Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 21 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


24 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Is 30 Mary White Ovington 3

Posted January 22, 2014
- a community member
The school recently moved into a much bigger school compared to the past. The principle, Ms. Heerman of the school is very superior but, she is nice to the students and glad to help. In my opinion some teachers are glad to help and do very care, and some discriminate us as students and one teacher actually told us you're one day going to grow up and sit on a couch doing nothing... the sad thing is, it was specifically said to the boys which is considered sexist. Overall I rate this school a 3/5. The school is a public school where we wear low-quality uniforms where the buttons rip out easily, we pay 12$ for a shirt we are forced to wear that have loose buttons and some aren't even in the right place! They do not keep warm and feels as if you're clothes-less.

Is 30 Mary White Ovington 5

Posted January 07, 2014
- a parent
The principal's name is Ms. Heeraman. She is outstanding and compassionate. Ms. Heeraman has adequate experience in running middle schools and is a Harvard graduate! She is fair, knows all the children by name and has a stellar group of teachers. My daughter will be graduating this year and we will miss the school. This is a principal who in the middle of school vacation attended a funeral for the sibling of one of the students. She is a true educator and the school deserves more than five stars.


Is 30 Mary White Ovington 1

Posted May 09, 2013
- a parent
This principal is an insufferable incompetent, suited for a dictatorship in the Banana Republic. She has no respect for the students and limited knowledge on the educational process. I feel bad for the very talented staff of educators who, in general, seem to care about the students and seem intent on furthering their minds. I sincerely hope the DOE reviews the situation carefully and removes her.

Is 30 Mary White Ovington 5

Posted June 25, 2011
- a parent
This is a great school with highly professional , respectfull staff ,who always help student to reach thier goal, and help parents under stand every thing about thier children acadimic proformance

Is 30 Mary White Ovington 5

Posted October 12, 2009
- a student
It is an excellent school with great teachers.


Is 30 Mary White Ovington 1

Posted June 04, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Is 30 Mary White Ovington 5

Posted December 27, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Is 30 Mary White Ovington 5

Posted December 22, 2008
- a community member
The teachers really help students reach their highest potential and prepare them big time for high school. It's a very tough school, and the teachers are very strict. That's what's so great about I.S. 30!!


Is 30 Mary White Ovington 5

Posted November 28, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Is 30 Mary White Ovington 4

Posted September 15, 2008
- a student
I am a new student as I.S.30 ( as a 6th grader ) I love everything, I was really nervous about the first day, and the teachers and faculty helped everyone so much. I love this school!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Is 30 Mary White Ovington
415 Ovington Ave, Brooklyn, NY  11209
(718) 491-5684
Last modified Is 30 Mary White Ovington is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Is 30 Mary White Ovington Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top