5000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Ps 370
Brooklyn, NY




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT