Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

I.S. 98 Bay Academy

Public | 6-8 | 1244 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

40 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 16, 2009

I just graduated from the Bay Academy and it is more of a home than a school. The teachers are always there for you. Never be afraid to ask your teachers ANYTHING. Yes, the work can be challenging, but that is what you are there for, to work hard. The Bay Academy also allows you to show your various talents at the same time. I was in Drama Talent. In 7th grade My class 831!!!! put on the Cinderella play and in 8th Grade, we put on 'You're A Good Man Charlie Brown' THANKS TO Ms. Comas!!! I miss ALL of my teachers!!(Ms. Lord, Ms. Comas, Ms. Norwich, Ms. Herman, and many other teachers!! THANK YOU FOR EVERYTHING!!! P.S. I am going to put my name: Tamara Taylor McDonald (Class of 09')!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 16, 2009

like many other reviews, i will start by saying i am an eight grader in the bay academy. Schools are schools but bay is a home. Bay is where we started our transition from kids to young adults. Bay is a palce you can feel welcome. Sometimes it's not even a school its a place of enjoyment.Don't get me wrong the work can be a tad difficult, but the teachers are there with us every step of the way to help ease the pain. Wheter the pain be about school or not. I'm graduating this year and more than my friends i will miss bay. It was my home and i loved it there. But when u love something and let it go, at least you always kknow there some lucky kid who'll have the opputunity to enjoy it after u. I'll miss u bay
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 27, 2009

I was a student at the Bay Academy a few years ago and I only have fond memories of the school. The transition from elementary to middle school can be difficult, but Bay kind of helps you out with that. I made friends in the first few minutes of school, many of whom I'm still in touch with. The teachers are also fantastic, and you're free to ask questions since that will only help your understanding of the material. It's great that Bay Academy offers regents programs (that is extremely helpful in high school! Take advantage of that!) and also get involved in school activities so you have memories to keep :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 26, 2009

I go to the Bay Academy right now and the school's description cannot finish. It is the bestest school ever in the whole whole world! I would strongly recomend this school. The envioroment is safe and clean.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 29, 2008

Bay Academy is an AMAZING middle school the students and faculty are so kind. When you walk through the entrance of Bay you feel at home.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 26, 2008

im in the 8th grade and im graduating this year i am very sad to leave this school because i love the teachers and they are very helpful i highly recomend this school to children.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 21, 2008

I'm in the 8th grade. Bay Academy is the best middle school any kid can go to. It is very clean and a lot of great teachers. Bay Academy has an A+. I would highly recommend Bay Academy for your child.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 9, 2008

Im an 8th grader at the bay academy and I loved my time here. Its a very nurturing environment where you can learn as well as have fun. the school offers some extra curricular activites, and an Earth Science and Math A regents. classes are relatively small so getting individual attention from teachers is never a prblem. im not exactly excited about leaving the bay academy because I loved it sooo much but thanks to the bay academy I think Im pretty prepared for what high school has in store for me. -jazmyn Nathaniel
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 3, 2008

I love this school. I really do. It's made me a whole lot happier than I ever was at my elementary school. But it hasn't challenged me as much as it could in some subjects and the administration isn't the best. The other grades are fine, but my assistant principal and dean don't seem to punish the people that should be punished. But overall, I still give Bay 5 stars because I love it so much.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 9, 2008

I am now in my 2 year in Bay Academy. I love it so much! all of the teachers are awsome. I feel bad that I have to graduate next year:(
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 29, 2007

I find that the staff is always very helpful and willing to assist with any matter concerning my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2007

I am very pleased that I chose IS 98 for my daughter. the teacher interaction and feedback is great and the principal and other staff are very attentive to the needs of the kids and respond quickly to issues.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2007

As a graduate I have fond memories of this school. Class sizes are relatively small and there are a variety of planned activities. The teachers are amazing, and you can talk to them about any problems you may have. It offers Earth Science and Math A regents as well as very good preparation for high school. Although it may be hard to make the transition form Elementary School to a difficult Junior High it is well worth it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 5, 2007

I am a student of Bay Academy and I love my school. I wouldn't care if I got into Mark Twain because I love Bay Academy too much!!!!!!!!!! It Rocks!!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 27, 2007

I love this school the teachers are so nice I love it! The lunch is pretty bad so I prefer you bring your own lunches and you get a lot of homework but its worth it!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 18, 2005

Bay Academy was a wonderful experience for my child. He met or exceeded all of the standards for NYC.,as well as, passed High School level Regents' exams. He was very well prepared for his first year of High School. The population was diverse, the school provided excellent chances to achieve at a high level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2005

The school is pretty good. Not the best, I'd say the educatio is great, the teachers are helpful but the overall reputation is horrible. I doubt they think of the students much also.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2005

Bay Academy is a wonderful school. The circulum is top rated and the school fosters the childrens ability to grow academically and artistically. My son truley enjoyed his time there! I paid for a bus to take my son from queens and it was worth evert penny. I would recommend it to anyone with a gifted and talented child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2004

My son is in 7th grade at this school. I have an older child that went to a different school and the quality of education cannot compare. This school actually teaches our children like they are young adults and let them grow at the same time. They have to work hard for their grades with classroom work, homework and projects. The principal and assisant principal are always available for any questions or concerns. Your questions are never ignored. I'm glad we had the opportunity to come to Bay Academy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2004

I am very pleased with this school, my daughter is in 7th grade and travels out of her district to attend, and enjoys attending school everyday.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

479 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 38% in 2014.

479 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
91%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

449 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 33% in 2014.

449 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
88%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 36% in 2014.

406 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 22% in 2014.

407 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
88%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

396 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "A" for the middle school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 2 53% 48%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 31% 9%
Hispanic 1 9% 23%
Black 1 6% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 1% 1%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 1%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 257%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 5%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 55%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
Music
  • Band
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Russian

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 2533 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.5
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
8.2
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.2
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.6
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Students

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
7.8
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.3
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.3
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.7
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Students

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.1
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.7
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.2
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Students

This school

 
8.7
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.3
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents121097%
Students126298%
Teachers6198%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • MS. MARIA TIMO
Fax number
  • (718) 891-3865

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Russian

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
Girls sports
  • Cheerleading
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Dance
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1401 Emmons Ave
Brooklyn, NY 11235
Phone: (718) 891-9005

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


St Mark School
Brooklyn, NY






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT