Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Jhs 88 Peter Rouget

Public | 6-8 & ungraded | 981 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 17, 2014

My daughter is a 7th Grader at MS 88. Overall, administration and faculty members are very responsive to parents. My daughter has always been shy. I was afraid that MS 88 would not be a good fit for her, but it is. Her performance is better in Middle School compared to elementary school. I recommend MS 88 to parents and students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2014

My daughter attends MS 88. She's currently a 7th Grader in the Medical house. It is a really good school. Administration and faculty are very responsive to parents. All in all, my daughter is having a great middle school experience. She is doing better in middle school than she did in elementary. I recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2012

i've heard alot of great things from this school. as a 5th grader i would say this is one of the best schools. ive seen this school and let me say the good things ive heard about this school were true. they have really nice teachers and staff and many of my relatives go to this school. some people i know who used to go to this school tell me that going to this school helps in the future


Posted October 31, 2010

This school isn't the best...The teachers wastes too much time on the students who doesn't behave."I don't tolerate any of this in my class! Get outside! This is your last warning!" *Fake calls the dean*... I know for sure that the teachers are hard working and it's just the students who are making this a bad school, some teacher doesn't even care, There's teachers who makes you work alot and you don't learn anything from the work. It's a waste of time, I don't want to name anyone but I would prefer Dyker Heights or Middle School 51. If your in this school, I suggest you being in a Delta class. The other classes, the teacher makes you do writing everyday and it's a total waste of time, believe me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2010

I graduated from this school in '09 and i loved it . I have a interesting experience in this school when i went to high school and told people about this school a lot of them were freaked out,bbut wished they went there. The teachers ARE YOUNG! and kinda not normal!!!! They may be different from normal middle school teachers, but for the better and i learned a lot from them you can be in a sad mood, when class is done you're laughing. I toke the regents because high grades which is AWESOME!!!! If you want the most out of this experience like me, i suggest you go to the medical house! =] i went there and you won't believe that 2 of teachers were on tv!!! I love this school it helped me with my grades, socially, and to love school again!!! AWESOME!!!!


Posted March 1, 2010

The teachers are very young which is not always a bad thing, but some lack experience with the kids. There are 3 schools within one with 3 different vice principles. One of the schools has a great vp - the others are lazy at best. There is no parent involvement what so ever so with state funding lacking there is no fund raising to help take up the slack. Oh, the only fundraising that works and continues is that they allow candy sales within the school so the kids are always on a sugar high.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2009

As a senior in ms88, i am poundly to say that ms88 is one of the top middle schools in brooklyn, this year i had achieved alot in my studies! The teachers inside the school are nice and they also care about their students in and out of school. also if you achieved alot in school you get alot of good things in their, ex - because thanks to my studies and high grades i was choosen to go to the senior trip for free! i personally say that 88 is the best school in so many differnet ways i can't even say so.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 30, 2008

as a senior in middle school 88, i'm proud to say that it's one of the best schools in new york. i've come acrossed some of the best and dedicated teachers throughtout my 3 years. i have made plenty of friends and life there for me was pretty satisfying. the classes i was in was full of laughter and caring; where we all were friends. i've achieved a lot thanks to ms88.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 11, 2007

As an alumni, middle school 88 was a great school. My former classmates were a bit hard to handle but the teachers got through it and in the end the students learned something even if they weren't paying attention. Great teachers at the school and they know what they are talking about.


Posted June 5, 2007

Some of the best teachers in the region teach at middle school 88. The teachers are relentlessly dedicated and caring. The students, albeit somewhat challenging, by the time they are in eighth grade are achieving at a higher level than when in sixth and are infinitely better mannered, thanks to their and their teachers' hard work.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

399 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
17%

2013

 
 
16%

2012

 
 
35%
Math

The state average for Math was 38% in 2014.

403 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
26%

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

362 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
27%

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
40%
Math

The state average for Math was 33% in 2014.

369 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
32%

2013

 
 
17%

2012

 
 
69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 36% in 2014.

324 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
25%

2013

 
 
15%

2012

 
 
29%
Math

The state average for Math was 22% in 2014.

241 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
14%

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
49%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

252 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "B" for the middle school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 2 60% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 15% 9%
Black 1 14% 19%
White 2 10% 48%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 1% 1%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 12%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 81%N/A43%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 19%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 40%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 3%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 1437 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.0
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
7.2
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.1
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.2
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Students

This school

 
7.8
 

City average

 
7.8
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.9
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.8
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Students

This school

 
7.4
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.4
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.2
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Students

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.7
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents41741%
Students97491%
Teachers4653%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. AILENE ALTMAN MITCHELL

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

544 7th Ave
Brooklyn, NY 11215
Phone: (718) 788-4482

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Al-Noor School
New York, NY




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT