Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Nazareth Regional High School

Private | 9-12 | 448 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Brooklyn

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $350,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,220.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 13, 2012

I am a Naz Grad from 88', its has been,,,,is now and ALWAYS will be a shining STAR in Brooklyn! I meet my wife there, and I owe my life that was started to NAZ!! The Principal Ms. Quiles is a God send to the community and the school itself. You can't miss sending your child to Naz, you wont regret it. The Alumni is fully behind the moving forward of this school. Be a apart of the Brooklyn Love & Send your child to Nazareth.


Posted April 23, 2009

Nazareth is an excellent school with so many programs. You should go into their Microsoft academy which placed first in the USA. The new principal has put in program in law and medicine and nursing too. The school is safe with lots of activities. My daughter won a full scholarship to college due to Naz's programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2008

I love the school. I really thank God for the school. Words alone could not express how much I APPRECIATE the School and the teacher's.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2008

I love Naz this is my daughter's last year and she did a great job thanks to Naz. I know it may be hard at times getting along with staff and students but, at the end it pays of trust me. The teachers work with your children but most of all I love the discipline. My youngest daughter is now in the 6th grade and you better believe Naz it is in two years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2008

I've taught at Nazareth for four years now and I can honestly say that I can count on one hand the number of fights that I've seen, and in all but one case, participants were expelled. As far as the administration goes, we have a new principal as of last year, and I think I speak for most students, staff, and parents when I say that she is much more personable, fair, and approachable (the same goes for the Assistant Principal of Academics). We are a small, dedicated staff, and we go out of our way to ensure success for every student. I'm proud to be a part of this staff, especially now as we are bringing many new programs and projects into our school. Just ask our alumni - our homecoming events are packed with happy, smiling faces, and I think that speaks volumes about the Nazareth family!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 19, 2008

As a former student Nazareth was a Brooklyn NY school with a Heart of a extended family. Times and student bodies change but the Naz family never does. Nazareth Grads speak for themselves we are in some of the best Universities and careers in the States and abroad. Go Kingsmen!


Posted April 20, 2008

Nazareth is just like a public School theres nothing different from it. Fights break out and srgument do to. But 1 thing thats great in Nazareth are the teachers but either than that nothing else.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 23, 2007

Nazareth is an excellent institution for learning. It offers each student a well rounded high school experience, while stressing academics as most important. Teachers are very much involved in each students academics success and offers tutoring for students who may be falling behind. The school is extremely safe and very clean. Students learn desipline and respect for teachers as well as their peers. The school offer various extracurricular activities and has a graduation rate of about 95% of that 95% about 97% receives some form of scholarship to college. Some parents are heavily involved with the school, more parental involment would be excellent. As a former student of Nazareth I would not hesitate to enroll my offspring
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 2, 2005

Great school with excellent academic programs. Students have access to athletics, art and music among others. Administration keeps the students involved in different areas of interest. Security is very good and school is very clean. Have academic scholarships available and accessible. Students strive in that environment. My child received a 4 year scholarship at Nazareth and was accepted at some very prestigious schools upon graduation. Received scholarships several universities, one of which was NYU. Don't let the location deter you, it is pretty safe there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2004

Be very careful before enrolling your child in this school. The practices executed by the Assistant Principal and Principal are unfair and unjust. They don't speak to students' with respect, and tend to question why they are attending the school, often suggesting that they may be better off at high risk schools in the area. If you choose to enroll your child, read the handbook very carefully, and make sure you know your rights as a parent as well the rights of your children. Stand up for yourself and your child if you see the decisions are unjust. Don't be afraid to speak against lies and deception shared amongst authority figures. Keep in mind the student body is predominately black, and unfortunately this affects how your child may be treated and spoken to. You will be paying close to 6K/year, so think about your child's well being overall in this Christian institution.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2003

'Naz' is a great school! I may not have been completly excited when I got there but it grows on you. 'Naz' is a small school so you get to know everyone, it's a small family within the four walls. Dicipline wise, students know better than to do something really crazy, we were taught respect and disipline.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 84% 21%
Hispanic 14% 21%
Asian 1% N/A
Two or more races 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
White 0% 52%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Providencia Quiles
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Brooklyn
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

475 East 57th Street
Brooklyn, NY 11203
Phone: (718) 763-1100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT