Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Ps 319

Public | PK-1 & ungraded | 187 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 26, 2013

I am sad that my daughter is leaving this school after 3 years. She loves it here and I love it too! The school offers an enriching/rigorous curriculum and activities. The teachers have high expectations for the students; which I value. They challenge and encourage their students. All of the staff are devoted to the students; something any parent can truly appreciate. Although it s a small building all the classrooms are set up to be excellent learning environments. I definitely recommend you send your child(ren) to this school; it s a NYC public school providing a private education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2012

This school is beyond amazing. My son is learning a second language (Italian) and does yoga with his teacher. The curriculum is exceptional. Some of the students are a little on the ghetto side yet everything else helps me overlook that. A lot of the parent workshops are very helpful to the community and help the parents with their parenting skills which I love!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2012

Wonderful school - my son is off to 2nd grade and PS 319 will be highly missed. The best thing is the awesome family enviroment with their small school setting. I am positive my son learned more because of their hard work and dedication at the school - he loved going to school too! Thank you PS 319 for setting up our kids with the foundation for true sucess!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2012

I FIND THAT PS319 IS ONE OF THE BEST SCHOOL IN BROOKLYN TO BAD IT ONLY GOES UP TO 1ST GRADE PUT THE TEACHER ARE VERY PREPARE AND THE PRINCIPAL DOES A EXCELENT JOB :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2012

I LOVE THIS SCHOOL IT'S BY ONE OF MY FAVORITE SCHOOL MY DAUGHTER STARTED IN KINDERGARTEN AND HAS THE BEST TEACHER MRS. MARTINEZ SHE IS VERY DEVOTED TO THE CHILDREN THE SCHOOL IS FAMILY ORIENTATED THE STAFF ARE VERY WELL EDUCATED NICE BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE I LOVE THIS SCHOOL IT'S THE BEST:)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2010

PARA MI COMO MADRE DESEO LA MEJOR ESCUELA PARA MIS HIJOS Y ESTA ES UNA DE LAS MEJORES, LOS MAESTRO ESTAN SUMAMENTE PREPARADO, LA DIRECTORA MUY ENTREGADA ASU TRABAJO, LOS ALUNNOS RICOS EN CONOCIMIENTOS Y APRENDISAJE Y POR SUPUESTO YO COMO MADRE FELIZ DE VER MIS HIJOS CRECER CADA DIA MAS INTELIGENTE
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

The principal, teachers and staff are very dedicated to their students. I truly recommend this school. The whole school is like one big family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2010

The staff at PS 319 have high standards for the children. Most children are reading at high levels when they graduate from Kindergarten. The staff is friendly and professional. The principal is very involved and a lovely person to work for. She is sincere and has demonstrated excellent leadership.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 28, 2009

As a teacher for the Board Of Education I strongly recommend P.S.319.My son has attended the school for two years. If you are looking for a clean, organized and outstanding curriculum this is the school. The teachers are hard working and demonstrate outstanding knowledge. If you want your child to exceed a high reading, level this school is for your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2009

Mrs. Martinez, the principal is extremelly engaged with the school i love it and she knows every single student in the school. I think that the teachers Mrs. Martinez and Mrs. Sherman are one of the best teachers a child development can encounter.Excellent work....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2008

The School provide a close connection wih nthe community and are truly involved with students and their family. For a small school they have and contiune to produce major results.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2008

I love this school. My son attends this school and the teachers are very helpful and always concerned about the child's level of progress. With the family moving out of the borough Im worried if I'll be able to find this level of education with tons of proffesionalism and attentiveness towards one's child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2007

This is an excellent school. The staff and teachers are really dedicated to the development of the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2005

It's truly a great school attending kids pre-k to first grade which makes it extra special because these young kids need extra attention due to the fact that they are usually first timers and it takes time for them to adjust.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

Oops! We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Public and charter school test scores for most states come from the state Department of Education. The most common reasons we might not have this data are either that not enough students took the test or that the school was recently opened, and its scores have not yet been reported.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 2 96% 23%
Black 2 2% 19%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 1% 9%
White 1 1% 48%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 0% 1%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 221%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 188%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 0%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 59%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 170 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
9.6
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
9.6
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.7
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
9.6
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
9.7
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.5
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
9.4
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
9.2
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.5
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
9.6
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
9.7
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.4
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents158100%
Teachers1292%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. ALEYDA ZAMORA-MARTINEZ

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

360 Keap St
Brooklyn, NY 11211
Phone: (718) 388-1588

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Bnos Chayil
New York, NY




Transfiguration
Brooklyn, NY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT