Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ms 113 Ronald Edmonds Learning Center

Public | 6-8 & ungraded | 894 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 24, 2012

My son is in the 7th Grade and has had a wonderful experience in the school. He has matured into a wonderful well rounded student since entering the school in the 6th Grade. The principal is wonderful and the teachers are dedicated to helping the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2012

Based on the behavior of the kids as they're dismissed onto Dekalb Ave, not good.


Posted February 22, 2010

I attend this school at a 8th grader. I think that this school is awesome with a great cirricular. As long as you get to know everybody, its like you are all brothers and sisters.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 18, 2009

I think that 113 has opened my eyes that i can follow my dreams in big ways. As a 6th grader just coming to the school they have helped us to reach the goal we have started. My principal Mr.Kirkland opens our eyes to show us that we can achieve our goals. I'm in Technology and it has been every great. Our 6th grade ELA and Math teacher have taught us that we can understand things easier to solve a hard problem.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 18, 2009

My daughter goes to 113 and I love how they teach her new ways of sloving a hard problem!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2009

I must say tjis school is great. I am a7th grader in the academy of performing arts it has been so far the best experience of my life. In 6th grade i had the chance to go on the college tour which opened my eyes to my future. My teachers are incredible, i am even getting prepared to take the math a regents and trust me i have alot of confidence i willl pass. This school is great!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 22, 2008

i think the school is ok. The teachers are ok its just a couple of students that might give the school a bad name.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 3, 2007

i sent my child to this school . this school is the worst place to send your child . so just take my advice and don't send your child to this horrible school. don't trust there lies.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2007

I am a parent of a student who attends Ronald Edmonds Learning Center - MS 113. He is in the Fine Arts and Design program and is receiving a quality education that focuses on the arts while at the same time promotes high academic standards. Next year my son will take the Math A, US History and Earth Science regents in grade 8! I cannot begin to tell you about the amazing support my family has received from both the administration and all of his teachers. My daughter is now in grade 5 and I look forward to her attending RELC next year. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2007

My child was accepted into Arts and Performing Arts program after passing and entrance exam and audition in the 2005. However, the 'leave no child behind' act allowed pupils not qualified to be there entrance. RELC is no longer the perfect haven for arts/science education it once was. There is little in the way of learning going on there because of lack of support by the admins. for the teachers. The school lacks intolerance for misconduct. The incoming class for 2005 has been described by teachers as a bad bunch. There is a lot of finger pointing going between parents, admins. and staff and in my opinion this school is a sinking ship. Forget about the arts --academics first. Classes are overcrowded, core academics is lacking and no language for arts' students. I feel cheated. Teachers are brilliant but exhausted.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2006

I used to go to RELC, and i graduated in 2004. I am now a sophomore at a college preparatory high school, Asa Philip Randolph Campus High school at City College. I was a student in the Fine Arts and Design program (SFAD). And I have to say, that if it wasn't for my experience at 113, or the teachers pushing me, I might not be at the school I'm at today, let alone to have been fully prepared for what was thrown at me. For the parents who are reading this, you have to fight to get your children in this school! It's imperative that you do that. Your child has the opportunity to go to one of the best, if not, the best, junior high school in NYC. The teachers are great, the staff is very caring and protective, the school is just great! Trust me! -Kemisha Bascombe, 16
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 24, 2005

My child was in the Fine Arts and Design program at RELC and graduated in 2005. Others programs are Academy of Performing Arts (APA) and Environmental Summit and Technology (ESAT). My experience with the principal and most of the teachers was positive. Education is first at RELC. The children are encouraged to be the best they can be. At RELC there is Celebrating Success, which recognizes the achievements of the students, Cultural Awareness Day which celebrates all cultures, College Tours and other events.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2004

I am used to go to Ronald Edmonds Learning Center. I am currently now a senior in High School. This Middle School is very good. The principal is very dedicated and always on top of everything. It really helped me get to High School. I am now one of the top 20 seniors. This school made a difference in my life.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 14, 2004

Ronald Edmonds is an excellent School. The Principal Has faith in strength in all her students and staff. The teachers take the time with their students to help them with weaknesses and strengths. Ms. Corbett is a top notch Principal who knows how to run and handle her school. I recommend you choose Ronald Edmonds for your childs Middle School.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2013.

249 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
10%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
37%
Math

The state average for Math was 30% in 2013.

250 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
8%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
51%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

242 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
15%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
32%
Math

The state average for Math was 27% in 2013.

243 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
13%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
42%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2013.

253 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
13%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
34%
Math

The state average for Math was 27% in 2013.

254 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
10%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
38%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

245 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
42%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students10%
Female9%
Male12%
African American11%
Asian/Pacific Islander17%
Hispanic4%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged11%
Not economically disadvantaged13%
Students with disabilities3%
General population12%
English language learners0%
Proficient in English12%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant10%

Math

All Students8%
Female7%
Male7%
African American6%
Asian/Pacific Islander39%
Hispanic6%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged7%
Not economically disadvantaged8%
Students with disabilities6%
General population7%
English language learners7%
Proficient in English8%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant8%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students15%
Female18%
Male11%
African American14%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic12%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged14%
Not economically disadvantaged18%
Students with disabilities0%
General population17%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English16%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant15%

Math

All Students13%
Female14%
Male13%
African American11%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic13%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged13%
Not economically disadvantaged9%
Students with disabilities0%
General population15%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English13%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant13%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students13%
Female13%
Male12%
African American12%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic6%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged12%
Not economically disadvantaged14%
Students with disabilities0%
General population14%
English language learners0%
Proficient in English13%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant13%

Math

All Students10%
Female12%
Male8%
African American9%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic12%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged9%
Not economically disadvantaged14%
Students with disabilities0%
General population11%
English language learners0%
Proficient in English11%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant10%

Science

All Students45%
Female48%
Male42%
African American43%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic47%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged42%
Not economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilities0%
General population49%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English46%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant45%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "C" for the middle school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 2 77% 19%
Hispanic 1 19% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 4% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 1%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
White 1 0% 48%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 23%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 180%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 3%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 48%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 2%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 962 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.3
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.8
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
6.9
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.1
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
7.6
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Students

This school

 
7.8
 

City average

 
7.8
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.0
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.3
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.5
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Students

This school

 
7.4
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
6.9
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
7.8
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.8
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Students

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.2
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents21829%
Students69087%
Teachers54100%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. DAWNIQUE DAUGHTRY

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

300 Adelphi St
Brooklyn, NY 11205
Phone: (718) 834-6734

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Queen Of All Saints
Brooklyn, NY







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT