Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Brooklyn, NY
Students enrolled: 342

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mary Queen of Heaven School 1

Posted November 08, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Mary Queen of Heaven School 5

Posted August 03, 2008
- a community member
@TwoStar Review posted 10/17/07----Untrue. As a former graduate/helper of the Afterschool program, I can assure that homework is handled straightaway (as soon as they arrive, in fact) and all students who fully concentrate on their work are able to complete their homework within an hour. Student volunteers/members of the faculty are there to help as well. As to other aspects of the school, (based on 11 years worth of time there) I can say that the curriculum is well based and well balanced. Trouble is dealt with properly (meaning not too harsh, not too lax). Environment is constantly clean and friendly. Of course, Spanish could use a bit of stepping up (since foreign language is indeed a very important part of education). Also, tips learned from everyday events help in high school (such as a systematic switching of classes/constant time schedule for students grades 5-8).


Mary Queen of Heaven School 2

Posted October 17, 2007
- a parent
The academic program could be extended. The students are lacking in math and english. They need to have a foreign language. They don't have a worthwhile music nor art program. Nor do they have a sports program. The afterschool program was a waste of money because they did not even touch the homework until an hour after the program began.

Mary Queen of Heaven School 5

Posted June 13, 2007
- a parent
My child has been at MQH since Pre-K3. School is safe, clean, and very friendly staff. Children are constantly rewarded for doing well or excelling. I commend the Principal Sister Donna for doing such a fine job. She is very strict, and we need that in schools today. However, she is very well respected and friendly! School needs more extracurricular activities.

Mary Queen of Heaven School 1

Posted May 26, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Mary Queen of Heaven School 5

Posted February 11, 2007
- a parent
I have two children at this school. After their school closed two years ago I thought I would never find a great school for them. Sister Donna is the best! She transformed my children. I will miss her very much when we move later this year.

Mary Queen of Heaven School 4

Posted January 23, 2007
- a parent
My daughter have attended this school since PK3 to present(3rd grade). By the first month of the school year, the principal knows every child by name (300+). Great accademics and the children are well disciplined.They are taught about God. I agree that a foreign language should be taught at an earlier grade. There is a wonderful rapor between the parents and the teachers are hands on.The custodial staff and principal are strict with safety for the children.

Mary Queen of Heaven School 4

Posted August 15, 2006
- a parent
My husband and i did not receive a catholic education and we are so grateful a friend recommended MQH. With high regard. We have two children here and words cannot express our gratefulness to god, the staff and church for accepting our family in such a reassuring way. We are confident that they are obtaining a good education.(Both academic and spiritual)they have people around them that sincerely care for their future and well being. The principal has outstanding leadership and we must cooperate to keep this school at its level of excellence!


Mary Queen of Heaven School 5

Posted September 22, 2005
- a parent
Excellent school. Staff is wonderful.

Mary Queen of Heaven School 2

Posted April 02, 2005
- a parent
Good school with good curriculum. Very dynamic principal who takes pride in her work, the quality of her school and education. Could do more with art and music as well as start early with foreign language. Not much is done with athletics.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mary Queen of Heaven School
1326 East 57th Street, Brooklyn, NY  11203
(718) 763-2360
Last modified Mary Queen of Heaven School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Mary Queen of Heaven School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top